Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 19:46
Troopy(SA)
Hi there,
I am interested to find out how others use a high lift jack to lift the rear wheels on a troopy.
With the front wheels, I think I can get a bracket which attaches to the bullbar (ARB) and will allow me to lift with the jack, but not sure about the rear wheels,
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:08
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:08
Hi Troopy, not quite the answer you want but...
Hi-lifts can be VERY dangerous. I have seen a couple of 'almost' disasters so I don't use them anymore. I carry an air bag as
well as a hydraulic jack and a pair of plastic camper levelling ramps. If my Troopy gets a
puncture I use the air bag to start the lift and then add the hydraulic jack with the top wound out. This allows me to reach the right height to change a wheel. I am now carrying an axle stand and intend to do the dbl lift using the stand and the hydraulic jack.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:24
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:24
why dont you just use the jack behind the
seat to change tyres? always been the easiest way
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:52
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:52
Hi get outmore,
Unfortunately Troopy jacks are so good they are often 'lost' at vehicle sale time. It's surprising how many people I have met who are using off the shelf hydraulic jacks that do not have the stage height that the original jacks have.
Follow Up By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:59
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:59
***Hi-lifts can be VERY dangerous. I have seen a couple of 'almost' disasters so I don't use them anymore.***
I tried my first one in the carport about 8 months ago on concrete to trial it..Gee i could see the danger straight away,Although the ARB base plates look good to stabilize the jack..
I dont take it at all...I'll wait till i need it and it will be at
home,then i'll take it for next time and probably never use it..
Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 00:10
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 00:10
yes warfer as part of my vehicle inspections i would have to
test the hi lift so i would jack up a wheel in the
carpark.
as soon as a wheel lifts the car becomes unstable which is why ive been carrying on about using them to change tyres.
when bogged this is not a problem as you are stuck.
In my
pic further down we actually used the instability as part of the recovery, pushing the ute off the jack which enabled it to get the traction it needed to clear the log
Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:08
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:08
G'day, there is a device that slips over the rear axle hub and the hight lift jack fits under that. Made in
Trafalgar Vic, can't think of his name at the minute. Have one at
home, but won't be there till Saturday at the earliest. I am sure some one else will have the info as
well. If you are planning on getting one,
mine will be for sale shortly.
Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:45
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:45
Yep, that's what I use. Fits front and rear hubs of the Troopy.
Here's the link:
http://motorcare.com.au/jacadptr.htm
Glenn
Follow Up By: Member - Robert M (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:03
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:03
Hello
John,
That would make changing a wheel a bit hard.
Makes the standard jack a bit more appealing.
Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 09:14
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 09:14
Thats what I use and then place an axle stand under the diff then lower the highlift and remove the bracket to remove the tyre. It takes a bit longer to do the job but it may be one of the safest ways.
Reply By: KiwiAngler - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:20
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:20
If you go to you tube
Hi Lift Jack videos
You will find an entire series on how to use the Hi Lift
Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:37
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:37
those brackets in bullbas arnt really the best things to use for hi lifts - making things more dangerous than they need to be
because you are using a bracket on the bull bar it means you are starting jacking from 50-60 cm (more if you have lift) then there is
suspension travel - about 15cm with leaf springs but double that for coils
now a normal hi lift has about 100cm of jacking capability but youve already used 65cm and possibly 90 cm of that on
suspension travel and a highjacking point
this means any work you will be doing will be using the very top of the jack and may even require boarding to lift the jack. - no wonder people say they are unsafe
a hublifter uses a low jacking point and imediatly starts lifting the wheel making things safer and importantly far more effective
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:47
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:47
I agree that a hub lifter is great for getting out of or over an obstacle not much good for wheel changeing.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:49
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:49
no and neither should it be - changing a wheel with a high lift isnt smart.
A high lift is a recovery tool, the jack behind the
seat will do a much safer job for changing a wheel.
Reply By: Chaz - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:49
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:49
Hi Troopy,
Unless you have a rear bar with built in receivers, you’ll need to make something up to do it. No good lifting from the hub if you need to change out a wheel and you can’t lift from the tow ball receiver because it will be unstable if both wheels lift together.
I made this bracket up after seeing something similar, but it may not be good for you if your tow bar is too narrow. It works
well on the wide tow bar of the Patrol and I’ve used it a few times very safely. I pin the jack to the bracket which raps around the tow bar, so there’s no way it can tip over.
Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:51
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 20:51
thats 3 posts about changing wheels with a hi lift - sheesh no wonder people think there dangerous
they-are-a-recovery-tool
Follow Up By: Chaz - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:05
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:05
With the 100 series, the factory jack was too long to get under the axel housing with a flat tyre and too short to lift the body. The only option was a sizzor jack or a high lift. I’d rather not be crawling around under a jacked up 3 ton vehicle.
Not dangerous at all if used sensibly and on flat ground with a suitable accessory.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:37
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:37
More than a recovery tool. High Lift Jack is a very useful multi-purpose tool - for me, its a beadbreaker, winch and 2nd jack. But like the airbags, snatch straps etc etc, it can be dangerous or lethal in the wrong hands. The golden rule is to never get under a vehicle supported by a highlift. I only ever lift one wheel at once. With my mags, I can't use the wheel lifters.
Mine will lift any wheel without reaching the top of its travel. But if I want more stability, use a fully inflated spare with jacking plate inside it as the base.
