To the girls out there.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 10:25
ThreadID: 64883 Views:3528 Replies:14 FollowUps:22
Just wondering if there are many females who own and drive their own 4by. I don't see many women drivers on my 4wd outings. I don't know any personally either.
Just curious.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 10:39

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 10:39
Member Loris G is another female owner/driver that I have met. She drives an fire truck red Troopy :)

AnswerID: 343022

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:15

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:15
Jo will smash you for not giving her a mention!!

FollowupID: 610751

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:19

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:19
and we wonder about Sir Kev sometimes. :-)

FollowupID: 610752

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:35

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:35
Stefan,

EVERYONE knows Jo hahahaha

FollowupID: 610756

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:34

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:34
Hi Twinkles,

We girls sometimes let our men have it a bit too much their way and let them have all the fun! When travelling John and I tend to share the driving and change over every couple of hours pretty much regardless of driving conditions. We have both done our 4WD club's excellent driver training courses. Indeed our club has a few female instructors.

There are good reasons for women being able to share the driving, and indeed being familiar with at least basic vehicle operation and maintenance. There is always the (hopefully slight) possibility of an accident or sudden incapacity when travelling, so any problem is compounded if there is not at least a back-up driver. Also when we understand what both the driver and vehicle is capable of we can relax more as passengers and enjoy the trip without worrying needlessly.

That said, driving and camping throughout our magnificent country is just plain good fun so I agree that its a shame more women dont insist on spending time behind the wheel. Perhaps more fellas might encourage their partners to give it a go.

Val

AnswerID: 343029

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:02
Hi Val, I agree with you in fact I think every adult in a vehicle heading out in the bush needs to know the vehicle and be able to drive it just in case, having said that I leave the driving to hubby as he was the worst "back seat driver" but has improved over the years, but I still feel nervous when he is a passenger. I do drive our beast, no problems there, I know it's capabilities and I grew up on a farm so basic mechanics is OK.

Twinkles, enjoy your travels out there, good on you for getting out there and doing what you obviously like.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 610791

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:19

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:19
D,

I agree with your comments as I make a very bad back seat driver when Sam is behind the wheel. I get edgy even when she drives home from the pub LOL

Sam is very capable of driving in 4wd conditions as it is safer to have 2 that can drive than run the risk of being stuck with an injured driver and another driver who is not confident in driving.

To add to that I have just convinced Sam to get her shooters licence as well ;)

FollowupID: 610795

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy (Bororen) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 16:01

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 16:01
Kev,
even if Sam can't shoot she can always hit you with the butt....
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 610802

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 16:13

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 16:13
Dave,

With her eye sight I am pretty safe I reckon LOL

It was more to do with the transportation of the rifles if I am away from home.

FollowupID: 610805

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:54

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:54
Hi Kev, One of these days I will bite the bullet and maybe try Big Red, I will tell Bevan to either sit there and be quiet or walk up himself hahaha.

I learnt to shoot on the farm as well, in fact there wasn't anything much I didn't do down there.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 610942

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:42

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 11:42
Theres a couple of sheila's on here with beards !

AnswerID: 343031

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 18:30

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 18:30
I hope you are only referring to the girly guys!
FollowupID: 610837

Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 20:15

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 20:15
~(8--)
FollowupID: 610881

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:56

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 12:56
Some of the 4wd clubs cater for the ladies, by offering their own 4wd training days so they don't get intimidated by the testosterone in the air.

I found them to often be more level headed and "teachable" than men. These days, our desert trips are usually couples and most of the ladies share the bush driving.
AnswerID: 343045

Reply By: Wherehegon - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 13:14

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 13:14
My wife had driven the old lux with camper on back coming back from scrub a few times, even thou she hated the hilux's steering she still did it. She loves the prado better being auto, more direct steering she can just plant the foot and go, she has driven on stockton a few times and now we have a little one drives it a lot more as she doesnt have to bend down to get bubs in and out, mmmm seems more and more these days Im left driving her Toyota buz box. She wont do any of the real hard stuff thou, she gets a bit concerned when the front wheel/s lift LOL love the look on her face but only once has she ever got out and walked it so no so bad. She still likes her car thou for the shopping centres. WHG
AnswerID: 343050

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:59

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 15:59
Yep i will gloat,
Won a couple of short course rallies with female Navy also. 4 Great Endeavour Rallies, official and up front as Zero car. Some of the photos in our profile are me in action. Last year I had the backup of a Nissan with 4 Sheila's the one at the helm was a QLD rock climbing champion. Were out there, its just when out together as a family he seams to have all the fun, im back seat crowed controller. John is very quick to point out my dints.
Sharon
AnswerID: 343069

Follow Up By: cackles - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:00

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:00
hiya old girl,

I'm curious as to whether I might know you, my partner and father have been doing endeavour for years, check my profile page for a pic.

cackles
FollowupID: 610924

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:48

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:48
Yep Ding. That photo is with the Patterson Brothers.
Sharon
FollowupID: 610988

Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 16:35

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 16:35
Swmbo is out at the moment, but that is her Paj I am snatching out of a alpine bog. LOLBut our son put in in their.
We where up at West Kunderung a couple of years ago, and she was nagging me to do the raspberry fire trail. I really wanted to go fishing, anyway off we go pretty soon the track is barely wider then the vehicle with sheer drop off of hundreds of feet.
Now I admit I am scared of heights and I was feeling uneasy. Half way up it flattens off a bit on a ridge and she says can you stop for a second. Thinking she was needing a tiolet stop(not surprisinglol) I stop and she jumps out and bolts back down the track. I had to go another 6ks or so before I could turn arround. Coming back I could not find her, but finally caught her near the bottom.
This track starts at 180m and finishes over 1000m.
Sal likes 4wding but now cannot cope with heights.
AnswerID: 343076

Reply By: Kiwi and Grenade - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 17:01

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 17:01
Ill put my hand up!!!!

