Towing a caravan across the Tanami Road

Hoping to tow a Jayco across the Tanami Road from Alice Springs to WA, any advice would be most welcome,

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:15

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:15
If it's not an off road designed ....DON'T. There won't be much of it left time you get half way....unless you travel at around 20Kph Max.

AnswerID: 346904

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:52

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:52
Take Doug's word for it ! It is not just another 'dirt' road. It's millions of severe corrugations. Some people manage to get a comfortable ride INSIDE their vehicle by trying different speeds but the undercarriage is still taking an absolute pounding. Even travelling at a slow speed will not reduce the number of corrugations that your trailer suspension will be subjected to.

FollowupID: 615015

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:17

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:17
Carl

The Tanami road is an unsealed road with corregations.

If you took it slow you would make it without any problems. If you rushed the trip you would run a high risk of damaging you van.

Your fuel range whilst towing the van is another thing to consider.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 346908

Follow Up By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:41

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:41
Thanks for that, we intend to take it easy, the van has been on quite a few dirt roads, with no probs, my reseach tells me the Tanami is a reasonable dirt road , maintained and has fuel available, my normal range towing is approx 650 to 700 k's @ 90 k's per hour, we will have a spare 50 litres of petrol , so one fuel stop should be okay.
FollowupID: 614999

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:52

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:52
"....my reseach tells me the Tanami is a reasonable dirt road , maintained....."
Unfortunately your research is wrong. At each it's like a 4 lane dirt freeway (heavily corrugated) but after the mines & communitees turn off it fades away to a minor track in places. A standard van of any brand is certainly not suitable & I'd even be hesitant to take a Jaco Outback as their suspension is fairly ordinary for that type of terrain. Sorry if it's not the answer you were looking for.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 615028

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:09

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:09
Road: Certainly the area around the Granites mine in NT, and around Coyote mine in WA were reasonable, and the first 40 kms from Hall's Creek end was undergoing some realignment as was mostly quite good.

The rest of WA section looked like it hadn't seen a grader in 10 years or more by the size of the plants growing along what had been the edges. These were no longer the verge, with side tracks where people had been trying to get off the corrugations which were now equally as corrugated. There were also areas of wash damage across the road - when did it last rain there? These would really do damage if hit at more than crawl speed.

The majority of the NT was just another NT inland road - with varying degrees of corrugations - but it is a long way without relief, so damage sustained is very different to a short trip on a corrugated road. After Tilmouth Wells RH towards Alice there are a few patches of narrow bitumen.

Someone said about the Tanami - "As soon as you drop your guard on a good patch, something will come and bite you."

Fuel: Maps and brochures say Rabbit Flats is open seven days during tourist season - don't believe it. It was all locked up and totally unattended when we called in. I noted that Diesel was $2.72 / litre on the bowser. Apart from a couple of primitive looking bowsers in the Aboriginal community of Yuendumo, there is no other fuel between Halls Creek and Tilmouth Well Roadhouse - the latter being the most we paid for fuel on the entire trip at $2.51 / litre.

All the same, it is an interesting drive, but i don't think as scenic as the 'long way round'.

Mh

FollowupID: 615046

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:32

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:32
Hi Carl

We took our Bushtracker through the Tanami last year. The only other caravans we saw in the four days were one single axled Windsor (surprised to see that one bouncing along) and one Kedron Top Ender (fair enough).

We debated changing our plans when we heard a number of off road vans had come to grief in the weeks leading up to our trip. One couple rolled their BT while travelling slowly when they hit a patch of bull dust; their Kimberley holiday terminated before they got to there. (I've heard of a similar incident happening almost every year.) Broken springs seem a common occurrence. Cost of recovery is extreme if you need to get towed or trucked out.

Would i do it again? Yes, but only with a top of the off road market van. Will i do it again - no, because we have too many roads we haven't been on still to be travelled.

AnswerID: 346911

Follow Up By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:12

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:12
thanks
very much appreciated
FollowupID: 615008

Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:49

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 16:49
Hi Carl,

I wouldn't unless you know your van can take a pounding. The road can get pretty corrigated and destroy you van.Check out a picture of the time my mate and I went down the track with his camper. His was pretty heavy duty as well as he made it himself.

CheersImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 346913

Follow Up By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:15

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:15
Wow!!! did he forget to bolt the axle on?
FollowupID: 615009

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:10

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:10
Can we put our orders in?

