Hilux SR wheels & tyres

Submitted: Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 11:51
ThreadID: 64293 Views:35939 Replies:5 FollowUps:19
Hi yall,

Sorry to kinda repost this issue - since my last post
Ive been doing a lot of reading and thinking. I now know what I want to do, but I just want confirmation of a coupla things.

Im thinking of buying a Toyota Hilux SR about 2 yrs old. I have issues with the standard tyre size - its only 205mm wide, and I'd really like 245 or 265. I also want to go as large as legally possible - I think that is 31" on a Hilux. From what I read they will fit OK without a lift. However to fit 245 or 265 tyres I need 7" or 8" wide rims - the standard ones are 6" wide. Now, from my reading the options are:

1/ Buy 16x7" rims - but I'm unlikely to find ones with correct offset for Hilux
2/ Buy16x8" rims - but because of offset there may be probs with rubbing on suspension, mudflaps, body etc.
3/ Buy some secondhand SR5 15x7" rims. No probs with these.

First question - Will I really have problems with 16x8" rims with correct offset on the hilux?

Because of the potential probs with 16" rims - Im thinking 15X7" SR5 rims are the way to go. Apparently tyres are cheaper too. Now Im not after high performance - Im after durability on corrugations and serviceability - so Im thinking steel wheels are the way to go. Second question: Is that a reasonable assumption to make? Or are alloy wheels pretty robust anyway.

Third question - are 15x7" steel wheels in the correct offset easily obtainable? .

Probably I should be talking to a tyre dealer? - I live in Adelaide - can anyone recommend a wheel/tyre specialist who would be able to advise me on these things?

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 16:44

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 16:44
*Buy some secondhand SR5 15x7" rims. No probs with these.*

Ring around at Bob Jane or similar outlets,people that buy brand new Hiluxes want the rims changed and they get stuck with the old ones...

I was told i would have issues with the original rims,cracking etc etc,and steel would be better...Well i put the Mickey Thompson MTZ on the original 15inch,Been up rocky shale spurs,and about 30 odd river crossings etc and there fine....

I did reply yesterday to a text i overlooked regarding my model you asked about !

AnswerID: 339861

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:13

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:13
Hiya Warfer,

Yes I think I am beginning to think that is the simplest and safest option.

I just need to do some ringing around to see how easy it is to get SR5 rims here in SA to clinch it for me.

Thansk for you input

FollowupID: 607404

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:24

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:24
No Worries Sobriquet anytime...

FollowupID: 607452

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:41

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:41
If I were you, I'd buy a set of 16x7 Prado rims and fit 245/75R16 tyres. Those Prado rims are trhe strongest around and look nice on the Hilux. That tyre size can be got in any tread pattern, and in a 10ply rating (Load Index of 120).

If you stick to 15" tyres, you're unlikely to find any tyre with a load index of more than 109. That is why some 15 inch tyres are cheaper.
AnswerID: 339873

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:45

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:45
I think you may find prado rims are a different offset and may not suit better check it out.
FollowupID: 607407

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:51

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:51
For second hand Prado 16x7 rims, try
Used Tyre Mart at Wingfield or
Royal Park Tyres or
Total Traction Tyres at Lonsdale or
Beaurepaires in Gouger Street,
or keep an eye out on Ebay.
Wreckers ask too much for rims.

If you want new aftermarket 16x7 white spoke rims, stick to Speedy or ROH, both are available at almost any tyre dealer. There's some cheap copies going around.
FollowupID: 607409

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:59

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 18:59
Gday Brenton,

I don't have first hand info on the current (unbreakable) Hilux, but am told the offset is the same as the previous (breakable) Hilux, which I know took Prado rims perfectly. Someone confirmed this on last Thursday's thread.

As the width is different, there will be different offsets.
16x7 Prado rims have 118mm backspacing. Any idea what the backspacing is on the Hilux?

But I agree with trying any rim on before you buy.

FollowupID: 607412

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:00

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 20:00
And photos of 90series wheels on new and old Hiluxes:

FollowupID: 607423

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:24

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:24
**If I were you, I'd buy a set of 16x7 Prado rims and fit 245/75R16 tyres.**

Hiya Philly

You know how the vehicle comes with a tyre size placard...Is this setup ok with insurance !

