Inverter Location/Installation

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 20:31
ThreadID: 6385 Views:2200 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hey Gang,
I'm Looking at installing my 300W Inverter under the Passenger Seat of my Pajero and was wondering what the best way to do it would be? I have the +wire for my Engel that runs down the Passenger side of the Paj, Can I splice into that or would I be better running the same gauge wire direct from the Aux Battery? What would be the advantages/disadvantages? And any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Keep It On The Rough Stuff

Matt (W.A.)
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - AndrewPatrol - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 20:43

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 20:43
Matt I'm not an expert but I'd be keeping them seperate 'cos if one goes you want the other to survive (especially the fridge). Also if you've sized the wire for the fridge at the correct size then it'll be overloaded when you run both together. Also when you keep everything as seperatre as you can it makes trouble shooting easier.
AnswerID: 26872

Reply By: Eric - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 21:03

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 21:03
I am with Andrew , If you splice into the fridge wire , you may cause a voltage drop when both are running together. Usually the manufacturer will supply a wire thicknes that just covers the amps that are reguired .Running both together will double the amp draw . I would also fit a relay to the 12 volt side of the inverter for added safty on river crossings , would hate to see water and 240 V in the same cabin together (just a thought ).
AnswerID: 26877

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 22:32

Tuesday, Aug 05, 2003 at 22:32