WAECO OR ENGEL which is better

Hi all, thinking about buying a fridge for camping cannot decide between Waeco or Engel around 60L has anyone got any Ideas and maybe the best place to buy.
regards.

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:37

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:37
Luggy you are about to open a huge can of worms. Suspect that you are new to this forum otherwise you wouldn't of dared ask the question.

Me I have a Waeco cos I couldn't afford the Engel. Waeco cheaper, lighter, and _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx less power and comes in slightly larger capacities. They have a number of detractors due to the lids on some warping and they tend to suffer in really hot weather.

Do a search using the search function offered (top right hand side on the function tab line), you will find hundreds of replies to this topic. Weed through all the bagging and ragging and you will find some good advice.

Now duck for cover. LOL

AnswerID: 337427

Follow Up By: bruce - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:45

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:45
I have both , 50l Waeco and 40l Engel...in the tests that I have done with the 2 of them the Engel uses the less power.....they are both very good fridges in my opinion , but reluctantly I have to get rid of one and it will be the (slightly)more power hungry one...cheers
FollowupID: 605051

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:05

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:05
In every test that I have seen, Engel uses less power!
FollowupID: 605053

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:09

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:09
Hmmm,

Independant Lab testing indicates that the power draw is identical.

According to a scientific test done by one of the 4wd mags.

FollowupID: 605058

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:11

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:11
Bruce/Shaker when I bought mine Waeco's where reputed to draw less power and had the low power shut off function at a higher ampage. Maybe wrong and often am.

FollowupID: 605059

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:16

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:16
The test that I saw, was where they kept a variety of fridges in a controlled environment & varied the ambient temperature & recorded the variation in cabinet temps, cycling & power draw.
The Autofridge came out on top, as you would expect, then the Engel & ARB, followed by, I think, the EvaKool & Waeco ... then the also rans!
FollowupID: 605061

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 01:57

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 01:57
Shaker the specs you have posted is exactly what the article said. To help increase this can of worms. I own a Auto fridge and an Engel, have owned a Waeco and emphasize HAVE, never again.. But to each there own
FollowupID: 605102

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 08:12

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 08:12
Duncan, I think the Waeco's almost across the range have the auto low voltage shutoff function, hence will use less power than the Engel, cause they will shut off. The Engel (without the shutoff) will use it till the battery carks

FollowupID: 605110

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:52

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 19:52
Engel.
You get what you pay for.
AnswerID: 337429

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 17:11

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 17:11
Nick,
Have you seen the new Engel? Looks very much like a Waeco 40L.

As long as the thing works and keeps the food & drink cold thats what matters.

Rob
FollowupID: 605169

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:02

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:02
They all keep stuff cold.

Don't buy on brand, buy because the design/floorplan suits you.

Also consider value for money.

Of all the fridges I have seen (and I see plenty), I would recommend the Evakool Fridgemate as the best value for money, also has excellent insulation. But only as long as the size, design etc suits your needs.

I have owned both a Waeco and an Engel, they both work very well, but both have poor insulation and a bag is a must. Frankly wouldn't buy either again.

AnswerID: 337432

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:08

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:08
I agree EvaKool make a good fridge & pride themselves on their insulative qualities, but the I have trouble getting my head around the motor & compressor hanging off the end as it does, it really makes the fridge too long for most applications.
Having had both, I will stick with Engel.
FollowupID: 605056

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:23

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:23
Wow Jim you have changed your tune, I recall earlier this year when I as asking the perennial fridge question you saying all fridges keep things cool and they are all the same. Your favorite was the Waeco 80 based on price.

How come you had a change of heart? Nothing wrong with that but just interested.
FollowupID: 605063

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:35

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:35
Boo,

Very happy with the Waeco 80, as I was with the Engel 39.

BUT,

In my business I get immense expsoure to a wide variety of 4wd/travelling stuff. I'd happily swap my Waeco 80 for a Fridgemate 75 or 95 at the drop of a hat.

A decision made in 2004 may not be as wise as one made in 2008. We live and learn.

