Whats best/most effective engine oil flush

Submitted: Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 16:20
ThreadID: 65430 Views:4108 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
I have noted over time a few guys mention and praise different engine oil flushes and have even heard of ones so good at what they do that the motor ran rough and churned out heaps of crapola out the exhaust then changed for clean oil and ran like a new car.
So come on please if you have had one that is the dux guts let me know how it went and your experiences as I want to use one in the cruiser (410000) couldnt find what I was looking 4 in a search but It could be just me.
Thanx guys (and gals)

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:00

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:00
Cost Effecticve Maintenance (CEM)

AnswerID: 346031

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:38

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 17:38
Gday Howesy, I think with that many ks on the clock, especially if its running ok, i personally would be leaving it alone. you may remove gums and carbon that make the engine use more oil. One way you can clean it up very slowly and also prolong its life would be to fit a bypass filter to the engine.. Michael.

AnswerID: 346040

Reply By: troopyman - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 19:27

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 19:27
Engine oil works good , it has additives to carry away the soot etc . Flush it out every 5000klms and renew .
AnswerID: 346060

Reply By: Lotzi - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 20:10

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 20:10
G'day Howsie
Look at Sir Kev and Darkie, had an 8/92 GM, CEM, did the job still going strong, cleaned the motor right up. They are in Wacol, Brisvegas.
Lotzi
AnswerID: 346070

Follow Up By: Lotzi - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 20:17

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 20:17
http://www.costeffective.com.au/home_page.php
FollowupID: 614041

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 21:11

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 21:11
From my experience and observations, by far the best/most effective engine oil flush, is to change the oil when said oil is _hot_! .. By hot, I mean at full operating temperature.. A quick run around the block just doesn't cut it! .. and the oil needs to be dropped within seconds (not minutes!) of engine shutdown..

The way I do it is, when an oil change is about due, I plan it so that when I need to "go somewhere" (whether for a day, a week, or whatever), I have everything ready, and drop the oil as soon as I get home.. Immediately the engine is shut down, I'm under there w/- oil receptacle and spanner, and dump the oil...

The reason for this, is that all contaminants are in suspension in the oil, and are dumped with the oil, before they have any chance to settle to the bottom of the sump...
To be sure, there is a risk of scalding (HOT OIL!), and one needs to be aware of this, and take steps to minimise said risk...

I've done all of my own maintenance/serviceing (and several other people's as well) for 40-odd years, and in that time I've never, ever (as in Not Ever!) had a problem with sludge in any engine (or gearbox, or diff) that has been maintained in this manner... (YMMV)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 346082

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 21:20

Monday, Jan 26, 2009 at 21:20
Howesy.
Ed is spot on, Rather than buy some exspensive flushing oil just do it hot and more often. Eric

ed
AnswerID: 346085

Reply By: charlie horse - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 08:35

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 08:35

Why use a flush at all? No vehicle manufacturer or oil company to my knowledge recommends such products.

Oils have to go through very expensive testing to get their API ratings. Additives/flushes don't go through such testing.

A waste of money at best and the potential to do damage at its worst!
AnswerID: 346116

Follow Up By: howesy - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 15:03

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 15:03
Ford do. I had to demand they not use it in my pursuit ute as it retains about 750ml of oil in the oil cooler. they thought me stupid but I would only use it if it can nearly all drain out.
FollowupID: 614143

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 15:06

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 15:06
I change the oil every 7000km. It has the bigger 10lt capacity. toyota said every 10000 but I reckon thats too much. My smaller capacity sumped diesel and my petrol I do at 5000km and filter is always changed at every oil change.
AnswerID: 346170

Reply By: Kroozer - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 04:05

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 04:05
Not sure if its too blame or not but, i recently used the CEM engine flush on my 75 series Tojo and completed a trip of around 2500kms. On this trip it ran hotter then normal, it used oil which it has never done, the oil sender unit gave up and i did a big end seal. I dont think i will be using it again. Cruiser has just done 300,000kms though so i expect these problems, just weird how they happened all at this time. One thing though i think it might be blowing less smoke, though i will check properly.
AnswerID: 346262

Reply By: guy007 - Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 13:38

Wednesday, Jan 28, 2009 at 13:38
My old Massey Ferguson tractor was all sludged up. It then developed a faulty injector while I was slashing the back paddock. By the time I noticed raw fuel dripping from the exhaust elbow it had filled the sump with diesel.. We sorted the problem and changed the oil.. It never has been so clean???
AnswerID: 346330