Kangaroo steak (for dinner)!!!??????

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 19:48
ThreadID: 64173 Views:5858 Replies:27 FollowUps:46
Yep,love it. 98% fat free..its a bit hexy ,but worth every cent..
Cooked med /rare with a bit of oyster sauce and asparagus
on top...
I tried croc meat once and thought it was "bloody orible"
I think i have eaten most wild animals in AUSTRALIA except
one {snake}...i wont eat them...
Does anyone else like ...and buy , kangaroo???

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:13

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:13
so you've eaten koala, dingo, cassowari, thorny devil? LOL

I like the strong flavour and it's lean qualities, though haven't had it for some time due to availability. Anywhere in Brisbane that sells it Darrell?

AnswerID: 339126

Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:17

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:17
Most Woolworths sell it at the end of the meat section in a variety of ways ........ plain steaks, marinated steaks, sausages and rolled roasts.

We eat it at least once every couple of weeks.

FollowupID: 606652

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:39

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:39
Andrew,i dont think anyone would EAT a dingo/me included..
yucK!!!!!!
porkypine is nice ..but very greasy..
I only know this because i used to work on cattle properties
with blackfellas....they used to eat and kill anything in the scrub..
FollowupID: 606658

Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:15

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:15
Andrew,
Koala has a texture similar to Platypus but my favourite is Dolphin.
DB

FollowupID: 606677

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:55

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 17:55
Ha ha. Dolphin is nice but you get sick and tired of it if you have it more than twice a week.
FollowupID: 606787

Reply By: Tippa - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:19
Had it a few times, some ok some bad. Comes down to how its cooked i think... medium and its too tough, rare and its too bloody for my liking. I used to be a big steak lover but now prefer lamb steaks anyday.
Also had croc once and loved it! Tasted a bit like fish/seafood with the texture of chicken from what i can remember. Very nice! Were only small pieces though, a croc steak may be a bit too much...
AnswerID: 339129

Follow Up By: Tippa - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:20

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:20
Also my wife worked in a cat clinic and the meat they fed the fussy eaters was roo. The moggies went bezerk over it.
FollowupID: 606653

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:30

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:30
I thought you were going to say your wife brought home the dead cats and made tube steaks out of them. lol
FollowupID: 606655

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:40

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:40
I had cat pie in the Phillipines.

A bunch of Oz blokes on the prowl and we found a pie shop - beauty.

The pies were good - we stuffed ourselves.

Then when we left we went past the back of the place and saw all the cat heads and skins in the bin.

They were still good pies but we didn't go back for more (but we did recommend the place to all the other blokes on the ship!)
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 606736

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:21
Emu is very nice, not gamy at all and very lean as well.

AnswerID: 339132

Reply By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:28
Try this recipe.

Grind peppercorns onto a plate and pat the Kangaroo into it on both sides. Make sure it is well covered and put it in the fridge for 1/2 hour. Get 1/4 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of your favourite bourbon - I like Canadian Club. Mix butter and bourbon together as best you can and put in foil in the freezer.

Cook meat on a hot BBQ plate until to your liking. It's much more fun if you have a beer while you're cooking it. In the meantime, get your missus to knock up some sauteed potatoes and steam some fresh beans. Place meat on a plate and top with a knob of bourbon butter, serve with hot veges and Bob's your uncle.

Just make sure you cook it outside. Our budgie had the sneezes for an hour after I cooked it inside. Poor bugger!

Kanga is readily available down here (SA) and not expensive compared to some of the rubbish cuts you buy in supermarkets.

Louie.
AnswerID: 339133

Reply By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:28

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:28
i was brought up on kangaroo tail roast, rabbit and hogget or older sheep (mutton). good tucker,teachers you to cook slow. but all cooking was slower on the old metters wood stove.even better now with a glass or two of red.
AnswerID: 339134

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:33
My gran used to cook a lot of mutton, both underground and above ground variety. Haven't had rabbit for yonks. We used to go to a family property at Two Wells and get mushrooms and rabbits. Pop used to race pigeons till 6 months ago so we always had them at Christmas as well. BTW, mutton went into the pasties - or whatever meat she had at the time, including rabbit.

Louie
FollowupID: 606656

Follow Up By: davida - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 15:32

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 15:32
You can buy wild rabbit at the Adelaide Central Market. Fair size and a fair price.

