Mud Tyre Pressures

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 22:54
ThreadID: 65471 Views:2643 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Gidday all,

We have all been there, some more than others, you are bogged to the eyeballs and it does not look good. Should I have dropped my tyre pressures from around 36 to whatever so that I can get across the mud or do I leave them as is so that they can bite. I maybe wrong but I let my pressures down to about 12 psi so that I could float across. Unfortunately this did not help as I was in one of those bottomless bogs.
After we got the vehicle out after a lonnnng time, one of the people that assisted me said that I should have left the tyres at 36 so that the diffs would not bottom out and the tyres to bite.
I am no expert, so what do you do?

Thanks in advance.

Greg
Tomorrow is here!

My Profile  My Position  Send Message

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 23:14

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 23:14
Hi Greg, Hmmm, depends on how deep the real soft stuff is. If you bottom out on the diff or chassis and the tyres have still not managed to bite the bottom then I don't believe that tyre pressure will matter. If the tyres can bite down through the soft stuff then the longer the tyre footprint (low pressure) the better. Sometimes you may find that you can 'make ground' by swinging the steering from side to side so that the side of the tyres can bite the sides of a rut. If you do this with a heavy foot and real low pressure then you risk breaking the bead away from the rim. I don't think that there is only one answer for all conditions however I would generally lower pressure to about 16 myself

AnswerID: 346243

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 23:48

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2009 at 23:48
Hi Greg,
The way I look at it, anything that is driveable can be driven more easily with less air in the tyres.