1989 Troopy

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:09
ThreadID: 63720 Views:3847 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
can anyone help? im interested in buying a 1989 troopy for taking round australia. I have seen a few and because im on a limited budget it has become obvious to me that im going to need to do some work on it myself!
the most promising one yet is a 1989 4.0 model with a fair bit of rust but generally in good order, apart from a small (i drip every half hour) from the front seal of the gearbox. is this serious and what would be the best way to go about fixing it? also in my mint if i were to take the gearbox off is there anything else which should be done ie clutch etc? any help/advice would be marvelous, thanks chris

Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:44

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 16:44
Buy it and drive it around as a daily for a year or so and find all the problems .
AnswerID: 336463

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 17:59

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 17:59
Chris,

Petrol or Diesel? How much money? How much rust? If you plan on taking the gearbox off to replace a seal, are you prepared to disassemble it youself? Depending on km it may well need bearings, and it's not a job I'd care to take on myself. Allow a few hundred dollars for parts and a thousand for labour if it comes to that.

Can you put up with the leak? Probably not, since even what looks like a slow leak makes an awful mess (my 87 Troopy developed a similar sized leak from a gearbox gasket) and it leaks faster when hot. You'll need to top up the oil fairly frequently too, which is a pain, and you'll need to give it a really good clean immediately before a rego check!

I'd keep looking for a better Troopy, one without rust and leaks. Suggest stay away from any in mining areas, and preferably look inland away from the coast to minimise rust. Get a compression test done too - it can tell you a lot about a mature aged Troopy.

Ours had serious engine problems recently forcing us to look at alternatives. We decided to do a full engine rebuild rather than spend up bigger on a newer replacement. There are plenty of Troopies around (just watch ebay as a market guide).

As suggested earlier, get to know the vehicle well by running around locally before taking off on a big trip. A Troopy in good condition is the ideal vehicle if you want to see Australia off the bitumen.

HTH

AnswerID: 336468

Follow Up By: christoflam - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 18:20

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 18:20
John,

Thanks very much for your reply, it is a diesel 4.2, and the asking price is $6000, the rust is pretty much superficial, round door seals and arches etc. the leak is definately from the front seal of the gearbox, so is that not such a problem? myself and my girlfriends father especially are fairly automotive minded. The bloke who is selling it is very trustworthy and it has got a very comprehensive service history, basically we have 8000 to spend in total so we were thinking to buy one which needs work for 6000 and have 2000 ish to start doing it up may be a better option, finding a troopy with no work which needs doing for 8000 is increasingly seeming impossible?,
any more of your wisdom would be much appreciated,

Thanks, Chris
FollowupID: 604141

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:23

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:23
Chris,

Just backing off a bit - why a 4WD? It's a bigger vehicle, much more thirsty than a 2WD, but if you want to go remote and leave the multitudes behind, it's great. Suggest talk to a local 4WD club, (not the cowboy types) who can give you a lot of valuable advice and support. When you buy your 4WD, I can't recommend too highly the benefits of some 4WD training. A good club will have good training for its members. I've been driving for half a century and didn't think they could teach me much - wrong! I learned more in the 3 day 4WD course than in the previous 40 years! I now know a lot more about what a Troopy can do, and I now know that it is the driver that is the limitation, not the Troopy.

Why a Troopy? It's big enough to live in. Full double bed in the back and room for all your gear. It has the ground clearence and pure grunt to go anywhere you would want to take a 4 wheeled vehicle. (That said of course, when you go remote, you should always have a second vehicle with you. Even Troopies can get into trouble and a second vehicle can save a lot of effort and angst. Also - clubs again, before you go bush, know how to get yourself out of trouble, know how to safely use recovery gear, know about adjusting tyre pressures to suit different conditions, etc, etc)

