DEC Annual Aerial Burning Program

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 12:44
ThreadID: 67893 Views:2798 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
The Dept of Environment and Conservation (Goldfields Region) wishes to advise that its annual aerial burning program will start from the 30th Apr 2009 through to the 27th May 2009.
The targeted areas this year include the UCL and reserves around Neale Junction and Plumridge Lakes in early May, and the Gibson Desert/Central Ranges - from Eagle bore on the western side of Gibson Desert Nature Reserve (GDNR) to NE of Patjarr community on the eastern side (mid-late May)
The main routes that may be affected by the burning program include the Eagle Hwy and the Gary Hwy on the west side of the GDNR.
This program of aerial burning is not targeted at burning out entire large areas, it focuses on reintroducing a fire mosaic of various ages to a large part of the landscape. Over time this will greatly reduce the impact of landscape scale bushfires (>300,000ha) that have occurred out in the desert in the last 30 years.
Any enquiries about DEC's burning program go to www.dec.wa.gov.au/fire/fire-management/index.html or contact your local office (in WA).

Any enquiries about the Goldfields program please call our office on 08 9080 5555.

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 13:36

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 13:36
Congrats to the DEC for thinking outside the square and using this popular 4wd site to disseminate their information.

Well done.

AnswerID: 359808

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:43

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:43
Gidday

I have been lucky to spend time out in the deserts with some people from Kalgoorlie DEC. They are a great bunch who have a genuine love for the country and work hard under often difficult circumstances (budget, politics, you name it) to keep it so the rest of us can enjoy it.

Rocco
FollowupID: 627783

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:39

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:39
Yes,
Nice to see DEC doing this on public forums.

All the same it would be nice if we had a "name" to attach to the membership (as distinct from just DEC, which is pretty non descript).

It'd be nice - if you had any queries - to be able to ring the DEC office in Kal and "ask for Phil" for example if one had any requirement for more detailed info.

Just a suggestion - to improve communications.

(Past DEC/CALM employee).
AnswerID: 359814

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:56

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:56
Maybe they will put a name to their "Visitor" membership when you do the same ;)

FollowupID: 627784

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:58

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 14:58
? DEC is expanded in the actual post to Dept of Environment and Conservation. Should be clear enough for most.

There is a phone number at the bottom of the post to ring if you need further info. Using a single person e.g. "Phil" as a contact would be fine - if there was any chance he/she was available for that purpose 24/7, 365 days of the year - doubt it.

DEC have their own website (which can be found in under 1 second using google) so IMHO not much need for info additional to that given in this instance.

FollowupID: 627785

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 18:02

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 18:02
I agree with Kev and The Explorer

Surely a phone number is enough Flywest, you're a serial whinger. You hide behind your Business Name and dont pay Business rates. I am just amazed you managed to keep your reply below 50000000000000 words

FollowupID: 627809

Follow Up By: Flywest - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 17:48

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 17:48
Struth whats our world commin too?.

1. I said it was nice to see DEC posting

2. I said it would be nice to be able to contact our poster by first name - any public Servant is allowed to use their first name in communications with the public if they don't want to be "identified" by exposing their surname, (and fair enough too).

3. My names immediately available thru a google search of Flywest, you'll find my web page with First name Shann and Surname Low - it is no secret, and never has been.
Conversely by searching DEC - I'll never deduce our posters first name in return.

4. I haven't been able to find any ability to add any more detail to my "visitors" mebership than whats already there - maybe it is possible for full (paid up) members but not visitors?. Anyone who can't discern mine from my business name is perhaps somewhat computer illiterate? I've NEVER sought to hide from anything I post to the internet, unlike some others maybe.

5. While I'm at it, should anyone choose to google search my business name, and hence find my first and surnames - you will also find a link to my forums where your ALL welcome to sign up for FREE, and post whatever you like. Thats a forum I provide and web page etc at MY cost for others to do, just as I do here for free.

