Plastic Jerry can broke Petrol everywhere

Submitted: Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:18
ThreadID: 68407 Views:6605 Replies:23 FollowUps:12
Filled up a couple of the Rheem plastic Jerry cans yesterday.

As I was putting one back into the ute a 10cm long split appeared and about 5l of petrol poured into the back of the ute before I could lay it on its side.

I did not drop the thing or throw it or anything, I just put it down ready to tie it on. Not particularly gently, but not with any force either, just as you would put it down normally.

After saying as few word and washing all the fuel off had to go home get another Jerry to transfer the fuel. The servo kept the broken one on its side in their oil store for me.

This Jerry is about 4 years old and is used weekly on the farm for mowers, ATV's.

It seems a case of plastic fatigue of some sort. Has anyone had this experience?
Do they have a service life?

I'm thinking hard about switching to non chinese Metal ones as replacements, what do you all think?

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:21

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:21
Now thats a worry!!

Never seen it before but also don't use plastic Jerry Cans.
You have now convinced why I won't in the future either.

AnswerID: 362559

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:38

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:38
That should read...

You have now convinced me why I won't in the future either.

Make a note to proof read before sending.

FollowupID: 630282

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:33

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:33
I have used plastic jerry cans for a few years now but only for diesel.

This is the first that I have seen with a split like that. I would be getting in touch with Rheem and see what hey have to say about the failed jerry can.

AnswerID: 362560

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:37

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:37
I'm going to!!!!
FollowupID: 630281

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:08

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:08
I dont think Rheem actually own the moulds anymore, ring Visy packaging at Villawood,, near Parramatta. They blow mould them there and own the moulds now, i believe. Michael

FollowupID: 630401

Reply By: wild dog - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:42

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:42
Interesting this should happen. Is it Australian made????
I have discovered some plastics don't like the tropical climate and inquired of an industrial chemist about it. Apparently some car interiors are breaking down up here but not in the more temperate areas.

At first I thought it was because of the action of the fuel but that doesn't add up.
Wasn't there a fuel container that was designed with a type of honeycomb interior that would act as a type of baffle and also was a lot safer to travel with??
Have never had the exact problem you've got, would it possibly be a crook batch of containers??
Heard yesterday that not all gas bottles are of the same quality as well. Apparently some are very prone to rust.
Don't want to get political but I personally believe we can make this stuff of a much higher quality here than the overseas manufactures.
Designed to last up to 5 years and no more maybe??????????????????
AnswerID: 362562

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:49

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:49
Thats a Rheem jerry ... ???

From the photo it looks more like the cheapos at BigW ... ???

Rheem also stopped making jerries a while back I think ... thats why the good solid black ones Ive using for about 12yrs are supplied to auto shops etc by some mob called Haigh ... I always thought they were the rheem ones.

Filled with petrol on a hot day ... they look like a 30l container ... LOL

The ones I have are also well reinforced on the bottom .... yours looks a bit like one of the large springwater containers ... no offence intended - If it has safety stds stickers - it should be good eh ??

Looking at where the split is Im guessing that less than enough material was used on that one at that crease ... and problem compounded by the centre being able to flex like a drum skin rather than being supported with molded in reinforcing.

AnswerID: 362564

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:10

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:10
Visy packaging owns the moulds now i believe.. Michael

FollowupID: 630402

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:51

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 10:51
Bought from Superc---p perhaps ?? Had same style water jerry split when full of water and dropped from 6inches , now use the type that has 'ribs' ,,yellow-diesel ,red -unleaded , blue -water , cost almost double the Superc--p ones but on inspection the plastic is twice as thick.
AnswerID: 362565

Follow Up By: new boy - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:09

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:09
Why the different colours Red for petrol and Yellow for diesel they all seem to be the same thickness and material if its just to distinguish between the contents then overkill IMHO as I drive a diesel that's what I put in.Plus at several outlets here in Geraldton there was a couple of $ price difference between the two cans
FollowupID: 630287

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:40

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:40
Overkill ? The colours of jerry cans is to HELP distinquish the contents and is a world wide standard nowadays ,, even way back in WW11 original metal jerry cans had a slot near the spout where an engraved metal tag was put , different colours for different fuels to stop mixups , oops , Pte Joe Bloggs put diesel into the Spitfire cause all jerry cans look the same ,, Overkill ??????
FollowupID: 630293

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 12:01

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 12:01
All depends on your needs and set up new boy.

Personally I find it rather useful at brew time to tell the grandkid to grab the blue jerry ... rather than the black one, on the right of the second black one, in the middle of all the other black ones ... LOL
FollowupID: 630295

Reply By: Member - Porl - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:08

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:08
I bought a metal chinese one only 6 months and am buggered if I can now get the damn cap on, junk, so just recommending as you intended to, buy an Australian one.
AnswerID: 362570

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:14

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:14
CORRECTION
It's not Rheem, my mistake, funny how your memeory plays tricks on you. The black ones I had before were. This one is from Supercheep and is from BMW Plastics Melboune, complies with Aust Standard.