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 607451

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:59

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 21:59
Gday Warfer,
If you can find an insurance company that knows the difference between a 245/75R16, a 205R16 and a 255/70R15 then give them a miss!!! All I know is that the next person to get a claim knocked back for a small increase in diameter will be the first.

The 245/75R16 is a sensible size on vehicle the size of a Hilux.
The standard tyres are about 740mm diameter, while the 245/75 are about 775mm. If you can figure out the Vic regulations, then best of luck - some say the new ADR has been adopted (+50mm allowed) while others say only +15mm allowed.

phil
FollowupID: 607460

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:28

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:28
Hmm I do wanna keep insurance company happy - this car aint cheap and will be under finance.

Not sure what you mean by backspacing - I think the regulations have it that you are not allowed to increase track width by more than 25mm.

Apparently as long as you stick to tyre placard that comes with any variant of the model you're ok.

I agree 245/75R16 is an ideal size for hilux - or even 265/70R16, but rules I read state only 15mm increase in OD allowed. Also lifts - only 25mm allowed. I will look further into those rules though, because its cr*p.

All I can say is there must be a hell of a lot of illegally shod Hiluxes driving around obviously they arent getting pulled over by police, but they _could_ have trouble making insurance claims - basically it gives the company an out.
FollowupID: 607504

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 21:04
**All I can say is there must be a hell of a lot of illegally shod Hiluxes driving around obviously they arent getting pulled over by police, but they _could_ have trouble making insurance claims - basically it gives the company an out.**

Your spot on and coppers are getting smarter about it too.They do crackdowns and dont let anyone tell ya any diff..Mansfield is a gateway for 4wds and they blitz there for starters...

I couldn't be bother taking the chance,the ones complaining know that there vehicles are unroadworthy and try and play the ignorance game,but i think its gameover for that these days,As you stated there is too much money in the vehicle on the line for complications..

FollowupID: 607602

Reply By: time waster - Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 19:51

Monday, Dec 15, 2008 at 19:51
I have a set of prado 90 series rims with half worn cooper st tyres on 16x6 rims and 225/75 16 if you are interested we had them on our sr hilux and live in Adelaide

Christian
AnswerID: 339888

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:29

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:29
Hmm seeing the SR comes with 16X6" rims this doesnt gain me a lot.
FollowupID: 607505

Reply By: wicket - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:28

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:28
stick with the original sr rims and put on 215/85/16 tyres. these have the same diameter as 245/75/16 and will save you the expense of new wheels, not to mention that you will have to put on flares as the larger diameter wheel will push the tyres wider than the body (which is illegal/unroadworthy) , you'll also require the flares to prevent mud/rocks splashing over the bodywork.
AnswerID: 339971

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:32

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 10:32
Hmm - they are just not wide enough - I really would like to run 245s.

Also there is still some doubt as to whether the larger outer diamter is legal -I have a copy of "Bulletin 3 - Vehicle Standards" from Regency park that clearly states you are only allowed to increase tyre diameter by 15mm.

Still, thanks for making the suggestion though.
FollowupID: 607506

Follow Up By: wicket - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:00

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:00
i run the 215's on mine and they will do everything the 245's will, guess it's just the 'look' you're after. either way both are deemed as unroadworthy/ illegal due to being greater than 15mm oversize. this is where your insurance company comes in, i spoke to mine and they said as long as the tyres aren't responsible for any accident claim that you make then insurance cover is no problem.
FollowupID: 607507

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:09

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:09
Hmm thats interesting re the insurance cover.

Still - does that mean eg you are not covered if you have a major accident caused by a blowout?

I think 215s just wont 'float' as well on soft sand. And yes, 245s
do look a bit more like they mean business.