I'm not one to stick to silly biased beliefs, or insane brand loyalty.

FollowupID: 605066

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 06:09

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 06:09
Fair cop Jim, thanks.
FollowupID: 605103

Reply By: cheetah - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:03

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:03
Engel !!!!.

But if had more room and money would go for a trailblaza.

www.norcoast.com.au/
AnswerID: 337433

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:54

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:54
I actually have a 40lt Engel a 40lt Waeco and a 68lt Evakool, but what I really want is a 100lt Trailblazer.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 605073

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 21:59

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 21:59
For durability, the best cabinet insulation & construction built to last you simply can't go past the Trailbaza in the larger size units (60ltr & upwards). I've had a 60ltr. Trailblaza for 28 years & it hasn't missed a beat & still only consumes an average of 20amps per day. The RFDS swear by them for the use in storing medical supplies that need refigeration in portable conditions. Cheers.
FollowupID: 605089

Follow Up By: Topcat (WA) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 22:22

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 22:22
Correction I've had the Trailblaza for 25 years not 28 - it was one of the first off the Norcoast production line. Cheers.
FollowupID: 605094

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:05

This is an interesting read on this subject

link
AnswerID: 337434

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:09

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:09
This is the first page link that should have been first

link
FollowupID: 605057

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:45

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:45
An interesting read but in the end he eliminated the best fridges because they simply didn't fit.
Certainly a detailed comparison but imagine that fella going though the same process for every thing he bought :-)
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 605068

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:56

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:56
Crackles, I think "best fridge" is very subjective depending on what fridge you actually own. If you have a good run with a fridge you swear by it and look through clouded vision. I think all fridges in the market place have to perform other wise the market will leave them behind. I don't take much notice of emotional response's from people who say " I have one so it must be the best" not saying you have said that but their response's seem to portray this opinion

Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 605076

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 08:15

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 08:15
In the end Crackles if the fridge doesn't fit in its not the best for you

FollowupID: 605111

Reply By: Ianw - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:05

Have a look here
you will find a fairly comprehensive comparison and hints.

AnswerID: 337436

Follow Up By: Ianw - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:07

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:07
WOW both submitted at the same time but yours got there first!

FollowupID: 605054

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:12

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:12
Ian it was a great reference for me before he had even made his final decision
FollowupID: 605060

Reply By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:17

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:17
I would say that no one can say what is best without more info.

I have had an Engle 39l , Waeco 50l and National Luna. The National Luna is way out there as the best but it is expensive.

There is no real difference between the Engle and Waeco, both are built to a price and have insufficent insulation for hot climates. But they are ok for say weekend trips.

The Waeco is certainly better value and occupies less floor space but is higher. One thing is for sure, avoid the 80l Waeco it uses tons of power.

AnswerID: 337440

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:21

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:21
It has the bigger danfos compressor so reqires more power
FollowupID: 605062

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:27

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:27
Plus it has to freeze one section to work correctly as a fridge int he other and freezing uses 2 - 3 times as much power
FollowupID: 605064

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:30

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:30
I probably would agree but I don't know what you said
FollowupID: 605065

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:56

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 20:56
WAECO 80 is a big fridge, hence uses lots of power.

It will use less than 2 x 40 litre fridges of any brand.

It uses less than twice what my Engel 39 used. Hence more efficient per litre kept cold, but there are better fridges.

FollowupID: 605074

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 07:49

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 07:49
The 80ltr WAECO does the job for me and has been for the last 5 years and I live in the tropics, insulation is no issue when you add the cover (ours homemade). But as for what is better!!! - not sure if you will ever find that out on a forum. There are lots of brands with happy owners. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 605107

Reply By: bockstar1 - Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 23:29

Saturday, Nov 29, 2008 at 23:29
We have an ABR Sidewinder. Great value for money compared with both a Waeco and Engel.
AnswerID: 337464

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 08:17

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 08:17
Well I actually learned a little from this perennial thread, thanx for asking it luggy, I hope you got a good steer

AnswerID: 337482

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:49

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 09:49
I've also read (and contributed to) just about every fridge thread there has ever been...:-) and I reckon anyone looking into buying a fridge should think about it in this way: It's a bit like buying a car. Ask yourself whether you want the absolute BEST quality fridge available or one that will just do the job and be cost effective. Bit like the Nissan v Toyota debate. They will both do the job, both have their own foibles, one purportedly better 'quality' than the other, both have different attitudes to customer service, one markedly more expensive than the other. Is the extra price justified? Some will agree, others wont...... ultimately it's what you want out of the product that will determine whether you can justify the extra price of an item or not.

