Generators and Televisions

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 17:19
ThreadID: 65575 Views:3975 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
Just got a cheap Woolworth generator which is a two-stroke and will only be used on a relatives property. The grandkids advise me that TV reception is available (another missus conspiracy I feel)

My impeccable Honda had a two "phase? knob that allowed DVD/TV/PC's to be used without drama. Lowered the Hz or something.
So, does anyone know if "Chinese oil burner" 650 - 850W can be used to fire up a flat screen TV without damage?

Cheers

Seakarvan
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Cram - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:16

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:16
Mate, I am no expert and I am sure you will get a reply from someone who knows more then me but I would be apprehensive about using the "chinese oil burner" to run anything valuable.
AnswerID: 346925

Reply By: disco driver - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:17

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:17
Hi Seakarvan,
Electricals is not part of my expertise but one thing I DO know is that the cheaper versions of generators are DEFINITELY NOT compatible with electronic devices like flat screens etc.

How can I be so emphatic about this??

I did what you are proposing and my flat screen TV went R*t S**t when I turned it on.

IMHO it is not worth the risk.

Disco.
AnswerID: 346926

Follow Up By: Seakarvan - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:24

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 18:24
Great News Disco,

That means the bloody Genny/ TV can stay off!

Seriously mate, your experience has taught us both a lot

Thanks

Seakarvan
FollowupID: 615021

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:32

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 20:32
Hi
Do you intend to use the generator connected to a battery??
AnswerID: 346942

Follow Up By: SPIRIT GYPSYS - Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:26

Saturday, Jan 31, 2009 at 22:26
IMHO I would definitely not run any TV or similar unit off one of the cheap gennys.