Submitted: Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:08
ThreadID: 66754 Views:2415 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
Or is it my paranoia showing again

A question of trust

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:16

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:16
Well mate, the way I see it is if you ain't done wrong they won't bother you.

Unfortunately we have an element in our society that believes it is Ok to take other peoples property, life and trust. So good luck to the authorities and hopefully they'll find a way of apprehending more of em as time goes by.

AnswerID: 353554

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:30

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:30
I agree, if you have'nt done any thing wrong why worry, the more out there the better,maybe just maybe we can go about our business without the threat of idiots and criminals stuffing up peoples lives.
FollowupID: 621689

Reply By: donks1 - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:22

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:22
G'day Troppo

Already in use here in NSW... Instantly checks rego, licence of owner and outstanding warrants / fines
You'de be supprised how many cars get pulled up.

You'll see the camersa on side of road and 100 mtrs up the road are the chase cars

Donks1
AnswerID: 353556

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:27

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 09:27
Hiya Mate

Say the camera picks up 3 known to police people out of 10...I cannot see what they can do with it as far as yes we know that he is a crook but what if someone else borrowed the car with a clean record.What a waste of resources,probably could hav put two cops on the beat for a year..

If they pick up unregistered cars well thats a bonus i guess..

I like the other night on A Current Affair the police acting as truant officers (about bloody time) but they should employ truant officers and let police grab drug dealers,pedeophiles etc etc..

If the young ones dont know what they want to do in life @ 18 instead of the dole you go into the armed services for 2 years until you work it out...

Rambling on lol

AnswerID: 353557

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:17

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:17
Warfer,

Apart from population surveillance ... traffic cameras and the like are a revenue action.

You almost had it right with your comment "If they pick up unregistered cars well thats a bonus i guess"

Its actually...... If they pick up a criminal, well thats a bonus.

Unregistered doesnt always make it dangerous, unliicensed doesnt always mean a danger ... just tax evasion .....

Its a sad country when people with a broken tail light or a factory supplied inaccurate speedo ... get more policing action and expenditure than grannybashers and street corner drugdealers.

Income from traffic revenue is one of the big 4 ... tobacco, fuel, and alchohol ... oh and maybe Telstra makes 5 .... LOL
FollowupID: 621701

Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:33

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:33
Oz Troop

"Unregistered doesnt always make it dangerous, unliicensed doesnt always mean a danger ... just tax evasion ..... "

Its also un-insured

Not dangerous just a PITA if they hit you

Donks1
FollowupID: 621707

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:37

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:37
Totally agree Donks1 ....

Its the general assumption that ALL are insane drivers or rusting death traps that I find misleading .....

Makes for good reasoning to spend a fortune on fancy cameras instead of proactive policing though .....
FollowupID: 621710

Follow Up By: Tim - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:36

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:36
Oztroopy,
Granny bashes, thieves and kiddy fiddlers are the scum of society. If they have are going to commit these crimes, do you think they are going to register their cars and have licences?
FollowupID: 621730

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:07

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:07
Hey Tim,

Apart from your justified disgust of those individuals ... Im not sure where your comment is leading.

A registered vehicle would attract less police attention than a non registered one ..... but its rego could be used to place the driver at the scene of a crime .... therefore a speed trap camera is beneficial ... unless the vehicle is stolen or the plates changed.

An unregistered vehicle could .. perhaps .. attract unwarranted attention during a crime but also provide subterfuge for the driver .... With no address or owner details - a speed trap camera is useless unless the vehicle is detained by police somewhere else by chance.

In lots of cases .... the incidents I referred to are carried out by individuals on foot without a motor vehicle ..... Maybe the idea of the electronic chip behind the ear ... as mentioned below ... would be a better "policing" method.
FollowupID: 621739

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:00

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:00
Think they're trialling them here in Brizvegas as well. Seen some unusual looking cameras set up on tripods along the South East Freeway the last few days, 4 of them. No plod in sight though...
AnswerID: 353560

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:01

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:01
Hi John,
I saw them yesterday too. They look like noise monitoring devices to me, just a non technical guess though.
Mike.
FollowupID: 621765

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:08

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 15:08
You could be right but they looked like a low light capable (infrared?) camera to me....
FollowupID: 621766

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:03

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:03
MrBitchi , the new ones to look out for are a bright orange box that looks like a slightly larger version of the Energex underground power box outside houses in underground power estates , the orange box is fully portable and contains a radar and camera system , designed to be used inside roadworks areas , testing has been going on at various sites throughoutBrisbane for some time , legislation for there use by traffic control companies is on the cards ,,
FollowupID: 621783

Reply By: Honky - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:10

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:10
Anyone with only Third Party insurance on their car who has been hit by an unregistered uninsured drive at fault should be really pleased that this technology is being used.
Off the top of my head I think the number of unregistered cars on the road is about 10%
This is not revenue raising as such as most likely if the cannot pay rego they cannot pay the fine.