When repairing
suspension I like two spare tyres under the towbar or chassis for safety. And as Chaz has mentioned, there are times when a bottle jack cannot be safely positioned under the axle and you need a highlift to make a start or change a tyre.
Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:38
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:38
I wouldn't crawl under a vehicle jacked with anything, that's what axle stands are for, and why would one need to crawl under a vehicle to change a wheel.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 00:16
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 00:16
chaz- came accross a guy like you in a 100 after leaving phil G to head East along the transline while i headed west.
the nong was trying to drive up onto his spare becasuse he said the jack wouldnt fit under.
I took over for him before he hurt himself or wrecked his spare
trust me the standard jack will jack up a 100 if you use the correct jacking points as on the sticker on the jack
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:01
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:01
I made up my own solutions to make the high lift jack stable.
Front: I have the Toyota bullbar, and cut two "T" into the bullbar:
Rear, I welded up hilift jack points out of 50x25x3 steel (with a slot) that bolt to the chassis - you might be able to do something similar to the troopie.
Reply By: Troopy(SA) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:12
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 21:12
Thanks for all the replies - I was considering the high lift jack for recovery rather than changing a tyre so the type of bracket to slide over the wheel hub looks like what I was looking for.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:29
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 22:29
I carry a Trolley Jack for lifting wheels.
My Hi Lift is only for use on the trailer in case the jockey wheel is troublesome.
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 23:08
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 23:08
you can use a LIFT MATE - Designed to provide a lift point from most wheels for quick and easy lifting
Bushranger
It is item B
I have used this before and it's excellent
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 23:44
Wednesday, Feb 18, 2009 at 23:44
I own a Troopy and would not go bush without a highlift jack.It is mainly a recovery tool and can be dangerous if used incorrectly.I have two jacking points welded to the two bar frame which holds the jack safely.My front bull bar is flat at the bottom so the jack can be used without slipping, but if not cut outs or additional jacking points should be installed.I have got out of a couple of
well bogged situations with the jack where a winch would have been the alternative.Remember some basic safety points when using a high lift jack:
Make sure you buy a reputable make as I have seen some dodjy looking cheapies.
Never try to lift the vehicle from center rear or center front
Beware of lifting to the highest level
When using the "up /down " lever make sure the handle of the jack is in the down position
While lifting or lowering do not lean over the handle--stay clear and operate the handle from the side.
Make sure the base plate is a level as possible on something firm so when you lift the jack is as vertical as possible.
Only my experience, others may have different
views.
Follow Up By: downtools - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 09:22
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 09:22
g,day Rambler,
I've owned and used a high lift for many years (30) and i thought if the handle was down when you moved the "up/down" lever the handle would fly up and break your jaw?
I always leave the jack handle in the UP position, then it can't flick up under it's own steam.
Maybe I misunderstood your post because you do seem to know what your talking about.
I think we need to be very careful giving advice on how to use a potentially dangerous recovery device. A "newby" could follow that advice and miss 1 or 2 crucial points and hurt himself or others.
Didn't mean to rant!
Cheers nifty
Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 13:47
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 13:47
My Apollogies
As "downtools" correctly said the handle of the jack should be in the UP position before moving the "up/down" lever. To make it even clearer the handle should be parallel to the main upright of the jack. Downtools thanks for pointing out my error which was not intentional---just a seniors moment.
Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 10:04
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 10:04
G'day Troopie
I have a HiLift jack and have not used it much until I bought the lift mate accessory.
It is magic ! It fits steel or aluminium wheels. I there is a high crown in the track or there are stones that do not allow a bottle jack to to be on a level base it is the answer.
First lift the wheel high enough until the tyre clears the ground then extend the bottle jack and place under the axle housing jack pad then remove the Hilift then exchange the wheel and drop the bottle jack.
The Hilift with the Liftmate lifts the wheel not the body and it is safe.
Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 10:14
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 10:14
G'day Troopie
I have a HiLift jack and have not used it much until I bought the lift mate accessory.
It is magic ! It fits steel or aluminium wheels. If there is a high crown in the track or there are stones that do not allow a bottle jack to to be on a level base it is the answer.
First lift the wheel high enough until the tyre clears the ground then extend the bottle jack and place under the axle housing jack pad then remove the Hilift then exchange the wheel and drop the bottle jack.
The Hilift with the Liftmate lifts the wheel not the body and it is safe.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 11:38
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 11:38
I've got one, but after a few trips it now sits securely in the shed.
It weighs a tonne and has limited usefulness (at least for the type of travelling I do).
For the equivalent load, I'd rather take an extra jerry of water.
Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 14:38
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 14:38
Bloody hilift is useless on a troopy . The troopy is damn heavy and there is never any jacking points . I put side bars on but the car is so damn heavy .
Reply By: RobAck - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 16:48
Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 16:48
Hi-lift make an attachment called a wheel lifter which is attached to the lifting foot of the jack and allows you to raise the vehicle enought to fill in a bog hole etc so you can regain traction. Equally you can use the same tool and a bridle for lifting the front of a 4WD but you must be trained. A hi-lift in
well trained and experienced hands is a very useful recovery tool. In the hands of someone who has never had the benefit of one-on-one training its an accident waiting to happen.
NEVER use a hi-lift or exhaust jack for wheel changes as both are incredibly unstable and pose incredible risks.
We train our clients how to safely use on but rarely if ever carry one as a recovery tool. Why? Because there are safer ways of effecting a recovery.
RobA