The new yellow diesel ones I bought last year (Same sort) have a nice 100% Autralian Label on it and a cute little Aussie Flag,........
But don't actually say where it is made. So obviously it is Chinese rubbish that I have been conned into buying. Arrrrggggh

Serves me right for buying stuff there I suppose.
AnswerID: 362572

Reply By: wigger - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:18

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:18
Also doubt that that's a RHEEM j/can. They do theirs in black and are tough. The oldest one I have is 15 years and is used constantly (petrol and diesel) and isn't showing the slightest sign of giving up.
AnswerID: 362574

Reply By: wigger - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:21

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 11:21
Was typing as you were posting so didn't see your latest post
AnswerID: 362575

Reply By: Roughasguts - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 12:26

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 12:26
That crappy E10 can destroy some plastics, and I guess also U/V wouldn't help either.
AnswerID: 362586

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 12:58

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 12:58
I had a small red plastic fuel can ,the tyoe you use for a mower.
I left in the sun for a week or 2 and it also fell to bits.
Maybe this one has had its share of the sun sitting in the back of utes for 4 years
AnswerID: 362591

Reply By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 13:58

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 13:58
Best cans I have found are the WD stamped ones with the /|\ upwards arrow from WW2. Usually with a date like 1958 stamped on the side. These just seem to have thicker metal. I have found most of mine from verge rubbish. Nothing wrong with them - just people see the stamp date and think they must be beyond their use by date.

AnswerID: 362603

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 14:04

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 14:04
I know what you mean I've got some melamine dinner plates with that stamp on paid about 10c each.

They will last another few hundred years or so
FollowupID: 630309

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 14:51

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 14:51
Dont think there are any Aust. made jerry cans any more. I have just bought two, made in Latvia and Aust. standards. They appear to be a heavier metal and have a pin through the lid supposedly to stop it flipping open. More expensive to. Pro- Quip bring them in.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 630315

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 15:52

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 15:52
Gidday

First of all, that doesn’t look like a Rheem tank to me.

The following doesn’t apply to diesel, but I would encourage those carrying petrol in plastic cans, to vent them at least once during the day (in hot weather).

I’ve seen two instances now where plastic jerry cans have been held down tightly with ratchet straps, and no allowance given for expansion. The end result of that was a burst can.

Kim
AnswerID: 362633

Reply By: tim_c - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 16:15

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 16:15
Whoa - that's a real worry. I replaced my black Rheem jerries with red ones because they are cleaner (the spout stows inside while the Rheems stow it on the outside).

My last trip up the Tanami, back along the GRR, then back home via. Birdsville/Innamincka etc. and I had 4 of those things in the back of the wagon. I shudder to think if mine had split like that I'd have had between 20~80L ULP all through the carpet... and I think the car would smell like ULP for the rest of it's life!
AnswerID: 362634

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Friday, May 01, 2009 at 16:17

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 16:17
Tried plastic jerry cans for fuel and they always smelled or weep fuel so went back to metal (Latvian ones with the pin) and have never had a problem with them.
If you have to vent a fuel can every day it's either overfull or a crappy product.
AnswerID: 362635

Reply By: troopy 2005 - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 16:57

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 16:57
All jerry cans are dodgy, especially inside the vehicle.Get a vehicle with range and throw the jerry cans away ,except for water of course.
AnswerID: 362645

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 14:34

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 14:34
That would OK if it is only 1000k's or so between fuel outlets. If it's anymore than that - Jerry's are a good option..

FollowupID: 630459

Follow Up By: troopy 2005 - Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 11:44

Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 11:44
on the tray is fine but inside the car is just plane dangerous.
FollowupID: 630548

Reply By: mechpete - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:25

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 18:25
its not a big deal just go an buy a metal one !!
mechpete
AnswerID: 362656

Reply By: Inkbandit79 - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 20:13

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 20:13
Have you ever cleaned a paint brush in petrol in an old plastic ice cream container? See what the petrol does to it in an hour let alone four years, go the metal one for sure just dont store them empty with the lid sealed the humidity makes em rust from the inside out
AnswerID: 362679

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:20

Friday, May 01, 2009 at 23:20
That looks like a cheap jerry to me.

The black plastic ones never have that sort of problem. Admittedly, you need to replace the rubber 'o' rings in the yellow lids from time to time.

There are different types of plastic - just because a cheap imitation fails doesn't mean all plastic will.

Similarly, just because all the metal ones I've ever owned have either rusted or the lids have failed doesn't mean all metal jerries are crap.

AnswerID: 362715

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 00:04

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 00:04
I thought Rheem Containers were black, all the ones I've had were, that looks like one of those cheap red chinese ones from Supercheap , I would be keen to know the exact name of it.

AnswerID: 362720

Reply By: happytravelers - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 08:33

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 08:33
If you want to buy a replacement, I noticed that BCF have the metal pro quip ones on special at the moment $29.95 that's nearly half price. I'm in SE qld, I'd imagine the FNQ stores would have the same deal.
Regards Jon
AnswerID: 362744

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 10:08

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 10:08
GoneTroppo
I have done some checking , the jerry can shown is NOT a Rheem, there are 2 here on the Station exacly like the one shown in your post and they are BMW Plastics , Looks like they could be made in Aust' but unless it's stamped you can't be sure,

AnswerID: 362757

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 12:32

Saturday, May 02, 2009 at 12:32
Doug, Bob and everyone else, thanks for taking the trouble re Rheem or otherwise, please refer to my CORRECTION post about 8 posts above.

I jumped the gun a bit in my original post.

AnswerID: 362783

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 12:14

Sunday, May 03, 2009 at 12:14
You should ask admin or the moderators to delete 'Rheem' from the OP.
FollowupID: 630554