FollowupID: 606773

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:07

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:07
Wild rabbit? Does that include mixy?
FollowupID: 606855

Reply By: TWCAmpbell - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:30

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:30
We've found Roo Curry the best so far - can have both the curry and the meat flavours (tend to lose the flavour of beef in some of the stronger curries). There's a wholesaler near my work in Malaga, WA but we also get roo from Woolies and Coles (they stock some of the products from www.macromeats.com.au).
AnswerID: 339135

Reply By: Ozboc - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:33

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:33
I had crock once and it was really nice , but then again - i was dating a chef and she knew how to cook it correctly ....

my first experience with roo was VERY disappointing ... was at an expensive restaurant in darling harbour .... was over cooked and in some blackberry sauce that just completely took over the taste .....

again ,... the chef i dated for a while -- she cooked me a roo steak .... WOW loved it :)

Boc
AnswerID: 339136

Follow Up By: toyocrusa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 06:18

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 06:18
And you stopped dating her??
FollowupID: 606693

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:09
There goes the theory that a way to a man's heart is through his stomach!

FollowupID: 606715

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:10

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 18:10
Yeh , silly me :) but i was 30 and just broke up from my wife ... she was almost 40 and i was also dating a girl 20 yr old at the time ....

so was not ready for a serious relationship - but will give credit where credit is due .. she was a good cook , and taught me a few lessons ( not just the cooking )

Boc
FollowupID: 606793

Reply By: Kroozer - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:39

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:39
Kangaroo pie is my favourite. Fresh, homemade kangaroo pie very nice. Would like to try it in a roast, seen it doen but never tasted it. Cant wait for xmas i will be cooking up my little bunny rabbit if i can find one, love rabbit also.
AnswerID: 339137

Reply By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:40

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:40
well since I travel a fair bit I have had all sorts of stuff:
ostrich: which is simply great cooked very hot and rare inside
crocodile: well I can leave that
elephant: which tastes very blubberish and not again
whale :ditto
kudu: fantastic
gazelle: as above
turtle: in soup very strong
donkey: fine
Horse:fine
ducks brains and tongues: only once thanks
monkey:as above
dog:sweet but never again
snake: like chicken
buffalo:great
pheasant:great
duck feet: well once thanks

eaten all parts of common animals( cows, sheep, goats, pigs ): throat, bleep es, balls,brains, tails etc etc. Had an eye once ( and frankly never again ).
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

AnswerID: 339138

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:42

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:42
lol fair dinkum!

you wont go hungry
FollowupID: 606659

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:46

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:46
I forgot sea horses, scorpions, snails, sundry large insect varieties ( grasshoppers etc )
According to modern astronomers, space is finite..a very comforting thought particularly for people who can never remember where they left things

FollowupID: 606660

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:52

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:52
nothin like takin bush tucker to the limits eh?
FollowupID: 606661

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:57

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:57
My mum always said "eat what is in front opf you or people might be insulted". Never more true in the east ( China etc ) so I do as my mum said!!!!!
Close eyes some times and think of something else works!!!

FollowupID: 606664

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:59

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:59
takenbyaliens ......You ate an elephant!!???? not in one go i hope!!!
FollowupID: 606665

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:06

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:06
Nah...just little bits....although some people when they see me would think I am the man who ate an elephant!!!! LOL

FollowupID: 606667

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:15

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:15
I remember siting around a fire in Kruger National Park one night having eaten impala and listening to the lions just ouside of firelight range and wondering wether they wanted impala or human........in the end i figured they wanted live game before dead...not much sleep that night!

FollowupID: 606669

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:27

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:27
Hi takenbyaliens,

That now explains all the stomach ailments in your blogs.....lol lol

BTW, a good read.

Michael
FollowupID: 606698

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:22

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:22
Hey takenbyaliens, i've also been to kruger and have eaten some wild beasts...
Impala... yeah they call it Maccas as its around every corner, tastes like lamb,
Waterbuck... went to try it but advised not... it tastes like they smell apparently- was advised to go for the next meat...
Warthog... really nice. Would like to try warthog again atually,
Kudu... similar to Impala and all of those types of "deer", very nice and comes down to how and what its cooked with really.