;-0
FollowupID: 615019

Follow Up By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 21:11

Wednesday, Feb 04, 2009 at 21:11
Hi guys,

The mounts cracked and as you can see the whole axle came off!!! Talk about an experience. He welded it up in a few hours and we drove to Darwin without a hitch. I am sure he would be keen to "build one" for you ;)
FollowupID: 615765

Reply By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:23

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:23
Carl
This is what corrugations did to my 2000 model "Outback" Jayco. I also had added a stronger suspension. It lasted 4 years. What you see in the 1st pic is the rear nearside of the camper looking from behind. I have other pics showing how the undercarriage was completely destroyed. Image Could Not Be Found I would be reluctant to take a Jayco anywhere near the Tanami.Image Could Not Be Found

teege
AnswerID: 346918

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:33

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:33
You can't get much better evidence than these photos Carl.

Take the long way round.

FollowupID: 615024

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:31

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:31
Teege, you fail to mention what caused that serious impact on the rim, and what the vehicle speed was at the moment of impact, and most importantly, where on what track/road??
Expert advice needs to be specific.
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 615057

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:17

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:17
Fred
The collapse took place on a very good stretch of dirt road between Hamilton Station and Dalhousie. As you can see no dramas in the road. I put it down to metal fatigue and the whole kit and caboodle collapsed when I hit a slight bump on the edge of the road to avoid a puddle. I was only doing about 40kph.Image Could Not Be Found

teege
FollowupID: 615139

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:25

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:25
Cheers teege, not a good feeling is it ? I lost a wheel off a boat trailer with my 15ft half cab on tar once....not good...and have been ever so vigilant when towing ever since :-)
Cheers from Fred
FollowupID: 615142

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:50

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:50
Carl, sorry to tell you this, but up that way there is a nick name for your brand and it is ..........
"JUNKO, open the door and sweep up the staples".

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 346931

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:41

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:41
Peter, that's a very harsh statement for someone starting out on outback travels with their pride and hard earned joy, while you're sitting in your supposedly ivory tower...sorry mate, can't help but feel you're gloating.
Please justify your comment regarding "Junko".
FollowupID: 615060

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:56

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:56
Maybe Fred, but Peter doesn't need to 'justify' the nickname they are called by caravanners all over this land. You can't tell me you haven't heard it before.

If Carl truly is starting on serious outback travel with his Jayco, it will most likely be a very costly exercise for him.

Mh

FollowupID: 615066

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:04

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:04
Doesn't he????? The post was not about makes of caravan, but suitability of taking one across the Tanami. I have Lived on that track, under all conditions, not just one brief encounter. What makes you a brand specific expert?
FollowupID: 615069

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:10

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:10
Fred, my comment was aimed at the nickname - not one either Peter nor I invented. Neither do i see Peter 'gloating'.

If you have lived along the Tanami, you would know of the costly recoveries that take place. Carl may not have known. He has asked, and received good advice from the collective experience of ExplorOz members. A good place to ask such a question.

Meanwhile from his replies, Carl has listened to all the advice he has received, and is leaning towards not taking the risk.

Mh

FollowupID: 615072

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:22

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:22
MH, since you have taken on the responsibility of answering for others, I shall talk to you. Carl asked a Q and got various answers. I am not here to direct him to the best/correct answer, I don't know!!!! but so many on here seem to think their view is gospel, when it most certainly is not. LOL
FollowupID: 615075

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:35

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:35
Hi Fred

True, he asked a question and got a variety of answers, all based on people's experience. Who are you accusing me of answering for???? No need to answer, because i have spoken only from my own experience and knowledge. I answered each time because your reply came directly under reply, not directed to anyone else's name - on my behalf - not 'for' anybody else.

You tell someone else they are being harsh with their words. Now you are saying some people think their view is gospel (an unkind accusation to say the least). I haven't read that between the lines in anyone's answer - how come have you have read their thoughts and come to that conclusion?

Time for some of that Cheers and Beers?

Mh

FollowupID: 615079

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:52

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:52
MH...wow...LOL....:-))...
No time for cheers or beers here at present, maybe later!!
Anyways, will be picking your brain for our trip west soon. LOL
FollowupID: 615082

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:57

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:57
Have a cool one Fred :)

Mh

FollowupID: 615083

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:10

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:10
I think from the replies you get the idea !!!!!

