2000 Hilux 3.0L diesel chugging on Highway

Submitted: Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:20
ThreadID: 68280 Views:3196 Replies:1 FollowUps:7
Opinions sought, if any.

I was transporting in my dual cab high top canopy ute 20 bags of 25kg line marking chalk to my club last week. The bags were evenly distributed in the tub. Only 500kg I thought nothing of it having taken almost a ton to the dump and god knows how much camping with beer and firewood.

Hit the highway home and when I got up to about 95km/hr it seemed to start jumping, I kept going but there was a noticeable disturbing slow shudder at the wheel, about twice a second from memory.

Slowed down to 90/km/hr and I think it disappeared but wasn't sure if it was the speed or something else that stopped, a moment of dirty fuel came to mind, winds perhaps (though i've sat on 110km/hr with it in winds and there was no problem)

I checked the suspension, later sure it was sagging with 500kg but nothing broken and didn't seem close to bottoming out, I mean i was on the highway when it was happening, not bouncing over anything.

So curious as to whether this is anything or maybe I should send it to the mechanic's for a check up.

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:27

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:27
Is it like kick back throught he steering wheel? If so maybe a wheel out of balance or slight buckle. The weight in the rear making the front lighter and exadurating the prob?

More precise info may help.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 361880

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:33

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:33
yeah, kickback through the steering wheel, that's a great way of describing it.

I noticed one tyre was right down to 17 psi a couple weeks ago, maybe it had gone down again and at the higher speed there was a wobble, will check it's pressure when I get home tonight. Geez, if had 500kg on the back with an extra low pressure tyre at 100km/hr I guess I'm a bit lucky I'm here.
FollowupID: 629637

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:34

Monday, Apr 27, 2009 at 16:34
That'll do it

Let us know how you get on, if air fixes it.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 629638

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 08:59

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 08:59
2 front and rear left were at 38 and the one that has the dodgy valve (or a very slow leaking puncture) was at 30, so I'd like to think your explanation was spot on, and that it was until I got to the, in retrospect, more like 100km/hr that the assembly got enough bouncing from that tyre to vibrate up the wheel.

thanks heaps
FollowupID: 629770

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:37

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:37
FWIW,
My experience has been that you are less likely to get wheel wobble with low air pressure.

To get wobble the wheel/tyre has to be out-of-balance or out-of-round (bulge in tyre, buckled rim etc.).

If the wheel is inclined to wobble and you lower the pressure it increases the footprint thus reducing likelyhood of wobble.

FollowupID: 629777

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:42

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 09:42
Ok Peter

So should this happen at all speeds or because it only seemed to happen at one speed with one load on the back?

Anything i can do to test it other than lifting it and trying to move it?
FollowupID: 629779

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:43

Tuesday, Apr 28, 2009 at 22:43
Porl

Tyre imbalances tend to cause wobble at a particular spped - varies from wheel to wheel depending how much out of balance or out of shape it is.

I'm wondering wether you had most of the load behind the rear axle which would have decreased the weight on the front wheels.
This would increase the tendency to wobble.

A simple test is to swap wheels from back to front (assuming the rear are balanced correctly)

Good Luck
FollowupID: 629921

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:46

Wednesday, Apr 29, 2009 at 09:46
Hi Horacehighroller

That would be it, I of course tried to evenly distribute the load but recall putting more right at the tail gate so only that it would be easier to unload.

I reckon bingo.

Tyre imbalance and too much load behind the rear axle and pressure probably down on the rear left wheel exacerbating the effect.

I have been meaning to put on 4 x 95% Coopers sitting beside teh side of my house on 15" original wheels - they are balanced so I might just expedite that and get the wheel checked out another time.

I take it I can get one wheel balanced at a time yes if I take it to a tyre dealer?
FollowupID: 629967