How empty is empty.....

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 00:53
ThreadID: 6415 Views:1979 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Thank goodness..... empty doesn't mean empty. Finished the show at Conargo [Mayrung came too]. Directed to head north across properties and grids to get to Hay where I was working the next day.... All good. I didn't work out the distance all that well. I headed off with about a quarter of a tank. As the horizon stayed where it was... and the flat land passed.... I realized that the quage was closing on empty.

Ah..... an intersection... not far now..... damn! 60k to go and me on empty now!

I sweated it. Bleeding the diesel is no worries.... walking down some long track to ask for fuel is okay.... if you can find one. I decided that I would flag down the next ute and see if they had a bit to spare. I passed noone. By now the guage was below empty. I was trying to milk the last k's by just idling along.

Checking the mobile..... I came into range..... only 20 ks left. At least I call the RACv [NRMA?]. Bludy embarassing though.....

Ah!!!!! Great a petrol station. Filled the beast with relief. I didn't know that I could fit 81litres into the tank. Never have before.

Thank goodness empty doesn't mean empty...... and time I hooked up the 150l auxiliary tank I mounted under the back during Easter. Hmm must do that. .....Royce www.funshow.com.au

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 07:22

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 07:22
Hi Royce:

I tend to agree .. my 1991 80 Series Landcruiser fuel warning light comes on .. I go into mild panic mode .. no fuel stop .. keep driving ... praying ... light *seems* to get brighter with each kilometer travelled ... finally find a refuel point ... and with the fuel light glaring at me like an aircraft landing light, I refuel the main tank .. 70 litres. The thing holds 90 litres. NOW I know I have a margin for error - but willl not test it too much. Can't handle the stress : )
Chees
Jack
AnswerID: 27009

Follow Up By: charlie - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 17:19

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 17:19
My 91 cruiser holds very close to 15 litres in the main tank once the orange light comes on. I figure that if I am driving around town I will not get any more than 100km safely out of it. I must admit though as soon as it does come on the heart rate goes up and its a bit like playing who wants to be a millionaire and having to wait till after the break for the answer. I try to fill up as soon as possible when it does come on.
FollowupID: 18573

Reply By: Tony - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 08:30

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 08:30
Had the same experience with a GU and their useless aux tank lucky I carried an extra 10lt. The last 60k into the next town saw the low light come on, when I filled up put 110lt into the 120lt tanks.

AnswerID: 27015

Follow Up By: Patrol22 (Queanbeyan - Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 12:58

Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 12:58
Tony
What do you mean by 'useless aux tank'? I have a GU 95 in the main 30 in the sub - I haven't yet experienced a problem and I don't (usually) carry extra fuel. I admit I haven't yet done the Canning and other desert treks but I have done Cape York and found I haven't needed extra fuel. But then again my little 2.8tdi engine returns me an average 12.3 lt/100km.
FollowupID: 18642

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 19:36

Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 19:36
Definitely agree with Patrol22

I start looking for fuel well before I have to rely on the aux tank in my GU, of course 30 lt of diesel is good for another 250kms or so.

When one and a half jerrycans is useless I'l chuck this driving thing in!So many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 18664

Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 10:09

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 10:09
It's handy to know how much further you can go when the gauge is reading empty & just how much reserve you have in an emergency. I have just over 10 litres left in my main tank when reading empty. Cheers.Have Wheels Will Travel
AnswerID: 27021

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 10:29

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 10:29
Had the same happen on a bike once, the servo I planned to fill up at was SHUT! Had to go all the way to Albury with one eye on road and other on the fuel guage!! When I got to Albury, I put 22l in a 21ltr tank. I didnt even have enough to risk stopping and helping some other bloke on a bike who was broken down :(

So never believe the 'STATED' Max.. find out for yourself.

Now, I don't let it go below 1/4 the heartache isnt worth it!

You do some serious Klms there Royce!
AnswerID: 27024

Follow Up By: Alan H - Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 11:38

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 11:38
As an ex taxi driver of some years experience, I soon learnt never ever to trust the gauge, especially after having a gas conversion. Some were so bad that we did 250klms around town and refuelled "just in case"!
Get stuck in a bad part of town when the pubs/clubs are chucking (AND I MEAN CHUCKING) out and you'll see what I mean.
FollowupID: 18553

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:12

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:12
Those tyres are humming along fine Bruce! I'm doing a bit under 50,000ks a year. Fun and financial. CyaRoyce www.funshow.com.au
FollowupID: 18605

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:10

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:10
Then again I found out what empty was when my first [not counting Austin A40] car a Datsun 1000 station wagon ran out of fuel in Coburg 30 years ago. A mate and I found 12 cents. We rolled the car into the nearest garage and I drove for the next couple of days before topping it up. I guess about 40 or 50ks!Royce www.funshow.com.au
AnswerID: 27105

Follow Up By: Member - Howard- Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:27

Thursday, Aug 07, 2003 at 23:27
Royce,

yes those were the days petrol $0.40 per gallon , 9 cents a litre , hell the gst is more than that if you buy at the wrong day of the week now .
those old datos went a long way on a sniff as well.

howard
FollowupID: 18608

Follow Up By: Old Jack - Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 10:10

Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 10:10
Royce, out of curiosity how did you get on with you axle studs??
Regard's
jack
FollowupID: 18628

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 23:53

Friday, Aug 08, 2003 at 23:53
Studs replaced, carefully tensioned. A weld at three places around cap... studs no where near heat. I intend to check tension regularly.... information seemed to suggest that problem comes from studs not being under tension. Some debate about larger studs. Maybe if there's a next time.. We'll see!
Royce www.funshow.com.au
AnswerID: 27216