You can do any road / track with any type of van / CT if you drive to the conditions.....but as some roads / tracks are very ordinary.....your speed may need to be very slow !!

You stated 90K's ???

Some of these tracks may need 40K's !!!!!....or less ??

The middle of Australia is an adventure.....not a test of man and machine ?? That was 80 yrs ago....
AnswerID: 346941

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:43

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:43
Gronk.......Thank you...:-)) All that is required is CDF (most ex ADF personell willl know what that means).
FollowupID: 615081

Reply By: Bushed-Tracker - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:37

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:37
Carl,

A while ago Bushtracker ran an R&D trip across the Tanami. Now Bustrackers are pretty tough vans but they posted advice that it appearred that any maintenance had stopped and the corrugations were EXTREME - advised owners to give it a miss.

Draw your own conclusion and after the advise above I guess you should be prepared for a costly recovery. It will certainly be an adventure

B-T

AnswerID: 346944

Reply By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:52

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:52
Ok....ok I get the message.... thanks to everyone that has replied...looks like I'll give it a miss!!
AnswerID: 346946

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:21

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:21
Firstly Carl, welcome to the members lounge, I see it is your first day as a member (correct me if I am wrong).

It has been a looooong time since I did the Tanami so my info is way outdated and I would trust other responses so far.

Maybe try a few other not so isolated treks and sink your teeth into these to get a feel for your setup and start working out what you and your rig's capabilities are. Make sure you can do plenty of roadside repairs with necessary tools and spares before you start taking a van into remote areas. Once you have a thorough understanding of your van and what you need to do to "baby" it through particular conditions I would suggest pretty much all major dirt roads would be doable, Tanami included. Just don't do it before you are ready to fix the unexpected and you are confident in your van making it (experienced view here is critical).

Safe travels,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 346949

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:26

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:26
NOT suggesting that your Jayco is suitable, but the Gary Junction Road going west from Alice is probably (usually) a better road.
It certainly caries a lot less traffic, and that is what makes roads crook.
Pics on the link below for 2005 and 2008.

OKA196 Motorhome
AnswerID: 346952

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:52

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 21:52
P & M when was the last time you travelled the Tanami?
FollowupID: 615065

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:02

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:02
Hi Peter

I am thinking the Gary Junction road this year - but my husband thinks a holiday on the bitumen might be a nice idea after last year!

My rough plan so far is Gary Junction via Telfer and Pumnu, then Stuart Highway and the NPs along the way, then follow Savannah Way east. Maybe even to the tip of Cape York. Trouble with the bitumen, even if the scenery is good, is that there are droves of other people on it.

Mh

FollowupID: 615068

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 23:09

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 23:09
MH

We will be doing the Gary Junction Road from well 33 to Kintore then south the SBJ road in may june this year, hopefully I write up a story this year.

FollowupID: 615087

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 23:17

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 23:17
Hi Richard

We're looking at (well i am anyway) leaving mid May and spending a week or two with son, d.i.l. and baby at Wickham, then heading out (haven't told boss Rooster yet), so we may be a couple of weeks behind you - if we go that way.

Mh

FollowupID: 615090

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:21

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:21
Fred G, we have used the Tanami 2 or 3 times, but not for some years, so I have not offered any comment regarding its current condition.
From the remarks by others however, and those that I have spoken to it does seem very likely that the Tanami carries a lot more traffic than the Gary Junction Road (and probably always has done) AND is a more taxing route.
We drove west from Alice in May 2008 and saw a total of 7 other vehicles from memory (in 2000km). 5 of those were locals (ommodors, Falcon, Coaster bus) and 2 were 4x4 tourists with camper trailers.
There are some corrugated sections, but generally it is not too bad.

Motherhen, you should take in Carawine, then veer south a bit via Nullagine, Marble Bar, Shay Gap, Tichila..........

Richard, you will enjoy the SBJ road. Nice country.

OKA96 Motorhome
FollowupID: 615236

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 18:13

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 18:13
Hi Peter

I looks like we have 'almost' crossed paths a few times. I note you were also in Tassie around when we were.

I thought of doing taking a loop while were at Wickham last year to take in Nullagine and Carawine, but we ended up by staying put. We were dog sitting, although could have left her for a few days with the neighbour. We have been to the GNH via Shay Gap from Marble Bar before; a lovely drive. As we are getting a bit off track here, i will talk to you about this if we decide to go (i.e. if i can convince he who must be obeyed) nearer the time.