Ive owned (and yes in my name, me the main driver and me the smasherer in the bush) a 1994 soozie, 1989 4runner, 1994 80 series, 2006 navara and now a 2001 pootrol, and proud to say that I can park the buggers anywhere thanks to the practise in the bush!!
AnswerID: 343080

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 17:08

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 17:08
the parking ability includes through a brick garage hahahahaha

FollowupID: 610816

Follow Up By: Kiwi and Grenade - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:35

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:35
like I said - practise in the bsh Kev.....I almost rolled the soozie down 6 stage cos she as popping wheelies and sitting on towball, the 4runner just wennt "disappeario", the 80 series had a great life with me and boy do I miss the old girl, the nav never made it off road with me (but what can you expect with owning it for 6mths!) and the pootrol, well - she is yet to be given a fair go!!LOL!!

as for my shooters licence - well, Ive never needed one!! always done legaly without the need of one!!
FollowupID: 610938

Reply By: Twinkles - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 18:29

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 18:29
Great to hear about all about the girl drivers. I don't have to share my driving with anyone. I love the rough stuff and tow an off road camper (see my profile). Heading back to Dargo again this weekend.
AnswerID: 343103

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 19:28

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 19:28
My daily driver is a 98 Landrover Defender and have done the Simpson and the full circle towing an old 80's van(liftedfor clearance)for 30thousand k's over some of Aust roughest roads eg Tanami in the last few years.I do most of the driving.The little old Hiline van just refuses to fall to bits .
Cheers ,
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 610858

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 19:44

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 19:44
Hahahaha....
Nice try Twinkles.....this was a pick up thread wasnt it?
FollowupID: 610865

Reply By: Member - Linda M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 20:20

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 20:20
Hi Twinkles
We are out there and we love getting out and about the wide brown land. I've got a rodeo 4x4 ute and carry a slide on camper. Been around most of Oz but there's plenty more to do. I have a small group of female friends who enjoy getting out in the bush as much as I do but they don't necessarily join 4x4 clubs and the like.

Linda
AnswerID: 343130

Reply By: Danielle T - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:41

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:41
We own a landcruiser and I drive it as much as my hubby. When we go bush towing our little van, we take turns. I have always felt that the ladies who let their hubbys do all the towing could be setting themselves up for trouble if by some chance hubby is unable to drive home. My mums hubby had a seizure in Broome which left her stranded up there with their van. We Hubby and I drorve up there with our van and he towed Mums van back and I towed ours. This great country of ours is too big to leave this sort of thing to chance.
AnswerID: 343150

Follow Up By: Danielle T - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:43

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:43
Whoops drove. Sorry
FollowupID: 610918

Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 00:17

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 00:17
We have had his and hers 4x4s for most of our married life 33yrs .... hers has been two Subarus, 1x 4runner, 1 Surf, 1 hilux, 1 Landcruiser tray, now..... she has two: Musso and F350 4x4.

Until your post, I hadn't really thought about it much! Meanwhile, I've only had four 4x4 vehicles!

AnswerID: 343167

Reply By: HappyCamper - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 13:28

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 13:28
G'day Twinkles

I'll put my hand up too!! Can never understand women who don't drive the vehicle or tow their van, it's just crazy as you never know when their DH gets crook or has an accident (heaven forbid) and they are stuck!! I've seen it happen many times in my travels and quite often they need to wait for another family member to fly from their home to wherever, just to drive the lady home when with a bit of forethought/planning/training she is more than capable of doing it herself. ;-)

For those ladies who say their husband is a bad passenger and gives too many orders....when he starts, just stop the car and show him the door. He'll never do it again....LOL!!

If I didn't drive the LandCruiser or tow the camper trailer many years ago I would be one of those women stuck at home after the sudden and untimely death of my husband, but instead I have done more solo camping than we did as a family, also due to kids now having their own lives too.

I really, really want to do the CSR and had been planning for a 2009 trip but something else has got in the way and it's on the backburner once more. Would be fun to do an all-female CSR trip in 2010...anyone interested?

Bronwyn ;-)
AnswerID: 343214

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:37

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:37
That sounds like a fine idea. I might manage it, but not this year. Have you done Cape York? I haven't yet.
FollowupID: 611212

Follow Up By: HappyCamper - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:57

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 11:57
Been to Cape York half a dozen times, just love it! Almost moved there to live and work a few years ago. Keep in touch re CSR, I definitely can't do it this year.
Bronwyn ;-)
FollowupID: 611219

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 15:58

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 15:58
Will do. Would love an all girls trip.
FollowupID: 611266

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 21:19

Friday, Jan 09, 2009 at 21:19
My proposed CSR trip for this year isn't happening either.Would definitely look at next year,
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 611317

Follow Up By: HappyCamper - Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 14:05

Saturday, Jan 10, 2009 at 14:05
Well we will have to keep in touch then!! Sounds great!

Bronwyn ;-)
FollowupID: 611413

Reply By: Pebble - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:12

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 19:12
Well the Hilux Dualcab is mine and the 79 series Cruizer Ute is his. But when we're going out as a family etc he does the driving. When it comes to seriously steep off road stuff I'd rather be on my downhill mountain bike, so the car just gets me to the bike trails!
AnswerID: 343252