Need help charging trolling batteries "On the Go"

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 20:40
ThreadID: 66112 Views:2322 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
I would like to charge my boat trolling batteries from the alternator of my outboard. I have a 12 volt cranking battery that is charged from my outboard. I have two 12 volt batteries connected in series to run my 24 volt trolling motor. What type of setup do I need to charge my trolling batteries from my outboard? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Madfisher - Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:00

Thursday, Feb 19, 2009 at 21:00
I am not an expert in this area, but I think your problem is that outboards do not have much charging power and would struggle to charge three batteries.
cheers pete
AnswerID: 349942

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 09:12

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 09:12
On our trailer sailor we had an outboard that had connections to charge a battery. Put out 10 amps from memory, and we ran some cables to the battery. Read the instructions for the motor? (I know, silly question). We topped up the battery with solar when under sail.
AnswerID: 350016

Reply By: oldtrack123 - Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 12:59

Friday, Feb 20, 2009 at 12:59
"miguel266 said
I would like to charge my boat trolling batteries from the alternator of my outboard. I have a 12 volt cranking battery that is charged from my outboard. I have two 12 volt batteries connected in series to run my 24 volt trolling motor. What type of setup do I need to charge my trolling batteries from my outboard? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks."
Hi
Depending on amps available , you should be able to put some charge into your troll bats.
However some precautions are necessary..
You will need to arrange the troll bats in parallel ie pos tp pos & neg to neg.