Just got some info re pricing in case youre interested: New steel rims are about $120 each, SR5 factory steels in 15x7 are about $100 or less secondhand. Apparently SR5 factory alloys may not fit.
FollowupID: 607508

Follow Up By: wicket - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:16

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:16
re insurance, you'll just have to talk to your insurer,you wouldn't notice any difference between the two over soft sand. in actual fact the 215's would probably be better as they will give a longer footprint when aired down which is preferred.
FollowupID: 607511

Reply By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:49

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 11:49
OK, got the latest info re raising vehicles directly from vehicle standards SA. I cant upload the document as I am not a member, but I'll summarise as others may find this useful:

1/ you can fit rims up to 2" bigger or smaller than originals. provided OD does not increase or decrease by more than 15mm.

2/ You can fit an aftermarket suspension lift, but NOT do the folowing: fit extended/adjustable shackles to leaf springs, fit spacer blocks above/below coil springs, or move leaf springs to other side of axle

3/ You must keep the same rebound travel.

4/ You can do a body lift by fitting spacers between chassis & body.

Total lift from all 3 methods (oversize tyres, suspension and body lifts) cannot exceed 50mm.

Distance from mudflaps or mudguard to ground cannot exceed 300mm.

If you want to go outside these limits you need a certified engineer's report & inspection.
AnswerID: 339974

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 16:33

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 16:33
Ok, and then there is again some conflicting information that I will also post in case somebody else finds it useful - from Nic at exclusivetyres.com.au:

"As of January 1st 2008 the National Code of Practice was updated for 4WD vehicles in relation to change of tyre overall diameter. It states for 4WD vehicles a change from a maximum increase of 15mm (old Rule) to a maximum increase of 50mm (new rule).The 15mm rule still exists for passenger vehicles and soft roader/SUV. At the time when the new rule was introduced all states and territories had adopted the new rule except for NSW and QLD. I can only conclude that the information you recieved from Transport SA is either the requirements for passenger car, soft roader & SUV or they have not given you the new information in relation to 4WD vehicles.

Here is the information for your particular case with a SR Hilux originally fitted and placarded with 205R16. The overall diameter of the 205R16 is 747mm. Using the new 50mm rule you can fit any sized tyre that is now taller than 797mm as long as it is fitted to the correct rim width. If you wanted to go with a 15" rim the tallest sized tyre would be a 265/75R15 on a rim width of 7.00" - 8.50" wide. However if you wanted to stay with a 16" rim the tallest legal tyre you would fit would be a 275/70R16 with a rim fitment of 7.00" - 9.00".
"

FollowupID: 607534

Follow Up By: wicket - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 17:34

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 17:34
i think that guy from the tyre shop is wrong. i contaccted the regency park office, actuallly went there in person about 6 months ago and they confirmed 15mm as max. you could get an engineers cert if you want to go higher, they will actually give you a list of certified engineers. having said that i also contacted conlon the minister for transport and he said that some ( not committed to all) of the ncop suggestions will be adopted in early 2009
FollowupID: 607547

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:58

Tuesday, Dec 16, 2008 at 18:58
AAArgh its all getting too complicated.

Sooo we may be able to fit up to 50mm bigger tyres to 4WDs early in the new year, if we're lucky.

However the other rule re 50mm = total height increase from tyres + suspension + body lift means that if you fit your standard 50mm OME lift then you cannot increase tyre sizes even 1mm. What the?

I suspect that at the end of the day - if your insurance company is happy with it you can go with it - nobody else really knows or cares. Plenty of utes with 50mm lift + 50mm oversize tyres - its almost a standard mod.
FollowupID: 607563

Follow Up By: Sobriquet - Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 11:11

Wednesday, Dec 17, 2008 at 11:11
OK, for the sake of completeness, I asked Vehicle Standards re clarification, and got an answer from David, who describes himself as A/Coordinator Vehicle Standards.

I asked him about the NCOP, and when it was/is giong to be adopted. Heres his answers:

re was it adopted in Jan 2008? :

"Unfortunately this is not correct as it has not been adopted in SA either, so the increase in overall diam is still 15mm."

re if not, when will it be adopted? :

"I am not aware of any date for it to be adopted. I believe it is still being worked on but have not been informed of a adoption date or if it will be adopted and if it is whether it will be in it entirety."

Im sticking to 15mm over for now. All you guys with bigger tyres that have significant money tied up in your vehicles, better check with your insurance company.

From what Warfer added a few replies up the page, cops are getting wise to this problem too.
FollowupID: 607668