Nissan Armada SUV - Patrol Replacement?

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 13:26
ThreadID: 6883 Views:2568 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
Just in case some are interested to see what Nissan are releasing in the USA this fall.

Go to http://www.motortrend.com/ for a photo of the actual vehicle not the "Concept" vehicle that was displayed at a US motor show last year.

The Armada is their first full size (US size) release SUV. It is probably designed specifically for the US market so it wil be interesting to see if variations eventually make their way to Australia. Hasn't been released yet so specs are hard to come by.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:02

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:02
Its the one that was out here for motor show last year...

Yup, If thats the future, 4wding is turning Gay.
AnswerID: 29446

Follow Up By: crowie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:08

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:08
Truckster

I was going to say it could pass for a Ford Explorer but refrained.
FollowupID: 20538

Reply By: Member - Russell - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:13

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:13
The words Nissan and radical change simply do not go together. Remember the 'major update' Nissan unveiled a few months ago? How pathetic was that! I think we're safe for quite some time.... They should leave the current vehicles alone and, if anything, produce a 4.2 version of the 3.0 TD - something big enough to handle a Patrol-sized task. Yes, contented 3.0 TD drivers, I reckon the 3.0 is too small, hence the failures we're seeing. It was never designed for the Patrol, but was shoe-horned in there cos it was cheap to do - straight from Mr Nissan's technical division....Russell S
Prado RV6
AnswerID: 29451

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:20

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:20
I'd like to see a 4.8 or 5.0ltr GU, or even a 4.5 Diesel V8.

IM dreaming arent i?
FollowupID: 20541

Follow Up By: Member - Bill- Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:31

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:31
Russell, is a 2.7 4 cyl petrol big enough for a Prado? Was it designed for a Prado?

All large car co's have a parts bin.

Most popular medium trucks in this country have 4cyl turbo diesel's and ISUZU's up to 8 Tonne have no more capacity than 4.8L

The ZD30 problems are IMHO more to do with execution (quality control and testing) than engine capacity. They go gooooood.

Regds

FollowupID: 20543

Follow Up By: crowie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:51

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 14:51
I have a ZD30 Patrol and it does what i want it to do in they way I want to do it. Outback touring.
It uses a lot of technology to produce the power and torque that it does. If I was looking for an out and out 4x4 for remote areas and work on properties I would not have bought it.
We would all be better with 15 year old diesel technology that doesn't need a computer to fix it for the serious stuff.
The ZD30 came out of Renault/Nissan commercial vehicles in Europe that are are probably never more that a 20km from a servo.

I get a good deal further away from a Servo in mine but I wouldn't swap it. Horses for courses.

Crowie
FollowupID: 20546

Follow Up By: duncs - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 17:53

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 17:53
Truckster,

Both have been tested. 4.8l six Turbo Diesel and V8 turbo diesel.Spotted in the outback about 18mths ago.
FollowupID: 20570

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 19:20

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 19:20
More info Duncs....

How you know it was both engine configs? They surely wouldnt be labled on the side of the car.
FollowupID: 20582

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 21:57

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 21:57
Bill.

Gen 3 Commodores go good 2, but they are falling over everywhere. Cause it goes good dont mean it is good
FollowupID: 20603

Follow Up By: Savvas - Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 15:46

Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 15:46
Truckster ... All cars have their issues. The GENIII most definitely is out their with its problems. But one fact that the press keeps covered is that only 2% of the GENIII engines used in Australia have been reported with problems.

GM have introduced new piston skirt designs into the engine now and, supposedly, has fixed the piston slap / oil consumption issue.

Interestingly though, it was never an issue in the US for some reason where the engine only appears in Corvettes.
FollowupID: 20676

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 17:02

Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 17:02
I heard on the radio some time ago that the oil and other Gen III engine probs. were caused by the very thin oil used. They used it as it helped in decreasing friction and therefore consumption, but apparently in America fuel and oil consumption is no big deal like it is in Australia.
As we know, it seems the USA thinks that if it ain't big it can't be no good.
Anyway, they've got heaps to waste now, haven't they?
FollowupID: 20686

Follow Up By: duncs - Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 17:24

Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 17:24
Truckster,

Must admit it is second hand info, but it comes from a guy who should know.

He knows about the vehicles because he spoke to the drivers.
FollowupID: 20688

Reply By: Steve from Drive Systems Victoria - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 15:16

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 15:16
I hope you're wrong, crowie. The Armada, IFS front end, leaf springs on the back,huge thirsty V8 petrol, exactly what the yanks like. About the biggest quantum leap that Nissan could handle would be direct injection of the TD42. Beyond that and funding from Renault will dry up and the old TD42 will not meet the next round of exhaust emmissions levels and it will be dropped. S'pose the'll trot out the Cedric for another few years too!
AnswerID: 29458

Follow Up By: crowie - Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 16:21

Thursday, Aug 28, 2003 at 16:21

I hope I'm wrong to. I did say "variations" or perhaps dirivitive is a better word. It wasn't part of my wish list. I really think Nissan is too smart to foist the US Armada onto this market. Besides I think the Armada is about Suburban size and would have limited use for serious offroading here.

Nissan have had a lot of experience selling 4bees in this country and they know the market. With the Armada they are catering to the US market and we all know how unsuccessful others have been in trying to pass off US purpose built and designed vehicles in this market.

Never know they might suprise us with a new larger diesel motor. Selling diesel Patrols is a niche market around the world and keeps the Nissan brand name in view. They will have to do something if they want to keep in the workhorse 4x4 market. They also have a large commercial truck production. There must be a place in their future for a new diesel.

FollowupID: 20557

Reply By: Savvas - Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 15:50

Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 15:50
Who owns who?

Does Nissan own Renault, or the other way around?
AnswerID: 29559

Follow Up By: crowie - Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 19:09

Friday, Aug 29, 2003 at 19:09
Savvas

It's actually called an "alliance" but I think Renault hold the purse strings and instyalled a Renault executive to run Nissan Read on
-
.Louis Schweitzer, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Renault, and Yoshikazu Hanawa, President and Chief Executive Officer of Nissan Motor Co., jointly announced a partnership agreement between Renault and Nissan. The agreement, signed on March 27, 1999, will create the fourth largest automaker in the world.

Renault will make a major contribution to reduce Nissan's indebtedness, estimated at more than 2 trillion yen (US$16.7 billion). Renault is going to invest 605 billion yen (approximately 4.7 billion euros / FRF 31 billion / US$ 5.1 billion), by taking a 36.8% equity stake (and corresponding voting rights) in Nissan Motor Co., by means of a reserved capital increase at Y 400 per share, and a 22.5% stake in Nissan Diesel. Nissan Motor will keep an identical equity participation to that of Renault in Nissan Diesel.
FollowupID: 20698