After a fortnight of camping in a private game park in Kruger, (sabi sabi near sabi sands) i think the best meat out of all south african animals is warthog for number one and a log of sirloin steak butchered an hour before roasting over coals.... magic.
FollowupID: 606859

Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:40

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 20:40
I'd like to convince myself to try it, but after spending some time shooting roos legally for crop protection, and feeding the dogs on roo leg,,,,,, fair dinkum the number of legs we cut n threw away to get a good un for the dogs...... due to finding them riddled with white tapeworms.

I'm sure the farmed stuff is different... or is it... I know guys who shoot the same roos from the same areas, and there lining up with coolers to take them off you. Do they go in food chain??

Not sure if like the pigs they go to mainly germany, but a clean head shot roo is what they are after.

Sorry if I put anyone off..... but best to know what its all about
AnswerID: 339139

Follow Up By: howie - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 01:59

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 01:59
apparently not a good idea to feed dogs roo meat only.
too lean (or not enough fat)
FollowupID: 606691

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:37

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:37
dont know what country you got your roos from but there aint no farmed roos in oz, there all shot in the wild.
i have shot thousands of roos [reds and westerns] and never found worms in the meat. Tape worms only live in the gut.

they have worms in there gut but they help with the digestive system so i have been told.

As for roo shooters lining up with their [coolers ???] they can only be taken by an accredited shooter and put in an accredited chiller.
FollowupID: 606734

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 16:07

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 16:07
Aargh...theyd be them damn Asian roos........saw one the other day hop across! One hop! From bloody Indonessia straight across to darwin! Clean over the top of East Timor, without even a push off!!!!
You might laugh Handy!!!! But I saw him I did! With my own one eye (the one was shut so I could focus, someone spiked me bourbon, with bourbon).

And worms!!!! What would you know about bloody worms!
You dont even skin them before havin a chew! You need two forks to stop the mongrels from hoping off your plate.
Hahahahahaha
ROTFLMAO

FollowupID: 606780

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:10

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:10
gday all

most of us have tried the M at least once?
does that count as feral game?????
AnswerID: 339147

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:57

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:57
LOl, over the top of many here i would think :) The others have chosen to ignore you :)
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 606682

Reply By: Kiwi and Grenade - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:11
Yep roo is great but even better is bambi....no fat at all....more of the good stuff too apparently..!!Rusa s no good to eat but chital is fab....!!
AnswerID: 339148

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:23

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:23
Tried possum once, tasted a bit like penguin lol?????

AnswerID: 339149

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:24
Good tucker, that roo, especially in a stir fry.

I've tried:
Crocodile....very nice
Goanna....nice too
Flying Fox...well...jury's out on that one
Turtle...yumm
Springbok..Good stuff
Springbok liver thrown raw on the fire..good tucker
Kudu...can be tough
Impala...nice too
African Porcupine...sweet meat
Elephant...blubbery
African Buffalo....tough
Asian Buffalo....good tucker
Horse...hmm, not fussed
Snake(Python)...nice an fluffy
Witchetty Grub....yerr, can leave that one too
Camel....tastes like dust
Burdekin Duck....throw away the duck and eat the saucepan
Bustard...Good tucker
Magpie Goose....delicious

AnswerID: 339150

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:33

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:33
U ate an elephant to??
willem ..whats a springbok?? and dont tell me u ate a football...
FollowupID: 606672

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:38

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:38
Willem
there is nothing like Karoo lamb hey??

FollowupID: 606673

Follow Up By: takenbyaliens (QLD member) - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:40

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:40
Darrell
lovely little jumping gazelle and yes as Willem says they are wonderful eating

FollowupID: 606674

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:43

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 21:43
Springbok=Thompson's Gazelle..... two varieties of same gazelle

Yep Karoo Lamb is great. Grew up in the Karoo so we ate a lot of it.

FollowupID: 606676

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 00:31

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 00:31
Hows it going Willem

In '96 I spent 6wks in SA Zim and Zambia on a tour with my now wife .

The guide we had loved Biltong ,and sharing so I dont know which half of Africa I have tasted !

I do know I have had a few types of Gazelle , Ostritch, Wild Boar.
This was at a resturaunt at Vic Falls where alot of game meat was available.

