Isn't it funny how soon we forget what happened last year............

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 19:52
ThreadID: 65618 Views:3726 Replies:12 FollowUps:36
I am talking asbout the warm weather, which happens late January to mid March every year

Today at 7pm CSDST it is stil 40°

2008 We had 10 days of 40° heat here where I live in the Southern Flinders Ranges 538 metres above sea level. 'Twas then when we decided to buy two airconditioners. The media went to town in Adelaide exclaiming record heat levels (just about the real birth time of the Climate Change debate)

2007 I measured 14 days of 42° plus. We nearly expired. Had to move the beds away from the walls as the metre thick stone walls were hot to touch!

2006 We had two days over 35° through summer

2005 We had no days over 35°

2001 I recorded 48.6° in the shade under our back verandah!

BUT THEN in winter...........................

2005 Minus 10° for three days running

2006 Minus 8° for a number of days. Pipes burst, icicles everywhere

2007 A few days of Minus 5°

2008. Not that many days below minus 5° but in August we had six weeks or thereabouts where the daily temperature did nor reach above 8°. Plurry cold!!! I swore that I would not spend another winter here....lol

It's just another one of the weather cycles that we experience in our life time. Drought and extreme temps in the south of the Continent and mobs of rain in the north!

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 19:58

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 19:58
Willem,

You have mentioned the temps but what about the rainfall ;)

We have had about the same amount of rain this year as we had last year. Last month we had 220mm same time last year was about the 200mm mark.

AnswerID: 347131

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:42

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:42
Hahahahahahaha, very funny Kev, RAIN !
Whats that?

Pesty
FollowupID: 615287

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:44

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:44
It is that wet stuff that falls from the sky to create humidity LOL

FollowupID: 615290

Follow Up By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 14:05

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 14:05
Sorry Kev, still not with you

Wet stuff that falls from the sky ...
FollowupID: 615379

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:06

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:06
Hi Willem, Not all that UNNY mate! (HAHAHAHAHA) Some like it OT!! some like it cold!!, Me Spring on the Central Coast NSW Is just the best Time. Bloody Hot over here to mate!, and shocking humidity. Aircons running full time! MORE MONEY!!!...LOL

AnswerID: 347134

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:19

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:19
Then there's the march flies, and the earth tremors.

You could be here -

The water is still rising.Peterborough never looked like that!

AnswerID: 347138

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:02

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:02
Don't you believe it Motherhen! The Borough has had a metre of water through the Main Street on a number of occasions.

It will cycle this way again one day :-)

FollowupID: 615308

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:07

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:07
Was that in the big melt after the last ice age Willem??

Mh

FollowupID: 615311

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:09

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:09
Hmmmm yer on something as well???
FollowupID: 615315

Follow Up By: bushy04 - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:41

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:41
Motherhen is that a caravan on the smaller of the bridges?
It is quite a photo, vechiles at each end level with the timber line.
Regards Bushy.
FollowupID: 615320

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:51

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:51
It looks like structure at both ends - i haven't been there. The photo doesn't have a very high resolution, and was borrowed from an ABC website where people display their pics of current topics.

Mh

Who doesn't believe it has really rained in Peterborough for years

FollowupID: 615322

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 09:44

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 09:44
Bushy04 + Motherhen . each end of the smaller bridge has a roofed over shelter with benches ,rubbish bins ect , small bridge is not part of the H/way and is used mainly as a fishing platform.
FollowupID: 615342

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 11:59

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 11:59
Thanks for the clarification Axel

Mh

FollowupID: 615358

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:17

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:17

Peterborough Floods
FollowupID: 615371

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:25

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:25
And
2007 rain

and
more

Want more...just Google it :-)

FollowupID: 615373

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:45

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:45
Unreal, Willem. 1941 must have been something to see. What is the average rainfall? You have certainly picked a place of climate extremes.

Mh

FollowupID: 615376

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 20:18

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 20:18

The official average rainfall is 300mm per year

My measurements show:

2008 249mm
2007 375mm
2006 240mm
2005 371.5mm

Mainly winter and spring rains although they don't always come at the right time for the wheat growers!

FollowupID: 615453

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 20:29

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 20:29
Around 12" in farmer language - not a lot. Probably still suffering low rainfall to counteract the dunking in 1941!

SA is an amazing state; much of it desert or semi desert, yet people are still farming.

After the cool days, suddenly last two days here have been hot, and it's heating up more, so any relief we can send your way will be short lived, if it gets there.