Mh

FollowupID: 615260

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:38

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:38
Happy to share Motherhen.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 615285

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G NSW - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 18:07

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 18:07
Thanks, Peter. I'm keeping my ear to the ground to compile info for a proposed 2010 crossing east to west.

Fred
FollowupID: 615426

Reply By: Member - Mark - Exmouth WA - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 23:30

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 23:30
Carl,
did the Tanami last September and my advise is dont tow a van along the Tanami it is far too rough, and once again a person asks a simple question and it degenerates into chest beating segment, have to wonder at the mindset of some people on this forum.
AnswerID: 346967

Follow Up By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:25

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:25
Thanks Mark
thats all I really wanted to know, great start for me on the Forum and my 1st thread, I lived in the Pilbara back in the 70's when it was all dirt roads and towed a van over some of the worst roads imaginable, I have been 4wdriving since 1973 and travelled in some very remote parts of Aussie, one thing that I learned is always drive to the relevant conditions, and never had a problem.
You live in a part of WA thats has many happy memories for me.
Thanks to all those that have replied again (good and bad)
The Jayco has served us well so far and there are plenty of them on the road so they can't be all that bad.
FollowupID: 615104

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:36

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:36
Carl,

As others have said. Did it in 07 with just the vehicle and it was rough. Decided on the long way round last year as we had a couple of campers and our shocks were already shot from the Mitchell Falls Road. Buchananan/Duncan through Top Springs wasn't a bad run but also might give the Jayco a bit of workout.
Suprised Willie hasn't commented on this one as I believe he also did it last year.
AnswerID: 346987

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 18:18

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 18:18
Yes and Willie told me DON'T so we very nearly didn't go that way.

mh

FollowupID: 615261

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:57

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 08:57
I have towed a Jayco up and down the tanami a few times and never had a problem except for smashing the back window on the canopy of the ute. Well actually two, but thats another humourous story. People will bag Jayco's like they do Nissans etc and people do stupid things on dirt roads or any roads for that matter. Anyway the simple rule is, It is not what you tow that matters, it is how you tow that matters.
We used to live out there so travelled the road umpteen times and apart from a few punctures never had an issue. Sure there are corrugations, and plenty of them, there severity varies due to traffic, grading, weather etc. Travelling speed also has an effect on the ride and it is a fine line between too slow and too fast. That point is even harder to find when towing. I remember traveeling from Billiluna to Halls Creek and we were towing another larger Van back in and the first 40kms, to the Carranya roadhouse, took us over 2 hours! After that we picked up the new graded line and picked up the pace.
It can be done but road conditions need to sourced from a reliable source a few days before embarking on the trip. The reliable source is the hard thing to find and what I think is OK may be horrendous to you and superb to someone else.
Anyway I have towed the Jaycos on worse tracks and roads than the Tanami and haven't swept any staples out yet. I have repaired a broken hinge and draw runner. Everytime I stop I check out the trailer and vehicle for any signs but so far all has been well. So I tow with a GU and tow a Jayco so I am doomed but will I perish in the outback? No because I have a bit of common sense and sometimes I even use it.
AnswerID: 346991

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 09:06

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 09:06
Here,here !!!
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 615110

Follow Up By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:26

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 11:26
Thank you so much for a very sensible answer, I used to drive a Patrol and tow the Jayco, now I have a Prado and wished I'd kept the Nissan, O we live and learn!
I don't want to be a hero or bleep , just wanted some advice from this amazing site without the abuse, I will make an informed decision when we leave Alice.
thanks again
FollowupID: 615143

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 12:02

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 12:02
Hey Carl.

Ask a simple question hey.

I took an on road camper trailer and turned it into a pretty tuff off road capable camper.

I got a great deal on a camper, it wasn't what I wanted but I was able to make it what I wanted quite easily, It came with slipper springs and a 45mm axle with 13 inch wheels, It now has 1400 kg rated springs eye to eye type, It has a 2.2 tonne rated axle, this axle uses the larger bearings, it also has 15 inch wheels on it as well, I also carry a stub axle with a spare bearing and hub, just in case.

All to often people rely on a 45mm axle and Ford or Holden bearings pushing a 4wd wheel, the stub axle will break over corrugations, A simple up grade of springs and an axle rated at 2 tonne using the larger bearings will do the job nicely.

I towed my camper down the Strezlecki and up the Oodnadatta track last year without a problem, that was 1100 km of constant corrugated road.