Not such a good place to go now though , : (

Glenn.
FollowupID: 606690

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:55

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:55
dont tell the japs that elephants are blubbery....they might go after them ...[for science..:(((]
FollowupID: 606702

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:57

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 07:57
Burdekin Duck....same as galah eh?
(cook in pot with ole boot and when done throw away galah and the boot ...so they say)
FollowupID: 606704

Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:00

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:00
w're a bit like you Willem.....tried a fair amount, thanks to dinner at the bough house restaurant at Yulara.....Croc, Emu, Camel (from birdsville bakery..curried camel pie)....all those lovely australian animals that are safer being on my dinner plate!!
FollowupID: 606707

Reply By: Jacked Off - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:16

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 22:16
My wife used to get minced roo meat from her folks farm and make lasagne with it. Absolutely wonderful.

Even some of my very Italian friends loved it until I told them it was roo (lol).
AnswerID: 339159

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 23:16

Wednesday, Dec 10, 2008 at 23:16
I was known for bringing something different to the work wind up. One year when our host cooked my steaks on the barbie, the guessing was on. Host got it right with "Oh, we're not eating Skippy are we?" A top steak, and a good fat free meat.

Roo tail makes a great brawn, roo meat a top stew, and the steaks are excellent (choose a young roo of course). Australians have got it wrong; we should be breeding and eating kangaroo. Yum

Who has enjoyed eating roo, rabbit, parrot and wild duck. We eat goat (a nice lean meat) and mutton (lamb a bit fatty and lacking flavour). Even the Old Rooster's domestic pigeon are tasty - a bit like wild duck. Only eating chicken is cannibalism.

AnswerID: 339166

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 03:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 03:09
darrell

I just get my own..
At least I know what I am getting, as a couple of times that I have brought it, someone has slipped in some "old Buck", and thats realy yuck, and strong.
AnswerID: 339169

Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 05:50

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 05:50
Agree with you Darrell, love roo meat, especially the tail cooked in it's skin.

Have tried,
Green ants, lemon tasting, not bad
Honey ants, sweet as
Witchetty grubs, cooked, nutty
Goanna, rubbery chicken
Snake, rubbery chicken
Camel, almost like steak but tough as hell unless it is a young one
Deer, too gamey
Pheasant, too gamey
Frog's legs, similar to chicken drumstick
Snails, taste all of their own
Haggis, not bad if you don't think about the ingredients
Emu, nice tasting but I thought it too fatty
Mallee fowl, lovely, but to the PC, that was in the 50's
Scrub turkey/Bustard, shared with locals in the Gibson, nice but undercooked in the ground
Rabbit, practically grew up on them, still love them
Croc, not bad
Buffalo, loved it, still remember, 'buff or beef?' when ordering a burger or steak sandwich in the Territory

Grew up on a Mallee farm in SA in the 50's, so when Dad killed a sheep, nothing was wasted. Brain, tongue, liver as well as all the 'normal' bits. Used to go to school with sandwiches of cold sheep's liver and Tomato Sauce sometimes. Absolutely hate anything with liver in it now, thanks Mum.
Same with chooks and pigs, still love pig's trotters but have a bit of trouble with chicken feet.

Dennis

AnswerID: 339171

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:01

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:01
nothing wrong with lambsfry n bacon...yum yum
dont understand why swmbo wont buy it for me
FollowupID: 606708

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:39

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:39
I'm with you No 1. Love the stuff especially if done in a nice thick gravy. Wife would run a mile over burning coals before any liver passed the threshold.

FollowupID: 606806

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 06:29

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 06:29
KFC......oil change at bottom of the bucket.
Hungry Jacks......beaudy.
Dominos.....all taste the same.
Maccas....cardboard.
Sizzlers.....watch kids cough and sneeze over the servery.
Fish'n'Chips....had real flavour when wrapped in old newspaper.
Chicken cheese crumbed sausages.....mmmmm.

Most interesting dish.....2 week old pie from a servo.

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 339173

Follow Up By: Member - RFLundgren (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:09
Love my chicken & chees crumbed sausages.....LOL. Thats what I am going to miss when we head baclk to the East Coast mid next year...LOL

FollowupID: 606723

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:01

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:01
i feeling hungry now!
AnswerID: 339175

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:09
I always thought croc tasted a bit like Chicken .... or American Tourist :)

Maybe you had some of the latter ? :) :)
AnswerID: 339177

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:24

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:24
After reading all the replies there is a lack of pork on the menu! So does that mean that none of you have/would eat wild pig?

AnswerID: 339179

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:49

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 08:49
Yerrrr...I left out the wild pigs of Kakadu....lol

FollowupID: 606720

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:12

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 09:12
Wild pig ? if they have had a big brand name kabana they have had wild pig from Normanton.
FollowupID: 606725

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:40

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:40
Nup......
Ya can stick ya roo, ofal, koala and all the rest of it fair up ya clacker!!!
Give me a scotch, T-Bone, Loiny, or seafood any day.