Mh

FollowupID: 615457

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:35

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:35
To you both how many pints to the inch?
FollowupID: 615466

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:37

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:37
POINTS.....
FollowupID: 615467

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:42

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:42
Hi Richard - Glad you corrected your typo! 100 if my memory bank is wokring in this dreaded heat.

Mh

FollowupID: 615469

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 22:05

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 22:05
Mh you win money in the post.. ;-)

found this as well BOM

FollowupID: 615476

Reply By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:20

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:20
I can remember back in the 60's, only a young fellow then, living in Barcaldine CWQ look it up hahaha we had this old mattress we put out in the yard to sleep on as the house was to hot to stay in.
When it got relay bad the old man would get me to put the sprinkler on the roof so as to cool the house down. Did not know the temp could not afford a gauge hahahaha. We use to get these huge dust storms. Now they have been getting good rain for a couple of years now so where does climate change work here bloody BS

Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 347139

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:41

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:41
Here here Bruce,
I agree that it has gone way too far already, sure we have made some stupid decisions about the way we treat our back yard, and yes we need to straighten up our act, but i also remember school in the 60's, weeks at a time over 100deg, no A/C, 7 classes in one room, one teacher doing it all, and the nearest thing to cool was a drink fom the rain water tank, iron tank outside in the sun?
This was in the Adelaide Hills, not in the desert!

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 615286

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:09

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:09
We use to get these little bottles of milk, gee it was good in winter hahaha but if I had my life back I would not change a thing. We coped ok didn't we. But we were young hahahaha
Pesty I love my cold winters here down to -6 after living in the tropic most of my life.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 615293

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:35

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:35
Willem
Why not send an email off to the most incompetant Polly the useless ill informed jump on the band wagon tuppence Wong, and oh wow is she wong , I'm sure she could explain all the Climate change BS to you, and of course Baldy would back her up...
It makes me wonder why there was so much snow down south around Orange last year, Daughter sent some pics, sent chills up me spine it did,

AnswerID: 347143

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:44

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:44
like to check out her kitchen Doug bet it not all green hahaha
FollowupID: 615289

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:40

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:40
Nope, the climate change forecasts are right on the button. The wet bands are all moving south as per the warming models. The top end of Oz is getting warmer and wetter while the rain bands down south have been pushed further south leaving the south warmer, and drier. Snow in an area means zilch, the only thing that counts is averages on a global scale. That's the difference between climate and weather.
FollowupID: 615304

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:19

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:19
Yeah Climate Change is there alright. Has been there for Eons. Its not something that Al Gore or Penny Wong thought up 5 minutes ago. Everything in this world changes constantly.

Not sure if the weather is related to your model Mfewter as the proponents say that the change will be there by 2050 or thereabouts. We have another 41 years to go gradually.

Maybe in 5 or 10 years time you will be able to cry victory if this is the case. Methinks that we are just going through another cycle and have been since the time of the Big Bang.

Next time the Big rains come to South Australia all the hooha about the drought, global warming et al will be forgotten.

FollowupID: 615317

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:46

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:46
Willem, of course it's true that climate change has always been there. But that misses the key point which is always overlooked by those that argue against the data. It isn't the fact that it is changing again, but the speed of change that is the critical factor. Change at the current rate is unprecedented, apart from times where there was an impact event, or something similar. Where this happened the results were catastrophic. We are getting changes now that (in geological time terms) approaching impact events, but without an impact event type cause. Where change happens at this kind of rate, the Earth's biological systems can't adjust and we have major extinction events. And our species with its reliance on energy and agriculture is looking very vulnerable.
FollowupID: 615321

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:59

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:59
Mfewster
Do you really understand what an Impact can do. I think you should visit my Impact webpage, have a look at the huge amount of research I have done on the subject over the last 6 years and in particular read the section right at the bottom of the page , then look for the report about Manicouagan in Quebec, another good read too is "The Day The Sands Caught Fire" actually good 4x4 part in it too, both down the left side