Honky
AnswerID: 353562

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:25

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:25
And this brings out the other side of the arguement ......

Whilst I agree with your point ... it would be interesting to know how many of those vehicles ... the 10% ... have been the cause of an accident ??????

Not defending here .... just wondering whether the financial burden to taxpayers of electronic surveillance ... actually netts a value result ... for those paying for the system. ?????
FollowupID: 621704

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:38

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 11:38
I'm all for all sorts of electronic surveillance, great tool for the Police and other law enforcement agencies.

I can't wait till we all get a Micro Chip implanted behind our left ear.

FollowupID: 621732

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:08

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:08
Notso I'm looking forward to it too.

I think Centerlink, RTA, Aboriginal Housing Corporation and the Apple and Pear marketing board as well as the local library should be able to track and monitor you too.

That way if you are a day late returning a book you could be sent an electric charge thus forcing you to do the right thing.

Because all this would only be used by totally trustworthy public servants who never make mistakes it will be totally safe.

Human rights and civil liberty not to mention privacy consideration won't come into it!!! I like it.

I have one question though, why the LEFT ear?
FollowupID: 621740

Follow Up By: Honky - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:13

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:13
If you do an internet search you will come up with a lot of accidents involving unregistered vehicles.
It seems that unregistered vehicles goes hand in hand with PCA, Theft and underage drivers.
The RTA would only put it down as "Cause of Accident - Speed" anyway.
You only have to look at some of the serious deaths in the NSW recently and a high percentage of vehicles have been unregistered.
So if using the detection equipment as a profit centre it would most likely run at a loss if you exclude direct cost to innocent parties and the death they cause.

Honky
FollowupID: 621741

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:51

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 12:51
Hey again Honky,

This is one of those threads where causes and reasons are important ....

This shows you know what I mean ... "The RTA would only put it down as "Cause of Accident - Speed" anyway." ... never mind the obysmal road conditions/design, wildlife or the behaviour of other roadusers as factors eh.

Whilst unregistered vehicles may figure prominantly in a variety of situations ... Its the demeanour of the driver that makes an inaminate object like a vehicle, part of a situation.

Whats the most important factors to be dealt with ??? The fact that someone is a drinkdriver, a thief/whatever or a kid who needs a flogging for playing in traffic ......... or that the vehicle is unregistered ????? ...... and maybe even where should money be spent to deal with the REAL issues.
FollowupID: 621750

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 13:21

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 13:21
Yeah well I want the Right Side left for the "Wet Interface" where modules can be plugged in to enhance various aspects of your brain, for instance if you want to go out and party you'd whack in a 18 Year Old module, if you wanted to be suave and sophisticated you'd whack in a 65 year old etc!
FollowupID: 621753

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 13:25

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 13:25
Paranoid ? Got nothing to hide ,no need to worry , not enough police on the ground to fullfill all the demands the Govt [read public ,after all we did elect them] requires so mechanical devices to take up some of the burden , Big Brother aka 1984 style is long gone , we've now got Big Sister ,aka Anna .
AnswerID: 353591

Reply By: Member - jeff r (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:19

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:19
Those little cameras will be in YOUR bedroom before to long if we dont watch it.

Jeff
AnswerID: 353613

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:48

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:48
Nothing to hide ,nothing to worry about , was good enough for Paris after all ,, lol.
FollowupID: 621781

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:21

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 16:21
They had one set up up the road from where i work a few months ago....in an hour tops, the bus stop/drop down area across from the front gate had 30 vehicles in it, mainly new company cars that had been left unregistered, and a policeman was taking plates from them all....
AnswerID: 353614

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:53

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 17:53
Unless our faces look like number plates or barcodes we should be safe enough .... then again.... a bloke I saw the other day .............
AnswerID: 353629

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:16

Thursday, Mar 12, 2009 at 18:16
Yeah local TV station showing that on tonite's news

Apparently been in Queensland for about 4 years according to report.

But it only a city based operation at the moment.

Anyway I've got nothing tro hide and don't go to the city that often. One speeding fine in 50 years of driving. I won't worry about it.

AnswerID: 353635