"crush nuts" ....do they have another name?

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 14:49
ThreadID: 66165 Views:18743 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
I call them crush nuts, but can't find any reference to them on Google etc.

The things I'm referring to are small threaded "things" that are used as a captive nut in panel work. I had them on my last GU...they were provided as part of a kit for a fold-down table that was bolted on the inside of the large barn door. They were used as a method of being able to screw a retaining lug onto the top of the panel which was needed to be able to retain the table in the upright position.

What happens with these "crush nuts" (or whatever their real name is), is that you insert them into the hole of the panel and then proceed to do-up the bolt that fits it. As you do it up tight, it causes the "nut" for pull in and hold it in tight position on the panel; never to be released again.

If anybody knows the correct name and/or where I can get a few of these, it would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 14:55

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 14:55
G'day, Rochie.
I used to use these at work some years ago!
The ones I used were called "Nutserts" and were installed into sheetmetal panels with a tool like a pop riverter.

niss42
AnswerID: 350238

Follow Up By: TassieD - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:01

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:01
Yeah we called them "rivnuts".
FollowupID: 618528

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:00

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:00
They sound painful :-))

As niss said above "Nutserts"

AnswerID: 350241

Reply By: Member - Niss42 - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:14

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:14
Roache.
This is the tool :-
http://www.shopwiki.com/detail/d=Nutsert_Hand_Tool/

I do recall installing some by hand, using a bolt (same thread) and a steel washer.

niss42
AnswerID: 350242

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:15

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:15
Thanks, you blokes are bloody brilliant!!!!!

Very much appreciated.

AnswerID: 350243

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:39

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:39
Geez Bill you lead with your chin mate

FollowupID: 618532

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:41

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:41
Hi Roachie
TassieD is right. Its called a RIVNUT . A cylindrical nut with an internal thread. Works like a pop rivet and has an internal thread. Google Rivnut.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 350247

Reply By: joe99 - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:56

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 15:56
If you go to
Blackwoods
and do a search for "nutserts" you should find info about setting tools and kits

joe99
AnswerID: 350248

Follow Up By: joe99 - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 16:01

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 16:01
Looks like my attempt to insert a link did not work.

Anyway the page to go to is
www.blackwoods.com.au and use the "product locator" on the left hand side of the screen

joe99
FollowupID: 618535

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 16:57

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 16:57
and another type

The link is Look here mate...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 350257

Reply By: Member - peter C (VIC) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:56

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 17:56
if you are using them on timber they are called 'tee nuts' and should be available at any decent hardware store.i have them in 1/4 and 5/16 and 3/8 thread size . if you are stuck i will be over your way end of next week and could bring you some peter
AnswerID: 350274

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:30

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:30
Thanks Peter, I have some T nuts already and have used them in the past, but the purpose I need them for now is on panel work.

Specifically, I'm wanting to insert them in the holes of the inner front guards of the Patrol that are used to hold the rubber flap that stops water etc getting from the wheel arch area, up into the motor. The originals are held in by plastic lugs that break when they are removed. Thought it best to insert some sort of nut that I would be able to forget about once it's there.
FollowupID: 618574

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 19:58

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 19:58
Hows it going Roachie,

I did the same job but used pop rivets with a washer protecting the rubber from the rivet, this has lasted a year no worries .

Maybe an alternative ?

Glenn.
FollowupID: 618779

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:07

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:07
Sorry Crazy, but they're not the ones.......
AnswerID: 350275

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:26

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 18:26

this is them
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 350283

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:47

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:47
Fair nuff!!!

Yes I have some of those in my workshop as well but missed the question...Ho hum...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 618592

Reply By: chisel - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:54

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 19:54
I couldn't find these at Bunnings the other day. Do they stock them?
AnswerID: 350301

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 23:44

Saturday, Feb 21, 2009 at 23:44
You won't find nutserts at Bunnings...

Blackwoods and maybe some specialised nut and bolt suppliers..
FollowupID: 618644

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 00:24

Sunday, Feb 22, 2009 at 00:24
A good range to be had at

Aerobolt

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 350334