Goonamillera Crossing

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 23:28
ThreadID: 67576 Views:2631 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,
This is my first post - although I have been visiting the site for a few years.

Next week, some friends and I anticipate being in Birdsville en route to Ayers Rock.

I have been advised by S.A. Parks that it is currently not possible to cross the Simpson - as Eyre Creek and Warburton Crossing are in flood.

What I would like to know is the current state of Goonamillera Crossing. Is it passable?

How wide / deep is the crossing - what is the bottom like? What is the flow rate? (slow, medium, fast, torrent) What are the entry & exit points like (steep & sudden, or gentle slope)?

Our alternatives are black top via Port Augusta or via Boulia and the Plenty (but I have heard the Plenty is not a nice drive).

A bit of background about us:
Been 4wd for more than 10 years. I have a '99 3L turbo Diesel Hilux, with winch, snorkel & long range tank. Familiar with water crossings : www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQ6Z29wHGLw

Mate has a Landrover Discovery with snorkel etc & extensive 4wd skills.

We are well prepared, have a sat phone etc. Just need to know if we're going across the Simpson or around it.

I will be phoning Birdsville info centre on Monday 6th April, but trying to get some extra info from people that may know.

Thanks for your time.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 23:35

Sunday, Apr 05, 2009 at 23:35
From all reports, Eyre creek is many kilometres wide. When it returns to being a creek, you'd have a chance, but that won't be for another month or two.

We camped at Goonamillera Crossing about 6 years ago, just after the water was receeding, and the bird life was brilliant.
AnswerID: 358266

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 06:09

Monday, Apr 06, 2009 at 06:09
As Phil said you won't be crossing for a while yet.