HJ60 Glow-plug woes ?

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 25, 2009 at 14:07
ThreadID: 68191 Views:8460 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all...Complete newbie here, so please excuse silly questions and the long-winded post.

I've just "inherited" an HJ60 cruiser from a mate. The truck had spent the last 10 years or so up in the tropics, but I'm down here in chilly Geelong. I suspect this has brought to the fore some little issues with the glow-plug setup that may have existed with the truck up north, where it worked perfectly in recent times, after my mate had had some work done on the glow plugs in the last dry. It looks like the first two sections of the strap that feeds the plugs have been replaced, while the main one along the engine is the original.

It came down to Melbourne to Auto-Trans in Laverton, where I went to pick it up last week. They were unable to get it started up there as well, until they towed it around the lot for a while, when it eventually got going. Once warmed up, it ran fine and I was able to drive it the hour and a bit home without any problems and even started it up OK later that day, after it had sat for 5 or 6 hours. This makes fuel problems unlikely, to my mind.

But since then, no joy. Motor turns over fine, but not even a kick. I have checked the continuity on all the straps, checked that none of the plugs are open-circuit and cleaned up all the connections with wet'n'dry.

If I try turning it over to start it for a while and then feel the strap, I notice that the first section which goes from the part where the resistor and current flow sensor (I think) are, up to the post that's on top of the inlet manifold, is quite hot to the touch, but the next section that goes from that post, up to the first glow-plug and the junction with the strap along the head, is barely warm and the main strap is cold.