FWIW, this is my take on fridges. But, like any opinion it's only mine.........

Figure out how you will use the thing, how much stuff you want to store in it, how long you camp in one place, generally and what power replacement options you have for charging batteries.

If you are on the move most days, you won't have many problems in the power department as the alternator will charge the battery during the day and the fridge will run it down over night, to some extent. Just about any fridge will do the job, so I would look for value for money, warranty and reputation in regards to after sales service and parts availability.

If you often camp for weeks on end in one place, you should either look at a gas fridge or THE most efficient fridge you can find and some portable power supply options, such as solar or generator.

In my case, I do a bit of both and wanted THE most power efficient fridge I could find that was (preferably) Australian made and had a reputation for reliability. I was (at the time) prepared to pay a premium for that. I did my research in places OTHER than 4WD forums, though did check out what others use. I also checked out the places that hire out fridges and, at the time, the most common fridge available for hire was the Autofridge. This fridge was also the one I found available by most of the places that sell soar panels etc... Collyn Rivers, the author of the wonderful books on motorhome electrics, campertailer electrics and solar power for camping, uses an Autofridge.

I'm not saying that it's the best fridge for everyone, but for me it allows the option of eutectic operation if I want to minimize my power use for a longer camping stay.... I run it for a couple of hours in the morning and a couple in the evening and then leave it off for the rest of the time and the 'cool bank' keeps the fridge contents cold. It will not work as a freezer in this mode.

I cannot compare it to anything else as it's the only one I've ever owned and it has been run almost constantly for about 12 years now without problem. Would I buy another? Unsure....I would do what you're doing now and do my research and think about my needs and the $$$ I had available. That being said, I would love the 73l version of this fridge.......

AnswerID: 337502

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 10:28

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 10:28
Very good response Mark, not pushing the auto fridge just because you own one but sharing your honest experience with. I would be inclined to look closer at this fridge if I was in the market for one based on what you have said.
Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 605131

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 10:37

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 10:37
Mark,

The best reply I've seen so far in the perennial fridge debate. Thankyou

FollowupID: 605132

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 11:23

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 11:23
Mark. Yes good reply, well done! P/S - Now we have a reply to cut and paste every other time this question will be asked in the future. Hey maybee you could do up a generic reply that we can use in all the whats best debates! Dont forget the Coopers & BFG :-) Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 605138

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 15:59

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 15:59
Thank you, thank you,,,,,,,, (he says, taking a bow....).

".......Now we have a reply to cut and paste every other time this question will be asked in the future. Hey maybee you could do up a generic reply that we can use in all the whats best debates! Dont forget the Coopers & BFG :-)......."

What a great idea..... same phiosophy applies to buying just about anything, i think.

Happy camping with your Nisstoymazluxes, waengoutocoolfridges and your BF Goodcoopstones. !!!!!!

Ps. My best mate took my advice some years back and bought an Autofridge, BUT he didn't take the 'extra' advice I had at the time, which was to use it as much as possible to avoid allowing the seals to dry out......it died after a period of about 2 years of no use. Just another point to add to the debate.....
FollowupID: 605158

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 16:58

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 16:58
Mark, I had a look at the 41l autofridge my godfather they are expensive at $2265.00, I would love to see one in action. Still for a premium fridge I notice they chose to go with the reliable Danfoss BD 35 compressor I think that says something.

Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 605168

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 00:09

Monday, Dec 01, 2008 at 00:09
Ouch.............that is expensive. I think mine was about $1450 from memory about 12 years ago.....although sounds about the same in relative terms, I guess. I wonder how much the 73l ones are now? :-( I saw a 2nd hand one recently for $1200.....