Impact webpage

FollowupID: 615323

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 07:22

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 07:22
Doug, indeed I do understand what an impact event can do, I have been fascinated by them for a long time. And I have read and appreciate the info on these events on your site. You of all people should therefore understand the significance of the current changes. In geological time, a few hundred or a thousand, years are no more significant than the instant of an impact. What we have in place are changes that will have consequences similar to an impact because they are taking place at a rate (in geological time) that doesn't allow the Earth's biological systems to adapt. Incidentally, this year's southern state heatwave and drought is especially interesting because it has happening in a non El Nino period. Yes, we have had cycles of this type of weather before. In this part of the world they have usually been linked to the El Nino cycle. This being part of the low El Nino cycle, we might expect the droughts to have broken and to be having a cooler wetter period. Perhaps, relatively, this is a cool wet period down south. Should be real fun in SA when we enter the dry El Nino period again. As I am sure you know, the El Nino cycles run around 11 years and appear to be related to the sunspot cycle.
FollowupID: 615333

Follow Up By: Breakerman - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 08:02

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 08:02
I think Doug T. is right. I'd rather take his ideas and sources seriously than that stupid, arrogant and misinformed majority of the world's scientists. There must be something in it for them, I reckon. Probably on the take from someone. I' m sick of experts. Know alls!!!
Breakerman.
FollowupID: 615335

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 08:30

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 08:30
I was reading somewhere the other day Mfewster that the first health warning about cigarettes came out some 400 years ago, yet even today millions still put there familes thru hell before they move on ahead of their time.

FollowupID: 615337

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:56

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 20:56
." Had to move the beds away from the walls as the metre thick stone walls were hot to touch! "

In jail willem ??????
AnswerID: 347153

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:05

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:05
Twit
FollowupID: 615291

Follow Up By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:25

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:25
After 25 years as a screw in SA I remember the cells facing west in the Adelaide Gaol used to get very very hot and after a cool change the high walls used to stop the air from getting in to cool the cell walls. One day I nearly felt sorry for them but I controlled myself before anyone noticed!
M.

http://www.adelaidegaol.org.au/
FollowupID: 615301

Follow Up By: austastar - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:42

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:42
Imagine what the Freemantle gaol must have been like.
It is a long tall narrow building lined up along the N/S axis.
Maximum sun exposure in summer, minimum in winter.
FollowupID: 615375

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:19

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:19
WARNING WARNING Climate change thread WARNING WARNING :)

AnswerID: 347157

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:00

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:00

Arrr yer a funny bugger!!!

FollowupID: 615307

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:16

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:16
At last, true recognition - now to convince the wife of the same fact.

FollowupID: 615316

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:57

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 21:57
Gday Willem
I think that you are very lucky to be able to remember what happened 3 days ago.
We have had a cool change here in Dandenong.I'ts 23 deg.
Look after your self.
Murray

AnswerID: 347168

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:07

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:07
G'day Mate

Mebbe you and yer youn 'un should lay off the turps for a while to yer memory back...hahahahahaha

I am staying cool

FollowupID: 615312

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:12

Sunday, Feb 01, 2009 at 22:12
Thats un called for Willem.I havent had a drink since 7 pm,,i think!!
Murray

AnswerID: 347170

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 08:32

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 08:32
morning all
well here in cloudy ulverstone tassie we have had a couple of light showers after leaving sunny vic yesterday and a bit of a rough ride across the briny i awoke early this morning as the dog was disturbed as he had only heard the sound of rain a couple of times before and i had to show him again what was making the noise agin on the van roof
it has been quite awhile since it has rained on our van

climate change bah humbug as willem says another cycle
AnswerID: 347199

Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 12:14

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 12:14
......and here in Birdsville the third flood has reached 7 m this a.m. the temp at 9:00 pm last night was 40 and today it's still 40 and the humidity is 40% - cloudy and steamy and I have just finished vacuuming for one hour because of millions of insects which swarmed inside the house this time, not just outside around the windows. Looks like a mosquito but isn't - small and grey and doesn't bite. Collected a sample to send to the Health Dept. in a charter plane that's coming in today instead of MACAIR.
The cycle is just the same here - the rain doesn't come - the floods do come - the birds come - the snakes and centipedes come before the flood - the sandflies come as the water goes down and up - the only thing new is these funny insects.
Everyone is well and safe so things aren't too bad. Gosh I'd like some fresh milk for my tea........ (and fresh beans).....
AnswerID: 347226

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:10

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 13:10
Hello Ruth

41° here again and rising

3.5mm rain since 1 January

Insects in house including spiders. One bit me last night but I have obviously survived...lol

We are all looking forward to Sunday and 25°. Hope the weather people get it right this time :-)

Take care

FollowupID: 615370

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:00

Monday, Feb 02, 2009 at 21:00
AnswerID: 347308