Adding Trail bike mounts to a Jayco Flamingo

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 19:26
ThreadID: 67907 Views:2946 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Greetings guys -- i Have recently purchased 2 new trail bikes ( his and hers - registered) and would love to take them with us when we go camping with the Jayco - problem is - we cant have trailer following trailer

Now - would it be ok to make up a sub frame to accommodate a Bike at the rear of the jayco and one on the front cross member

the larger of the 2 bikes (XR650) weighs 120 KG and the WR250 is about 100 KG - i am a fitter machinist by trade so should make it myself (if im not too lazy )

Is this just wanting to much fun ( ie im getting greedy and should just relax when i go away) or will the extra load be no good for the jayco frame - OFFROAD Jayco version BTW

your thoughts ??

Boc
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 20:08

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 20:08
Boc

I looked for something similar for my GU but to just sit on the back like a normal bike carrier. I found these guys in my googling, might give you some ideas

Carrier
AnswerID: 359864

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 21:24

Thursday, Apr 16, 2009 at 21:24
I made up one for an Off Road Jayco Eagle years ago for my then XR400. I simply modified the rear bumber which carried the spare wheel and the bike rode there. It was quite simple, actually made it up while working in remote area of the Kimberley and it worked very well. I never loaded up the drawbar with anything as you will be doing but my set up did not seem to upset the ride or towing dynamics at all. Actually it seemed to take a bit of load off the dual cab at the towbar, less ball weight due to counter balancing, and everything travelled well.