Autofridge 73l

Looks like it could be a fairly good buy...........

FollowupID: 605197

Reply By: young_codger - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 13:52

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 13:52
Engel has been around longer and is better.... If you can't afford one of the tradtional styled Engels then get their latest Engel Eclipse 39L - they are around $800 new

Engel Eclipse

AnswerID: 337529

Follow Up By: Gronk - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 14:22

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 14:22
Oops.....ya forgot to read Marks reply above !!!!!!!

Are they better because they have been around longer ??
That means Trailblazer must be the best as well ??

I bought a Waeco 60ltr because I wanted something I could lift in and out of the rear of the 4x4....but if I had the money ( and space ) I would look at the Auto Fridge or the Trailblazer......
FollowupID: 605154

Reply By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 16:53

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 16:53
Repco have a great fridge well built decent insulation and includes cover for $649 We have these fitted to our new work trucks and none have given problems. The compressor Danfoss the same as Waeco and nearly all fridge manufacturers use.

AnswerID: 337553

Follow Up By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 16:56

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 16:56
Here are the details of the fridge

$649 Each (save $50)
Starts 24 November - Ends 24 December
Compressor Fridge Freezer
55L. 12V/24V/240V operation. Digital control panel. Travel bag included. Auto shut off when voltage is low. Up to 50 degrees celsius below ambient temperature. (CFF55L).
FollowupID: 605167

Reply By: denver - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 20:42

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 20:42
Luggy,
Recently did some research myself and and if you can or want to spend the extra $ I would buy the National Luna. Since it wont fit in my new camper trailer, I am going with an Engel. I currently have a 40 litre Engel and have not had any problems. (apart from freezing Coke cans when the kids play with the temp control) It has done a great job for us in all weather conditions.
A mate bought a larger Waeco (3 yrs ago) and after trialing for a weekend went back and got an Engel. Also the manufacturer of our camper trailer said he has heard alot more complaints about Waeco than Engel.
AnswerID: 337590

Reply By: Holden4th - Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 20:50

Sunday, Nov 30, 2008 at 20:50
Many fridge makers miss out on the insulation side of things. In other words, how long will your fridge keep things cold after it is turned off?

Based on this I don't see how you can go past an Evakool (or is there another fridge out there with comparable insulation?). As an esky it's almost 'non pareil' and if you add a compressor then surely you've got an extremely efficient fridge.

Do you actually need to keep things frozen apart from ice cream or the ice cubes for your gin and tonic? I don't think so.

Personally, I'd use an Evakool Fridge this way:

Freeze down a block of ice in a container that would take up at least half the space of the freezer compartment.

Put frozen vac packed products underneath.

Put the rest of my refrigerated goods (vac packed where necessary) in the fridge compartment.

Run the Evakool off the alternator while driving and thus refreezing that block of ice constantly while keeping my food cold in the fridge section.

Turn the whole thing off at night, after getting out what I needed to use, and just close it until I stop the next day. The block of ice will maintain the cold.

Use the freezer section while driving to make sure that I've got little ice containers for a small esky for day use.

So what does this do?

It eliminates the need for a second battery system under the bonnet (though a small AGM like a Waeco RAPS could be used overnight and recharged next day if you really think you need it).

The secret to this is vac packed food. A vacuum packer costs less than $100 nowadays and will keep meat for 15 days in cool conditions (read esky). If it's frozen to start with then you are even further ahead of the play.

I'm off around Tassie soon and to test the theory all I'm taking is my Evakool 65L esky, 15L of frozen water and vac packed food. I''ll refreeze my water every 5 days wherever I'm staying.

I'm leaving my 40L Waeco at home because I'll struggle to keep it charged while in Tassie. An Evakool fridge might be a different proposition - wish I had one!

AnswerID: 337591

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:10

Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:10
I have both Engel and Waeco fridges, both good, but Engel DEFINETLY uses less power. Not up for argument, just my experience

Ron
AnswerID: 338006