Quid pro quo and all that.

6. My request for a posters first name was two fold.

A) As a past DEC/CALM employee, two good friends left Nannup and transfered to Kalgooorlie, and I was keen to see if they were still there perhaps, it would be nise to know whom I'm communicating with, and if it were either of them.

B) Regardless, it was my intention to write to the Kalgoorlie DEC / CALM manager and praise the releveant employee's actions for the initiative taken to keep people informed thru this forum medium. Not knowing which employee is the poster - that action is not possible.

Re the comments:-

Serial whinger?

Long Posts?

I'll remember that, next time I'm tempted to devote a half hour or so to answering someone elses question at length, and in detail....and when replying to their emails etc asking my guidance for such things as the recent forum Easter Nannup trip away, and the camping options available etc shall I?

I would suggest that people not ascribe imagined agenda's of their own, to my posts, and keep their negative opinions to themselves please.

FollowupID: 628038

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 18:03

Saturday, Apr 18, 2009 at 18:03
"Regardless, it was my intention to write to the Kalgoorlie DEC / CALM manager and praise the releveant employee's actions for the initiative taken to keep people informed thru this forum medium. Not knowing which employee is the poster - that action is not possible. "

Yes it is - address it to the Regional Manager

PO Box 10173 KALGOORLIE 6433

It would be better if the boss knows - the person/persons who made the post already know it was a good idea.

FollowupID: 628042

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 15:05

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 15:05
Professional, technically correct and no suggestions for improvement.Well done to the staff at DEC Kalgoorlie!! Cheers
AnswerID: 359819

Reply By: DEC Kalgoorlie - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 15:48

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 15:48
Just a bit of follow-up to the above.
We have cleaned up the old airstrip at Eagle Bore and it (and the shed) will be used as a base for about a week starting the 13th May before we move on to the next area.
So anyone planning on staying in that area will have a bit of a crowd. The actual burning will be mainly in an 80km radius of that site.

Depends on who is in the office at the time as to who will be able to provide info - we tend to be out bush a lot this time of year!
AnswerID: 359821

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thoughtfully- Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:25

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:25
DEC, you are doing a good thing here, during our time in WA a while ago, the management of CALM of your resources there was a standout memory of how to do a good job. DEC I understand is CALM by another name.

My regards

Bonz

FollowupID: 627861

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:20

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:20
Just spent the day at the Emergency Management Conference and had the pleasure of listening to Rick Sneeuwjagt from DEC, and Rob Cox & Ralph Smith from FESA talk about prescribed burning and the absolute merits of prescribed hazard reduction burning, and how WA is setting the National benchmark on such practices.

What was alarming to here came from Rob Cox who is currently FESA's Regional Director Operational Services Kimberley. He gave some stats on the amount of hectares lost to fires in the Kimberley each year. The Kimberley is about 42M Ha in area and in 2007 13M Ha was involved in fire. Watching the video provided by Landgate for each month in 2007 there was the spate of lightning strikes pre and post tourist season (the wet), but as soon as the area went into tourist season the extent and number of fires of unknown origin increased dramatically in frequency and intensity. Most of the fires as you would suspect were along the GRR and Gt Northern Hwy.

To put that land area into perspective it is equivalent to the best part of WA's South West region.

So what I'm getting at is please be careful with your camp fires and be vigilant for those little a-holes who must get their jollies by maliciously lighting fires.

Safe travels.

AnswerID: 359848

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:57

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:57
So true Dunc

We had a grass cum bushfire at the popular King Edward River camp site. Campers made a campfire to cook lunch in the long grass - clearing no barrier at all. It was a warm day with a fairly strong wind. Not a day i would light any fire anywhere. They just had no idea. A few anxious moments and a lot of hot hard work by the campers to get it under control and eventually extinguished. Overseas visitors were doubly panicking, because their camper van had broken down and couldn't be moved.