My advice is if you are properly prepared, you CAN do what ever you wish.

Have a great trip and enjoy yourselves.

Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 615153

Reply By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 12:12

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 12:12
Anything is possible. I towed my offroad trailer across with my two teenage kids and wife. I had a canoe and four bikes and lots of gear... all this pulled by an 1800 Subaru '84 model.

The road was very rough. 1996.... The battery shook out of its bracket and caught on fire. A pin broke in a rear wishbone. I punctured three tyres, got bogged in a creek bed...

One of the best trips of my life.

Go slow, pick your path, take heaps of recovery gear and spares.... could work out okay!
AnswerID: 347033

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 14:13

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 14:13
Funny isn't it. What appears to be a mis-adventure at the time ends up being the adventure of a lifetime. The trips that have a problem encountered or something to overcome are the ones that we remember and cherish and the others end up being non-events and we barely remember them.
Like you say it could work out OK but then it may not but you'll never know if you don't give it a go.
FollowupID: 615178

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:32

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:32
Very true AJB.
As ignorant beginners we did trips tht I would never advise others to do now.......
We got away with them, survived and learned.
It is a state of mind and provided you take reasonable precautions against death,what is the worst that can happen?
You loose a few $$$, miss a few days work (?) and learn a few things and come home with some great stories!!!

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 615243

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:45

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 17:45
Last July we did a Tanami crossing with a Jackeroo towing 80's Jayco camper and Defender trailing a 87 Hilite pop top.
Took 5 days with an r&r day at Rabbit flat and also a trip into Woolfe creek crater.
Don't know if the older equip was built stronger but we sustained little damage-
Frig door fell off in jayco-easily repaired
Wall mounted fire extinguisher fell off inthe van-just one of those cheapo ones attached by a couple of self tapper screws
The road is indeed a shocker and one must travel accordingly.
Over the whole trip we averaged 32kph so it was of necessity at times painfully slow.
Would I do it again?Probably not but it was a great adventureand one of life's memorable experiences!
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 347103

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 19:54

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 19:54
We towed a tandem Jayco Outback Destiny the Tanimi from WA to Alice in July last year. It was rough and took us 4 days of solid driving. The worst of it was in Wa where there was not only corrugations but very large holes caused by trucks driving on it while it was wet. We hit one of these right on dusk about 12km short of the border as we couldn't see it in the shadows across the road. We couldn't get off the road as it was to steep for the van. Broke one of the leaves on the Patrol ute suspension but still managed to get it into Alice no worries. No damage to the Jayco at all. Wouldn't do it again as it was very rough and there are much better drives to do. We also did the Strezleckie, Oodnadatta and the Great Central. Already making plans to do the GCR again as it was superb. They're tougher than people think.
AnswerID: 347130

Follow Up By: Member - Carl S (VIC) - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 14:31

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 14:31
Thanks again to all those that have responded
FollowupID: 615380

Reply By: Juan- Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 09:25

Friday, Feb 06, 2009 at 09:25
Bloody long thread. Forget the roads buddy it's the kids that are tough on caravans and camper trailers. I notice Nobody mentioned tyre pressures ? We would often go a low as 22psi ( cold ) regardless of weight both for the car and the van our eagle out back has survived two complete laps and three kids not bad for 15k buy price. And we are off the the Cape in July just drive to the conditions sounds simple but it is easy to stuff up I know i have
AnswerID: 347779

Reply By: Member - Richard H (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 07, 2009 at 16:38

Saturday, Feb 07, 2009 at 16:38
Took a single axle Roadstar across about 8-9 years ago. No problems, though a Roadstar is much heavier than its equivalent Jayco.

I found the road O.K. to the Granites, from there to the border is was rough, and from the border to Hall's Creek it was bloody terrible.

I took it easy and did the trip in three days. No blowouts and I made sure that I dustproofed the van as well as I could.

Only problem my wife, by accident, let the fire extinguisher off. How she managed to do it is still beyond my comprehension.

Had no problem with fuel. Rabbit Flat was closed, but we filled up at Yuendamu, and chucked two jerries (40 litres) in at the WA Border.

If you want somewhere to camp at Halls Creek you might try Caroline Pool. It's on the way out to Old Halls Creek. Check with the coppers. We never stay in Halls Creek period.

There is some nice country out that way. Plenty of good campsites.

Oh, yes. I now own a Jayco too.
AnswerID: 348020