AnswerID: 339218

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 15:57

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 15:57
Soft c---k
FollowupID: 606776

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 16:09

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 16:09
Na mate....... wouldnt give that ago either.
But each to their own I suppose!

Hahahaha
FollowupID: 606781

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:33

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:33
Ha ha, nice one!
FollowupID: 606860

Reply By: austastar - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:41

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:41
Had frogs once in Malaysia - Ayum Padi is not chicken and rice, it is chicken of the rice field. My reading of the menu was misguided. Very nice it was too, bit like chicken legs with a slight flavour of flathead (local fish).

Had Ruska Tikus, (mouse deer) too. It was cooked and served in bamboo by the Arong Asli (Malay Aboriginals - the blokes with the blow-pipes). Beautiful little animal, would not harm one my self, but if it is cooked and served, one can't insult the host. Tasted a bit like rabbit.

Was in RAAF Hospital (knee operation) for a while, and my fellow room mates were Gurkhas. Their chef used to bring them large plates of beautiful smelling curry. We (Australians) were served the usual meat and 3 veg - a bit boring, especially as hospital food. Asked the Gurkha Chef if I could try the curry. His eyes lit up and a big smile came on his face - he was delighted that I wanted to try his curried goat.
GOAT?
Well I was committed by not asking what it was that was curried. Yes it was very tasty and tender, and I often chose this in preference to some of the Australian menu choices of the day.

Killed a large black Tiger Snake once, skinned and gutted it with the idea of eating it. We were about 5 days away from the nearest road and living on dried food. I couldn't bring myself to prepare it any further. I wasn't all that hungry, and the whole length of the thing seemed to be rib cage with very little meat on it. It seemed too much trouble for the amount of meat on it. I think I would eat it if some one else had cooked and prepared it nicely.
AnswerID: 339219

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:59

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 13:59
Yes we eat roo regularly. I hardly eat beef it is tasteless. Roo is the meat of choice for professional boxers due to it's very high protien and almost fat free.

Marinade it for a short time in light olive oil, worcesteshire sauce and cracked pepper. Put it on hot coals and cook it medium in the middle near black on the outside.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 339224

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 14:03

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 14:03
My Brother refused to eat roo. I cooked it for him once on a bbq telling him it was beef and he went back for seconds and then asked for more! It's still taking him a while to come around.
FollowupID: 606757

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:41

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:41
"cook it medium on the inside and black on the outside"? Really? From what ive experienced, medium roo is like a slab of leather, and so can only imagine how tough and terrible roo would be if its black on the outside... sorry but i cant see it being edible at all that far gone...
FollowupID: 606861

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:47

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 19:47
Tried and enjoyed:

Croc,
Emu,
Buffalo,
Camel,
Snake,
Green Ants,
Frogs legs
Snails,
ostrich;
pheasant,
bunny,
Any raw fish, prawns, scallops, occy, & squid - Love sashimi

Hate with a passion and most disgusting thing that's ever passed by lips and entered my big gut - Raw jelly fish (imagine the saltiest mouth full of phlegm you could imagine)

AnswerID: 339267

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:40

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 20:40
Duncan,,where did u,or why did u...never mind ,i feel sick....
Jellyfish !!!????.........................................................
FollowupID: 606823

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:21

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 21:21
went to canberra in june for a competiton shoot
collegue suggested we go to chinese rest for tea... yeah ok

menu..had lots of good stuff but
also had jelllyfish with chicken

no one wanted to try so we ordered ordinary stuff

and when every one was wanting more i said lets try the jellyfish...ooooooh aaaaagh but we tried it...just like wet rubber bands with chicken.........

fist time for everything...and the last
FollowupID: 606832

Reply By: T-Ribby - Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:32

Thursday, Dec 11, 2008 at 23:32
Yeah we eat Roo and prepare it like abalone ie cut it thin and beat the snot out of it with a large hammer. or stir fry in thin strips.
If I may digress momentarily, abalone finely minced and fried with peas and onions and served on toast is brill, and they also make fine patties. Like scallops tho, they can go through you like a rocket-propelled chicken vindaloo if over indulged.

T.R.
AnswerID: 339320