What to look for in a Troopy of mature age - Mine's petrol, so I can't be too specific on the diesel - by 400,000 km, the engine will be feeling its age, a compression test will tell you lots about the state of wear. (Which engine does it have?) With reasonable care, 400,000 km is nowhere near end of life for these engines. Weak points in the body - look for deep rust in the roof gutters, especially if it's had a roof rack fitted for years. Also check very carefully for cracking at the top of the windscreen pillars - this is a major strain point if the roof rack has been heavily loaded. If the spare wheel hangs on the back door, check for wear on the door hinges - real nuisance if it's badly sagged due to wear. Most Troopies have a sagging back door - if it will close and latch without a big slam you're in luck.
To get some idea of how much corrugation and heavy jarring the vehicle has experienced, check for cracks in the bash plates under the radiator and front of the engine. These vibrate and develop cracks due to metal fatigue (not a serious problem, just an indicator of a hard life.)

HTH

FollowupID: 604163

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:02

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 19:02
Chris,

Just a couple of things to consider:

Rust: may look superficial, but is often worse 'underneath' than appears on the exterior. This may cause you some additional problems down the track with leaks etc. Can be expensive to repair, unless you can do it yourself.

Age v Price: This is also something to consider. would you rather buy an older car cheaper that needs lots of work or pay more for a newer car that needs less work. I know which option I chose myself. If I came across a really great car that was older that checked out well on inspection I would buy, but it sounds like this one for $6K needs quite a bit done to it to make it both roadworthy and safe. Remember the cost of repairs in remote areas will be prohibitive if you are on such a tight budget. I'd rather save up a bit longer and buy the better vehicle. Get a reliable inspection.

I went through this myself, deciding whether to buy a late 80 series with factory turbo or get a later model 105 series without turbo. The prices for the turbo 80 series were really high and most had well over 200k km on the clock. For the same price, I could get a NA 105 series with heaps of accessories and only 45k km on the clock. It was a no brainer. I am disappointed with the power of the non-turbo car, but financially I'm way better off, so I've learnt to live with it.

Good luck with the decision.

AnswerID: 336472

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:48

Saturday, Nov 22, 2008 at 20:48
Hi christoflam,

As a comparison to the one you are looking at have a look on Carpoint and search for vehicle 6170560. It looks pretty good from what the owner has described (of course could be different in real life).
I have nothing to do with owner or vehicle - just thought Id do a search to see what the prices are for the model you are looking at.
Best regards in what ever you do,
GPM
AnswerID: 336489

Reply By: Foxhound (WA) - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 12:18

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 12:18
Good advice in all previous posts. Another common problem to look at with these vehicles is the condition of the gearbox. Gearbox failure in these older Toyota's was mainly related to worn bearings, wear on the spline of the main output shaft and hardening of the seal between the gearbox and transfer case. Without having to go into too much detail to explain what happens the bottom line is it`s expensive to repair. I have rebuilt a fair few of these boxes and the parts required are usually bearings,output shaft, constant mesh gear and in a lot of cases the cluster gear as well as gaskets seals and syncro rings etc. The cost for a repair is usually somewhere between $2000-$4000 and is not a job you can do yourself as you can only dismantle the box with a genuine Toyota puller set. My advice would be to get a mechanic to check out any vehicle before you buy as with 4x4 vehicles the cost of repairs can be very high... Regards,,Foxhound(WA).
AnswerID: 336551

Reply By: mintabiegeoff - Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:39

Sunday, Nov 23, 2008 at 20:39
Hi, Chris,
If this is your first trip outback do you think you really need 4WD? I travelled for years on some very ordinary roads and tracks in 2WD. You just need the ground clearance. It's only when you get to the really adventurous (silly?) stage that you will need 4WD. For $6000 you could get a really reliable ute, put a canopy on the back and save a heap in fuel and worry. I must admit I have 4WD now but I take it everywhere, sand mud and beaches. You would be surprised how few times I put it in 4WD. Once you get the feel of the outback get a 4WD.
Geoff from outbacksecrets.com
AnswerID: 336617