Landcruisers - HZJ75RV or FZJ75RV??

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 10:52
ThreadID: 65884 Views:17690 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Hey guys,
Looking for a vehicle to tow 3 ton and came across this all time favourite landcruiser.
Im looking for information on it, and thought u guys would be the best to answer for it.
-Whats is the difference between the HZJ75RV and the FZJ75RV???
-For this landcruiser to be able to tow 3 ton am i definitely ONLY looking at the long wheel base model?
-Is there a difference in towing capacity between the troopy or the tray model?
-How does the 4.5 diesel drive? is it a rough drive or smooth for a diesel?
-How are these 4.5 diesels on high km's, because its getting a bit hard to find one with low km's.
-Is it true that only the '96 and up landys can tow 3.5 ton?
-What is the turning circle like? I currently have a rodeo and the turning circle is the worst...

I really appreciate your time guys, any answers will be great!
Thanks again
Bonz

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:04

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:04
HZJ75's are a 1HZ 4.2 overhead valve diesel
The FZJ75 are a 1FZ-FE 4.5 twin cam multi valve petrol

Personally I prefer the petrols, the petrols will idle off in second gear just like the diesels, are cheaper to service and have a bucket load more power than the sluggish diesel.

In a troopie or ute you can have a huge LPG tank and the main 90lt petrol tank as well if you want to go dual fuel.

Both motors are good for over 500,000km if treated right.

They are both rated the same AFAIK.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 348567

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 12:55

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 12:55
why are they cheaper to service? they might take a bit less oil but thats where the difference in what gets done stops
FollowupID: 616772

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:04

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 13:04
They take less oil, and the oil is alot cheaper. The oil filters are generally cheaper and usually the service intervals are 10,000km not 5000km like the diesels. The Diesel fuel filter is usually replaced more frequently and it is easy to get a "bad batch" of diesel.
Plugs every 30,000km are cheap and leads every 100,000km are cheaper than pump and injector servicing.
Valve adjustments are the same on both.

So for my money I would still (and do) have the petrol.

I have done commercial 4wd tours all over Australia and prefer the petrols to the diesels that I've owned.
Economy wise, there is a difference but on whole of life operating costs the diesel breaks even with the petrol at around 250,000km. That takes into consideration the purchase price new as well.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 616775

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 17:50

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 17:50
not sure about the 75s but certainly the service intervals for the petrol and diesal 79s is the same
fuel filter intervals are the same
FollowupID: 616813

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:07

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 11:07
Bonzee,

HZJ75RV is a 4.2 diesel
FZJ75RV is a 4.5 petrol

The tray model has a longer wheel base than the Troopie but neither would be classed as a short wheel base.

Both vehicle would have a towing capacity of 3t.

The 75 series have the performance and turning circle of the Queen Mary.

AnswerID: 348568

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 12:51

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 12:51
Thats right 96 and up...
AnswerID: 348578

Reply By: gjcumming - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:31

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 15:31
Hello Bonz.

I am a 1999 HZJ75RV Troopcarrier owner. I tow a 1500kg GTM pop top caravan. On flat & windless roads the vehicle tows fine at posted speed limits. However on hills and in head winds it struggles significantly. It will pull 3 tonne, but the driver will be stressed out doing it. The turning circle is equivelent to shoulder to shoulder on a single carrageway road.
Regards: Grant
AnswerID: 348602

Reply By: Bonzee - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 18:12

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 18:12
thanks for the replys guys!!!
Tour boy, when u say the petrol has alot more power, how much are we talking?
and is it the same power in terms of torque/towing?

Also i found a tow bar on the hayman reese website and there is a towbar for a Land Cruiser LWB Troop Carrier (E) '96 and up rated 3500kg's?
is this the one?
Wayne, im not sure what you mean by 'performance and turning circle of the Queen Mary'. Had a good laugh though.

gjcumming, you reckon it struggles with 1500kg? Why is this when it has a rated towbar of 3500kg?

Thanks again guys....i really do appreciate this.
Bonz
AnswerID: 348621

Follow Up By: gjcumming - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 20:13

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 20:13
Hello Bonz.

A vehicles rated towing capacity for a trailer fitted with brakes is based on the vehicles braking system and braking ability, not available power. The tow bar load rating equates to its mounting and structural design.
FollowupID: 616838

Follow Up By: Bonzee - Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 23:30

Wednesday, Feb 11, 2009 at 23:30
Hay gjcumming,
i understand what you mean.
so do you think this isnt the vehicle for me? in terms of towing a 3 ton boat?
FollowupID: 616890

Follow Up By: gjcumming - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 10:10

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 10:10
Hello Bonz.

I guess if you are not routinely dragging the boat thousands of kilometres it will do the job for you. Just don't expect to keep up with the traffic.

I towed a 2 ton 20' tandem full caravan for years with a 1984 Landcruiser Troopcarrier with a 4 litre 2H Diesel 4 speed under the bonnet. Just let the traffic past when you can & don't stress about it.
FollowupID: 616931

Follow Up By: Bonzee - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:19

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:19
Grant
no, not massive long distances...but sometimes i do have the urge to hit the waters up north...

