cheap motor insurance

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 20:57
ThreadID: 64902 Views:2635 Replies:3 FollowUps:8
hi all
going up the s.e. free way out of Adelaide is a fairly steep and long hill . in gq patrol diesel pulling a 18 foot van. watching the water temp as it was a warm day every thing fine then a buzzer in vehicle goes off, momentarily did not know what it was. pulled up straight away then remembered it was the low water in radiator buzzer.
i had this fitted about 2 years a go and had for gotten all about it.
bottom radiator tank had a split in seam and had dumped all coolant.
radiator had clean out about a year ago by radiator specialist bottom tank had been removed for cleaning. might be having words with them ! any way this little device just saved me a few thousand dollars i would highly recommend one. when i told my mate who installed this buzzer an auto elec. what happened he said i should have known it was a low coolant alarm because as a reminder it should have chirpped every time i turned the ignition on. when he checked it he had not connected it properly, it chirps now. i think it cost me $120 to have fitted. very cheap insurance.
al

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:26

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:26
Al, you're sooooo right.....the egine saver alarm is a great insurance policy....there was another thread about it only a week or so ago.

Many of us have fitted them. The sales and after sales service from David Jones is second to none.

No interest, just a great product.

AnswerID: 343146

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:41

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 21:41
Have just fitted one in my 100 ser TD

Also want to fit this but am unsure where the sensor would go.

http://www.kartbay.com.au/p/286804/digital-water-temp-gauge-probe.html

Somewhere other than the top hose I would think, pehaps a tee off the electric sensor or the engine drain tap????????

Any suggestions from experts.

AnswerID: 343152

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:13

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 22:13
Graham, am i missing something here. these guys are talking about a water/coolant detection device, not a temp gauge.
the one your post went to would only work while coolant was in contact with the sender, the other works when no coolant is in contact.
cheers shane.
FollowupID: 610932

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 23:00

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2009 at 23:00
Yes Shane u r

I said that I have one of the loss of coolant protectors AND ALSO WANTED TO FIT THIS

Which is the item in the link

The coolant alarm is excellent but i would also like to keep a closer eye on temps whilst towing a heavy van for the next 6 months or so
As i already have a pod with two gauges in it am trying to get a small one like in the link that i can put somewhere that I can see but it doesnt intrude too much

AnswerID: 343160

Follow Up By: mattjack - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 01:03

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 01:03
G'day Graham,

Check out Scangauge
Just put one in the ol Jackaroo. Displays water temp as well as other handy gauges. I was mainly chasing fuel usage etc, but currently having probs setting that part up.
FollowupID: 610961

Follow Up By: hoffy - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 08:14

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 08:14
I'll second the scangauage recommendation. It gives a very accurate reading, much better than the OEM gauge.
FollowupID: 610969

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:08

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:08
Sorry Graham, I stand corrected. Some days it pays just not to get up.
cheers shane.
FollowupID: 610982

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:18

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:18
Thanks but to those who recommend scangauge.
Would be fine except they dont fit in most 100 series, some petrol models do apparently but I emailed Wooders who sell them and they confirmed they dont fit in 2005 TD landcruisers

FollowupID: 610983

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:21

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 10:21
She's right Shane I have days like that but at my age its Alzheimers coming on i think.
I have learnt to read all posts on here at least twice as some are not written very clearly.
Now what was I writing about

FollowupID: 610984

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 15:58

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 15:58
No worries Graham, I also tow a van of some 1.6 tonnes. I fitted a etg about a year ago and i cant see how people do without them. its quite hard to stay within the recommended temp range while towing. how do you get on?
cheers shane.
FollowupID: 611043

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:03

Thursday, Jan 08, 2009 at 18:03
No probs so far Suppose it depends what u r driving and how heavy your foot is. You shouldnt have any probs with the Rapid.
My Roadstar is 2.8 t so Cruiser gets a bit warm sometimes. Plenty of time so i just slow down a bit.

FollowupID: 611056