Cape York by motor bike

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 13:45
ThreadID: 65283 Views:6466 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
Hi folks.. Had a mate who did cape York by bike in 1981.

A few mates and I are thinking of doing this in winter 2010.

Was wondering if anyone out there has had any experience in doing this. While we know there are tour companies out there doing this, we want to be independant.

The idea is to ship the bikes to Cairns, fly in and then head off.

Any comments, questions or experiences most welcome.

Mark T

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 14:31

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 14:31
What's your fuel range ?

AnswerID: 345215

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 16:26

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 16:26
Fuel range not really an issue as we have a Tojo ute out of Cairns for support!

Mark T
FollowupID: 613204

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 14:42

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 14:42
Friends of mine - girls , have done it twice now but using the organized tours.

We tossed up a lot about either crossing Simpson or Cape York from melbourne and ended by doing Simpson on bikes this (last) year.

We will probably do the cape trip as our friends did, because we have driven many of the few roads in cape york and tours have access to non-public areas.

In doing the simpson we had a few support issues but carried everything we ended up needing.

It looks harder and significantly more expensive to support a cape bike trip from melbourne as opposed to plane and bike option.
The downside of the tour approach for our friends was a tendency to have to keep up with the pack even when tired and a couple of accidents and broken bones were the result on one trip.
I will ensure I go with enough friends to ensure we control the pace of the ride.

The tours often seem to use DRZ400's which I have and is about as fat as I think one should go - on our simpson bike trip we lent a lot of support to other groups on overweight 650's who had significant trouble.

AnswerID: 345217

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 22:29

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 22:29
Hi Robin,
Curiosity question, have you had much to do with DRZ400's?

I've ridden half a dozen or so owned by various mates and didn't like any of them. (Including the one's that'd had hundreds spent on the suspension!)

To be fair I've almost exclusively owned Husqvarna's with very few forays into Japanese hardware.

I like the European approach, the front end to track tight and the rear I can make follow with the throttle.

I always found the DRZ400's the opposite, front was like a pogo stick and the rear I had no idea as I was too scared of the front.

An example, there's an old railway line near were I live, no tracks but a good ride, plenty of whoops. First time I went there my mate borrowed my 610 Husky and rode out along the line with me following.

We got to the exit point, turned and headed down the next rail.

An hour or two later we came back along the same trail, this time each of us on our own bikes. I thought I was doing the same speed on the Husky as I was on the DRZ400, big mistake.

About 30 metres out from the corner I realised I was going to seriously struggle to pull it up in time. (Basically braked the same distance from the corner)

Maybe it's me, maybe it's my preference!

I was after someone else's opinion who may have more knowedge of the bikes.

FollowupID: 613270

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 08:16

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 08:16
Fascinating things bikes Geoff - like you I have number of friends with various bikes and ride a lot of them , and we have set courses for testing etc.
Basically my Drz400 is a dog IMO , but I would probably buy it again as it serves its purpose. Its to heavy, and mostly in the front , I don't ride mine fast and have lightened it and lowered it with lowering links , quietened it by choking the muffler and fitting a steering damper etc.

It however took me across the Simpson without a hiccup using less fuel than the others and had a lot of low down torque which is what I needed, its also the biggest enduro machine you can get on a new license (son got off l plates last friday) and serves very usefully as a shopping cart.

Twice this summer we have run into the law in the bush and it was good to have this quiet bike complete with its indicators mirrors etc.

Mostly I ride my CRF230 around these days because we have a lot of impossible hills and its hill climbing ability is unmatched unfortunately these are not road registerable.

Amongst our friends there are no Huskies - many had KTM's but are moving out of them and the new favourite bike is the KLR 450 enduro which is sort of a DRZ400 but at least 10% better everywhere.

FollowupID: 613289

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 16:28

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 16:28
G'day mark,

A work mate did this trip with a group of friends last winter - had a ball.

They all got to Cairns and took off from there on the bikes. The had one support vehicle - a L'Cruiser ute I think - that was pretty well loaded with gear, fuel and food.

If you need more details let me know and I'll speak to my mate.

Tim - Stratford.
AnswerID: 345228

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 16:43

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 16:43
Hi Tim.. yes some more info would be great if it's not too much trouble.

Many thanks

Mark T
FollowupID: 613208

Reply By:- Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 18:12

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 18:12
Hi Mark,

A mate of my Brother-in-law did it last year solo. If you give me your email or send me one I will forward the email of his trip plus photos for you to look at. This will also have his email address and I'm sure he would be happy to correspond about his trip and any tips he could provide.

Evan
AnswerID: 345241

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 19:31

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 19:31
Yes.. please forward my email.. mark@clayfieldestudio.com

Would love more info.

Mark T
FollowupID: 613236

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 20:10

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 20:10
God I'm stupid.. I cannot even get my own email correct.