We are fortunate in WA that we have hazard reduction burns so we have never had fores of the magnitude of those in Victoria over the years.

FollowupID: 627820

Follow Up By: farmer112 - Friday, Apr 17, 2009 at 00:50

Friday, Apr 17, 2009 at 00:50
Hi Dunc and Motherhen,

I can only fully agree with you.

Together with my best friend Harry I am not only travelling the beautiful Australian outback, but have also done some bush fire fighting in Oz. We are volunteer firies here in Germany and did a wildland fire fighting training before in the United States. We stayed twice with FESA in Perth for bush fire fighting traineeships in the surrounding areas of Perth.

I just could not believe it how many fires were set deliberately by some bloody a..holes. One fire was set at bush nearby a school. The aim of the arsonist must have been to have some extra holidays - we could just stop the blaze before it reached the first school building.

But we also watched lots of fires along the roads during summer time while travelling with the 4WD. When travelling the Nullarbor late in December last year we came about a starting fire (probably caused by a carelessly thrown cigarette) and managed to keep it under control by using our only shovel (first I was incident commander and Harry was shoveling, then he was IC and I shoveled ;-) ). Lucky enough a guy from the local brigade travelled along the road with this UTE and rushed to the shed for the fire truck. Was bloody windy, I think we would not have made it if the fire truck had not arrived 20 minutes later.

On another occassion we watched some criminal people setting the bush alight close to Devils Marbles. Fires were already burning in a distance of two or three kilometres from the camp ground and we had told people to stay clear of the bush with their campers. When leaving the camp ground we witnessed these criminals setting the bush alight just some 200 metres from the camp ground. We managed to put the fire out, again using our only shovel.

This time (CSR late in May) we will enter Bunnings before starting and buy a nice rakehoe to be a little bit better prepared for our next bit of bush fire fighting along the road. ;-)

We try to warn other tourists in our German Australia forums to be very cautious with any open fire and to obey any fire ban, and I think that many tourists are more aware of the danger now, after the disastrous fires in Victoria.

Cheers from bloody boring Dortmund/Germany,

Juergen

German by Birth, but Aussie by Heart!

FollowupID: 627869

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Apr 17, 2009 at 16:44

Friday, Apr 17, 2009 at 16:44
Hi Juergen

As farmers and having seen the destruction caused by many fires, we are so paranoid that we won't even light a campfire at any time of year. I always use gas for cooking.

Enjoy Oz when you get back here. You have probably seen more of the outback than i have.

FollowupID: 627925

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:59

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:59
Thank you DEC for making the announcement here. I have passed the info on the caravanners on another forum who plan to return south from the Kimberley this year via Neale Junction.

AnswerID: 359858

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:26

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:26
Good on you DEC Kalgoorlie.
It is a pity that more of your offices don't have this P.R. attitude instead of trying to play God.
Enough said.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 359911

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:39

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:39
Yes MH they don't think or, don't care.
We have had a couple of incidences . The last one a couple of years ago was at Tunnel Creek a couple of years ago. Lucky enough there were two other couples there besides the idiots [for want of a word] otherwise it would have got away.
The idiots were p***** as parrots!

Tony

PS : MH that area I asked about awhile ago was nice. Clean with plenty of camping areas. The dam was crystal clear and just about full.

Tony
The rig

AnswerID: 359914

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:58

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 23:58
Tony

forgive me for telling you this, BUT if you want to direct your comments to 'Motherhen' you need to hit the ""FollowUp"" button.

FollowupID: 627866

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Apr 19, 2009 at 00:34

Sunday, Apr 19, 2009 at 00:34
Are there any plans to do prescribed burnings in the woodlands?

this area seems to really suffer most years from massive fires

last year was the one that killed the truckies
a few years back the holland track got burnt out and nearly all the way to the farmland, a few years before that most of the Dundas nature reserve was taken out and in betwwn that a fire between Widgie and norsman burnt for nearly 2 months
AnswerID: 360264