Waste Veggie Oil as diesel fuel.

Submitted: Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 13:21
ThreadID: 64828 Views:2619 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Have any of you rattler drivers followed this blog?
http://ozonabatteredfish.blogspot.com/
Quite interesting story of circumnavigating the country using used cooking oil scavenged from wherever they could get it.
With the health trend away from deep fried etc. foods it could be difficult to emulate, though, perhaps, the neverending proliferation of the 'golden arches' and the others might still make it feasible :D

Reply By: Goona - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 17:18

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 17:18
Rolly,

I meet them whilst doing our trip around Australia and were constantly bumping into them as they had a very similar itinerary to us. We did almost all the same tracks etc and there fuel bill was almost nothing whilst ours was $7200 in total for Diesel/Gas. They did have a little trouble when they reached Exmouth due to a failed injector pump. Gerards troopy had done 300,000 klm and I don't know if the pump failed due to the use of the oil but even if it did it was only $1000 so all up they were still $6000 ahead. He did take a while to do the decanting though and the collection of the Waste Vegetable oil but all in all looks like a good thing.

Goona
AnswerID: 342751

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 20:54

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 20:54
I wonder what that $6,000 represents in in terms of an hourly rate for the effort of scrounging up the oil and filtering and decanting it.
It's an 'after tax" figure so you can add approx 30% to the result.
Interesting, especially for someone who is time rich and income poor.
FollowupID: 610459

Follow Up By: Goona - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 21:40

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 21:40
Rolly,

At least the fuel was cheap driving from "Depot to Depot" LOL. It was also a little messy and he had to carry a fair few buckets around with him as well as a big filter not unlike an industrial vacuum clear filter such as those found in a wet vac. There is also a modification required which is a heater as to allow the oil to "thin out" as to make it flow better. He also needed to run on diesel for five minutes at the start as to get the heater hot then he would switch over to the WVO so there is added cost in setting this up. This also had to happen in reverse I.e when switching off you need to run on diesel for 5 mins to ensure all the WVO was removed from the line to prevent blockages in the injectors due to a sort of "solidified oil" over night when it cooled down again. Would I do it to my 4.2 Patrol. Nope. If it blew up the $6000 you saved would have gone up in smoke less alone the muck around factor of not having a car etc.

Goona
FollowupID: 610470

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 21:54

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 21:54
Yeah, but they were driving a 'cruiser not a PooTroll, so I guess they had less delicacy to take into account. :D
FollowupID: 610475

Reply By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 19:19

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 19:19
Rolly. With somthing like this, if we all did it, then it becomes not a viable option. Good on the few that do, but all us diesel users can not turn around and start doing the same thing. If we did or had too, could we have a Mad Max sinario down the track :-)? Regards Tony
AnswerID: 342768

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 19:33

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 19:33
Stand and deliver
Yer veggie oil or yer liver !
FollowupID: 610452

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 20:57

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 20:57
No chance of us all doing it, Tony.
It's a little "inconvenient"; and we all love our conveniences, don't we ?

Good one, Footy.
Would that be fried - with onions?
FollowupID: 610460

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:35

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:35
Then there would be backpackers going missing who had been rendered down for their fat ...
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 610584

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:46

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:46
Hmm...never thought of that. Maybe a very painful way for a few of us to lose weight!
FollowupID: 610585

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 15:35

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 15:35
And the pricing of diesel would become very fishy...indeed once the local fish & chip man gets involved.

I did read this story when they first started out and it is good to see that it is working for them. I guess it proves what can be done/achieved.

But at the end of the day, you've pulled into camp.....decant the wine or the oil? Hmmm pass me the bottle thanks.

Good luck out there.....
FollowupID: 610593

Reply By: Bytemrk - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 22:06

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 22:06
Interesting concept,

We had a bloke come and talk at a club meeting about this.

He seemed to know a lot about it.. but not so much about common rail diesels... (Well not at the time anyway.)

His website is here : http://www.vegiecars.com/

BTW.. not affiliated with this crowd at all... just thought for those with suitable vehicles and time to play , its an interesting idea!.

Biodiesel is specifically listed in my owners manual as a bad idea.... so not so sure I want to risk the dramas.

Cheers, Mark
AnswerID: 342784

Reply By: sdtash - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 23:09

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 23:09
Struth, Now ur 4x4 can end up with clog up arteries as well. At least the beers still safe. Or is it?
AnswerID: 342794

Follow Up By: Rolly - Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 23:37

Monday, Jan 05, 2009 at 23:37
You can always choose to use low cholesterol/high omega veg oil from a fish shop ;)
FollowupID: 610495

Reply By: WayneD - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:44

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 11:44
had a mate in Canberra making his own bio diesel for VW Polo. He used veggie oil from local food outlets. Did tell me he went to a certain outlet who told him "we never change our oil" Didnt tell me the name of the outlet, only that it was in Dickson.
I avoid Dickson on my trips to the ACT.

He was getting 4.5L/100K anyway so dont know why he bothered.
AnswerID: 342825

Reply By: Angler - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:01

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 12:01
If you switch to bio you WILL have to change the filter possibly twice as the bio cleans out your tanks of residual crud. After the changes you may never have to change again.
I have a mate who has run his HILUX from new on bio with no problems of any sort. It has about 30,000 on it now and runs a good distance every day doing deliveries etc.

Pooley

check out http://web.aanet.com.au/bycompass/bio%20fuel.htm
AnswerID: 342830

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:39

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:39
There is an early model Yota short WB in south Adelaide that is using ex fish shop oil. I followed him for about 10 km up South then Kennihans Road a couple of months ago.

The smell of fish and chips was making me slobber by the time he turned off. I was thinking "There isn't a fish shop around here" until the penny dropped.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 342859

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:49

Tuesday, Jan 06, 2009 at 14:49
I knew of a guy who used homemade bio in his 80...one story is of the fuel solidifying at low temps...he had to wait for a bit of sun to start one morning. Apparently it can be cured by running a bit of normal diesel with the bio.
FollowupID: 610586

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 13:07

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 13:07
Hi gang,

A mate in England ran his Disco on new chip oil for about 200,000 kms, before selling it to come to Aust. to live.

Never missed a beat he said, in fact the guy who bought it wanted the vehicle because of the condition of the motor and two plus years later its still running on chip oil. In summer he used 100% chip oil in winter he mixed it with diesel to prevent it setting.

He didn't notice any loss of power either.

Why did he do that - chip oil was 50 cents litre and diesel $2 a litre.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 343049