Try mark@clayfieldstudio.com

Mark T
FollowupID: 613239

Follow Up By:- Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 20:35

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 20:35
On its way Mate
FollowupID: 613242

Reply By: DesF - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 18:56

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 18:56
Hi Mark , we have done it twice from SA , in 82 ( 4 Bikes) and 89 ( 10 bikes), both times unsupported, we carried everything on the bikes,
First time I was on a XR500 with a 15 ltr tank and carried 5 ltrs on the back , and in 89 I rode my XR600 with a Acerbus 20ltr tank and had no problems with fuel , our longest span was on the Birdville track .
We took 2.5 weeks from here, went straight up thru the middle to the tip and then came down the coast to Mackay and the cut back home thru Bourke and Broken Hill.
We did 9.000 ks and we ran knobbies which lasted the whole trip
I drowned my XR as the first one to cross the Wenlock ( rode where I crossed the trip before but it was washed out ) but now you have a causeway so no probs ,
Wish I was going with you , have a great trip.
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 345250

Follow Up By: DesF - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 18:59
Hi Forgot to say we could get 300ks out of the XR600 riding steadily.
Watch out for hire 4x4s when you get nearer the top.
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 613230

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 19:34

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 19:34
Hi Des.. yes I haven't decided on the bike yet.

I want a new "trail bike" as we old farts still call them.

I really like the BMW 650 G but I also have a soft spot for the Honda Transalp.

Bit of a price difference.. but also want to do some long distance tarmac touring and so the BMW is probably a better choice all round, although not the ultimate pick for this event.

Really appreciate your coments though!

MArk T
FollowupID: 613237

Reply By: mechpete - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 21:11

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 21:11
a mate and myself did it in 1983 Iwas on XT550 he was on XR500 had a F100 as back up . i rode 2 up with my girlfriend up as far as Weipa but her legs cramped up from the swing arm movement so she jumped in the truck .it was an excellent trip
mechpete.
PS, 50 cents / lt then
AnswerID: 345282

Reply By: Member - Jan Z (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 21:19

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 21:19
Hi Mark, I'm one of the girls Robin Miller spoke of. We left Weipa in Aug 2004, rode through some private property, but really most of it was along the old telegraph track. Fuel is available at the Jardine crossing and at Bramwell and Moreton Stations, so fuel isn't really much of a problem as long as you can top up once a day. As I have been told, the trip from Cairns to Moreton Station is really very basic - a bit of bulldust but basically a main dirt road. Once on the Old Telegraph track though it is a different story. Sand, sand and more sand - some softer than beach sand by far. Keeping your speed up is the only way, but you have to be so careful for oncoming traffic. Best to have the 4wd way up in front to warn others.Punsand Bay was our base once we made the tip and that was great. All creek crossings were ok, but that was August, and I heard some had to pole their bikes across in the June/July, so a lot depends on the rainfall for that year. The pole/branch crossings aren't too bad, the only other trouble I recall is the 'ironstones', they are killers. Some like ballbearings, some the size of basketballs and all of them like hitting something harder than concrete - especially with sand pressure tyres. They are definitely a 'what the -----' when hit. Enjoy it, wish I could do it again. Have to set a new record as I was the oldest woman to have ridden the track back in 2004. All the best, Jan
Couldn't ask for any better!

AnswerID: 345286

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 22:10

Tuesday, Jan 20, 2009 at 22:10
Mark,
Your mate didn't happen to hail from Ulladulla did he and own one of the very first Yamaha Tenere's in Australia?

We met two blokes in Weipa around that time who'd ridden that far on a pair of Tenere's, they'd had a ball.

Up to that point in the trip they reckoned Weipa was the hardest as the roads were made from bauxite ball bearings! Roll on the throttle too quickly and it was all fish tail.

At the time the mates and I talked about going back with our bikes and using my then vehcle, a Landcruiser tabletop as support.

For various reasons, most related to marriage we never did.

I worked with a guy several years back who did it with one of the bike tour companies, apparently they had a ball.

They apparently did it early in the new season and the company hadn't received all of their new bikes at that stage. Some of them did the trip on some really well worn last season bikes.

I'd still love to do what the mates and I planned, one day!

AnswerID: 345299

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 09:33

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 09:33
Hi Geoff.. no he was from Brisbane riding a Yamaha XT250... got it across the rivers by laying it down on a single airbed... exhaust side up!

Mark T
FollowupID: 613293

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 13:38

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 13:38
Geoff.. what part of Oz are you in mate?

Mark T
FollowupID: 613316

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 17:09

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 17:09
Mark,
I'm in Newcastle.

FollowupID: 613353

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 17:14

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 17:14
Mate, I'm Brisbane based.

Why don't you consider joining the event. It won't be fast cause I'm an "older, more sensible person" now and will be around 57 when I attempt this trip!

Mark T
FollowupID: 613357

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 22:59

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 22:59
Hi Mark,
Sounds like a great idea to me,

Tell me more at cape_on_bikes@internode.on.net

That email address will exist long enough for us to make contact, then I'll delete it.

FollowupID: 613423

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 11:48

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 11:48
Last august saw a young Japanesse uni student do the OTL on a pushbike , at same time another one doing the track on a honda 110 posti bike , he had fallen off so many times that when he got to bamaga it was straight to the hospital ,got himself patched and turned straight back to Cairns without seeing the "tip" , push bike rider took the boat back as had had enough.
AnswerID: 345341

Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 13:37

Wednesday, Jan 21, 2009 at 13:37
Thanks for that.. very uplifting stuff!

I think a lot of his problems would be do to the choice of bike and possibly his talent (or lack thereof) to ride the thing!

Mark T.
FollowupID: 613315