I have a rodeo towing a 2.5ton fully loaded boat...i kno all about sluggish and letting traffic past...i just cruise anyway...with the size of the boat u cant be weaving through traffic anyway.

bonz
FollowupID: 616941

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 10:02

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 10:02
Bottom line is that the diesel will tow 3t, but it will do it very slowly and with some significant difficulty on hills.

I have a 1HZ diesel in the wagon (HZJ105R) and tow a camper which weighs in at about 1t loaded for a trip. On the flat, no problems, but once I hit the hills, it's very slow and would be much worse with triple the weight.

THe benefit of the diesel is the fuel economy versus the petrol. Towing my 1t camper I average about 14l/100km (Melb - Perth), whilst the petrol would no doubtedly be significantly worse, BUT it would have more power and would tow the load much more easily.

You really need to try both out and see what you can put up with in terms of power and fuel economy.

If I was planning to tow this sort of weight, I think the ideal combination of power and fuel economy would be with a Toyota FACTORY turbo, either in the Wagon (100 series), the ute (HDJ79) or the troopy (HDJ78), unless you budget sould widen to the new V8 diesel models which would kill everything else available. But we ARE looking at big $$$$$$$$.

AnswerID: 348698

Follow Up By: Bonzee - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:22

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 12:22
hay Mark E

ok im hearin u with the fuel economy and sluggishness, so both have there bad sides...
but im not to fussed in terms of power to economy wise with the petrol....what im worried bout though is that does it have enough torque for hills and boat ramps as the diesel would??

but yes money is a major issue....thats pretty much why im looking at the 75 series or the land rover 110.
just in my price range with the abilities that i need.

bonz
FollowupID: 616942

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 13:14

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 13:14
Previously, I had a 200Tdi Landrover Discovery and I once (and only once) towed a VERY heavy tandem trailer full of bricks. I don't know what is weighed, but I certainly would NOT tow anything heavy for long distances with that motor. Whilst it is very frugal and genuinely reliable, it is very underpowered off boost and the heavy trailer was very hard to get going on even the slightest of hills.

3t with the 110 defender would be worse than the 75 series with the 1HZ and I've had both.

I MAY end up putting a turbo on my 1HZ at some stage in the future, but not until I can afford to do the WHOLE job properly with an intercooler, exhaust, boost compensator, larger capacity radiator, and proper tuning. Given this I will just have to accept the shortened life of the motor and be ready for it to cr@p itself after a couple of hundred thousand k's.

Good luck with the decision-making. It aint easy with limitations on the $$. An unlimited budget would be easy.

Cheers,.

FollowupID: 616949

Follow Up By: Bonzee - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:57

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 16:57
So u reckon the defender wouldnt even be close to doing the job that the 75 series can do?
-By the way the work i want out of the vehicle is pretty much to tow a 3.2 ton boat and use it for work (mechanic). so pretty much carrying tools and parts.

So when u mention the 1HZ engine, are u talkin about the diesel engine for the 75 series? (sorry im just learning all of this now)

and do u know if there is a difference between the diesel and petrol with torque power from towing?

So youve had the 110 and the 75?
Whats your opinion on them both? Because im finding it really hard to decide.

Thanks again bud.
bonz
FollowupID: 616984

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:49

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:49
I have had the following:

1978 BJ 40 SWB Landcruiser (B engine 3.0l N/A diesel)
1984 BJ 74 MWB Landcruiser (3B engine 4 cyl 3.4 N/A diesell)
1992 HZJ75 LWB Troopcarrier (1HZ engine 6 cyl 4.2l N/A diesel)
1992 200Tdi Landrover Discovery (2.5l 4 cyl turbo/intercooled)
2002 HZJ105 Landcruiser (1HZ engine 6 cyl 4.2 N/A diesel)

The Troopy, Wagon and Ute with the 1HZ motor will typically be similar in their ability to tow as all are rate with the same power, allbeit with slightly different weights.

The Discovery has the same engine as the Defender 110 and that is a 4 cylinder 2.5l turbocharged intercooled diesel and I don't think a 4 cylinder car of any description is really up to the task of towing 3t+. They simply don't develop enough power down in the rev range. I would cross the Defender off your list unless you could afford the later versions with the 5 cyl turbocharged intercooled motor as they would perform better at this task, but again, more dollars.

If I were doing what you are, depending on budget, I would either buy a petrol version (which will use more fuel) or save up my coin until I could afford a FACTORY turbo diesel model such as the 100 series or if you prefer a ute or troopy such as a HDJ78/HDJ79 series which has the 4.2 litre turbo charged engine from factory. It is a ripper of a motor and would do what you ask. You will however pay more for cars with this engine as they are more sought after.

Another good place to do some reading on this subject is the lcool forum. There is a thread going on the benefits or not of the petrol v diesel debatehere

Hope all this helps.

FollowupID: 616997

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:51

Thursday, Feb 12, 2009 at 17:51
May also be easier for others to give advice if we had a bit of an idea on your budget....... it may either open some other opportunities or close some off!

C

FollowupID: 616998

Follow Up By: Bonzee - Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 10:11

Friday, Feb 13, 2009 at 10:11
yes that is alot of help Mark,
thankyou.
The petrol 75 series sounds like the one for me i think...
i dont mind the extra fuel usage.

My budget im lookin at is around the 20g's mark max.
FollowupID: 617078