Great Alpine Road Vic

Submitted: Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:11
ThreadID: 64485 Views:8045 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hi There
Can anyone tell me about the suitability of the road for a caravan from Wangaratta to Lakes entrance.We are going down that way in Feb and it sounds like an interesting drive as we want to see some of the high country
Cheers Bob

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:28

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:28
Done it several times (probably about 20!) as I live near Lakes. It is a bit of a climb to Hotham from the Harrietville and it is fairly twisty. The downhill into Omeo is easier and longer straights. Onto Swifts Creek and Ensay is easy and then it is twisty again into Bruthen. Bitumen all the way and about 300kms I think. Great views and good stop off points, Bright,Harrietville, Hotham, Dinner Plain, Swifts Creek and heaps more between these places. If your experienced at towing and take time and care it is easy and more interesting than Freeways.
AnswerID: 340916

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:36

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 17:36
Maybe not a road for a beginner to start out on.

If you have some towing experience and rig in good condition and are prepared to drive sensibly then I see no problems.

A beautiful drive - everyone should do it at least once.

AnswerID: 340917

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:49

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 20:49
Just a note!

When you see a those "Not suitable for caravans" signs, it does not mean that caravans are prohibited.

What it really means is that you need to be a bit more advanced than the once a year caravan tower who has a van way too heavy for tug, has never had the van brakes checked adjusted and probably has the bum of the tow tug on the ground.

We have seen many very big rigs on that road as well as a couple of sizable motor home Winnebago thingies.

Once again, it's a case of knowing what you are about.

Ian.
FollowupID: 608592

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:35

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:35
I towed my van over that road in November and didn't see any "not suitable" signs. It's certainly not the type of road where I have seen those signs and I wouldn't have expected to. Could I suggest that your advice is a bit misleading. My experience is that those signs mean what they say. I have seen "not suitable" signs on roads like Galston Gorge where it would be crazy to try and tow a van. I've also seen them on the Alpine Way between Thredbo and Khancoban. You could certainly tow a van through there but some of the stretches of that road are so narrow and blind that to do so would be inviting disaster. No matter how experienced you are as a driver towing a van you still have to share the road with others. And of course there are the "No Caravans Permitted" signs in places like the Bungle Bungles where the rangers delight in telling people with offroad vans that they have to turn around and drive back the 3-4 hours they have taken to come in because the signs mean what they say "not Permitted"!!!
FollowupID: 608603

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:24

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:24
As per above posts Bob, and it is now bitumen, with cappicino shops at the top.

Its the new big bike racetrack these days so keep well over on the way up to Hotham.

Not suitable for caravans , but from up before Hotham a dirt road goes south across the Dargo high plains , this road provides access to several great tracks like Blue Rag - well worth the detour if you can park the van somewhere there overnight.

AnswerID: 340923

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:27

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:27
Ditto re the attractions - what a drive ! Taken carefully, the significant windy descents should be ok in towing - some lovely countryside with fabulous views from the high spots. The drive takes you close to the peak of Hotham , but not quite - if you see a spot to park with the van up there, suggest that it is worth the 10 minute trek up to the actual peak - there is a small radio shack up there. See pic below........Mt Buffalo in the distance.
We were there in April 06 - even had a bit of snow to play with on the Dinner Plain and a frozen track puddle on the peak of Hotham, on a bright sunny day.........pic below. Image Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 340925

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:44
You remind me of another attraction that has been damaged by authorites in Victoria Darian.

You used to be able to drive to the very top , did that in a HK holden once.

FollowupID: 608606

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:38

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:38
And the "road" across what is now known as Dinner Plains was a two wheel track winding between the snow gums

Somewhere in the photo box is a photo of the entire family of kids sitting in the boot of my fathers EJ Holden trying to stay out of the wind whilst having a picnic on top of Hotham

Don't blame the authorities; image the damage to that track with a couple of hundred cars per day; half of them 4WDs trying to make their way to conquer the heights...even with all the mod cons its still a beautiful drive.

Looking down on the High Country it feels that you are high enough to touch the sky, then you look up... Why does the sky in the High Country seem so big?
FollowupID: 608636

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:42

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 18:42
G'day Bob,

I'll bang my own chest a little - have a look at my "blog" I posted today - we've just got back from Swifts after doing the Haunted Stream Track. I'd recommend parking the van at Swift Creek Caravan park and doing a day trip along the Haunted Stream.

From Hotham down to Lakes towing - no worries - just remember to admire the views.

Tim - Stratford.
AnswerID: 340928

Follow Up By: Member - Bob C (NSW) - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:17

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 21:17
Thanks all you folks for your very informative replies.It confirms what I wanted to hear.Sounds great and we will definately do it .I am fairly experienced at towing,having towed horse floats and vans most of my life as well as operating heavy machinery
Cheers Bob
FollowupID: 608599

Reply By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:43

Monday, Dec 22, 2008 at 23:43
Bob as a local I can confirm the road up & over Hotham is sign posted "Not Suitable for caravans" from Harrietville. It is so for several reasons. It's fairly long & steep in places with many vehicles overheating & have towed one bloke with a van myself who simply couldn't get up "The Megg". (steepest section) The road is particually winding & long vans have no choice but to move onto the wrong side of the road. At all times of the year including mid summer it is possible to get snow or ice & is not the place to be caught with a van in those conditions.
As previous replies indicate there are a few that tow vans that way. If conditions are fine, you are experienced & have a an appropiately set up vehicle then the views alone make it a great drive.
Cheers Craig..........

AnswerID: 340985