It's wet, it's cold in sunny QLD

Submitted: Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:11
ThreadID: 69026 Views:2692 Replies:6 FollowUps:16
SE Qld has been declared a disaster area. Quite a lot of water in a short space of time. Nobody is going anywhere at the moment if they have any sense.
My son is working in Brisbane and said afternoon shift was "a few trees down etc..nothing major ". I went and looked at a few trouble spots but no real hassles this time. Wife was sent home from work because the local schools were closed.
But I've seen it much much worse than this. We aren't even cut off by water across the driveway.
We drove through Brisbane on the Bruce Highway in 74. Yes, I've seen it much worse.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:20

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:20
Clear, Dry and pleasantly warm up here Footy LOL

I hope you have your rubber duckie ready for the duck races in the street

AnswerID: 365944

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:22

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:22
Think I might need it Kev,I have to go grocery shopping today.
FollowupID: 633688

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:43

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:43
Last time i looked, there is more to Qld than just the SE. ;-)

Blue skies up in the real Qld, got cold last night at 18C LOL.

Even Calliope was a pleasant place to visit yesterday....:-)

AnswerID: 365946

Follow Up By: Member - Old/new Girl (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:56

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:56
Winge for the day
What do you expect if you live next to a creek!!!
Sick of them comparing this to the 74 floods. Nothing will never be that bad. Back then People were uninformed because you were lucky to have a phone let alone the internet. Everybody had warnings this time.
Drought broken that's a bit soon. Couple of hours out of Bris is bone dry.
One thing we get use to beyond the range is Qld doesn't go past the range or beyond Noosa.
Not all city people think that but Anna dose.
FollowupID: 633680

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:23

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:23
You didn't drop in to say G'Day to me Andrew ;)

How was Tiny yesterday??

FollowupID: 633689

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:27

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:27
What can I say ? There's a reason why I live here and not in far flung places with no facilities. Been there done that and got the scars to prove it.
FollowupID: 633692

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:31

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:31
Sir Kev said"You didn't drop in to say G'Day to me Andrew ;)"

Hence my statement "Even Calliope was a pleasant place to visit yesterday....:-) " LOL

Driving through from Toowomba, and only knew about an hour beforehand of when i would be there.....we were contemplating ringing you, however knew that your work was more important :-)

Should be down there in two weeks again....might pop in.

FollowupID: 633695

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 20:32

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 20:32
Hence my statement "Even Calliope was a pleasant place to visit yesterday....:-)

I like you Andrew, I really do!!!!!

The news reports s##t me big time because they just make it out like it is the worst thing in the world to happen..
Flood Crisis.. Trapped in their homes not knowing when they will see their family again..

PLEASEEEEEEEEEEEEE.......

I totally inherited my Dads habit of yelling at the tv when the news is on!!!!!
FollowupID: 633761

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 21:49

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 21:49
hahahaha yep i tell them what a load of s*#t they talk beating stories up and then i cop the bosses flack because i "know better than them" sshhheeeessshhhhh!!
FollowupID: 633778

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:53

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 10:53
Bit cool here too 18 at 5.30am. I spent 10 minutes trying to find my long trousers.

Had someone from Melbourne ask how we were coping with the flooding. Some people can't get their head around the fact that there is more to Qld than Brisbane and Gold Coast.

I told him he would have a better idea as he was closer than I am. Still didn't get it.

AnswerID: 365948

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:10

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:10
So whereabouts are you GT? I'm a former Mossman boy...left there in 1971 for a 9 year stint in the Navy...ended up doing 32 years and still working for the Navy as a civilian today.
FollowupID: 633683

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:14

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:14
18 at 5.30am, uummm, 5 down here and going to be a very very pleasant 18 at some stage of the game today, BUT still have the shorts on.
Leaving here in four weeks for up there, may see yu around.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 633685

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:17

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:17
I'm at Mission Beach, got out of Melbourne about 5 and a bit years ago. Took to FNQ like a duck to water :-)
FollowupID: 633686

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:36

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:36
Never been to Mission Beach so must call in there one day. Used to visit Tully a lot as I had a girlfriend or 3 there back in the '60s:-)
FollowupID: 633697

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:46

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:46
Baz, you're doing well to be in shorts, I spent a fair bit of time in Tassie in winter and wearing shorts is not one of the options I ever contemplated!!!
If you're passing through our way you're welcome to bushcamp on our place. Assume you're going to the cape?
FollowupID: 633699

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 12:20

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 12:20
GT
Thanks for that, could be we will take you up on the offer.
Leave here 19th June, heading north basically via Dubbo, Isa, Lawn Hill, Burketown across to Cooktown and down the coast by passing the major cities.
Would like to do the Cape but at our age 60+ need the comforts of the van, bit beyond swags and tents now a days.
May be you could MM me you phone no. and we will be in touch.
Thanks again.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 633705

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:39

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:39
G/Day Footie

Yeh we are just north of you, as the Crow flies, about 10ks approx, just the usual heavy down pours, nothing dramatic, the Media beat it up to make it worse than what it is, a lot of the low lying areas around here or near stormwater catchment areas have over flowed ect, or near open drains and small creeks, nothing like 74 floods, on a scale to 1 to 10 this would only be a 3 in my opinion, we havent got water clearing peoples window sills like in 74, or the Brisbane River over a kilometre wide in places, and up to peoples roofs ect, it's mainly in low lying areas with poor drainage or swollen creeks that you see the Media scrambling around, the footage that they showed up at Herston near the hospital is near Victoria Park which allways goes under with the drainage systems, and the hospital staff use that area for parking, anyway we are lucky to have built on a hill lol lol. I feel sorry for the guy who got killed up in Surfers Paradise, with the window imploding, with the Wind Gusts ect. we are just far enough off the beach to miss the Gale Force Winds.

Daza
AnswerID: 365950

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:46

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 11:46
PS, Anna Bligh reckons the Drought is broken, she should take a drive up the Range to Toowoomba, and check out the Dam Levels,
they are just about sucking up Mud. and she runs the State, God Help Us.
FollowupID: 633700

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 12:51

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 12:51
We had a bit of rain in Bundy but 10 mins west got next to nothing and at the office in Miriam Vale it is as dry as Calliope....until Kev cracks a tinnie..lol

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 633707

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 19:07

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 19:07
Daza, yep we are also on a hill. One leg shorter than the other LOL
I do feel sorry for the fatality, it was such a waste.
I have actually seen more people in 4wds travelling today than normal. One guy in a ute with a slide on camper and a Codan autotune followed me almost home from the Pines. When the going gets tough, the tough go shopping ?
FollowupID: 633737

Reply By: Tadooch - Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 22:23

Thursday, May 21, 2009 at 22:23
Well '74 ...the Gold Coast canals were turquise blue and their sand banks all pristine white sand. Then the floods brought the silt and they've been dirty since. That was before the Hinze.

If Wivenhoe had not been built it would be a repeat of '74.
All other areas being reported always traditionaly flood. If you haven't moved out, or have bought in since then...wot tha!

The wind tunnels here in Surfers, caused by new developments like Chevron Renaissance and Circle on Cavill, increase the wind strength intensely. A four burner bbq lifted off yesterday as did a old singer sewing machine (cast iron/granite top) complete with pot plants from a 12th floor balcony...now thats strong wind.
AnswerID: 366057

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Friday, May 22, 2009 at 20:21

Friday, May 22, 2009 at 20:21
Queensland

Fluoride one day
Flood the next

Having said that we are booked for a week in Noosa in july

Love it

AnswerID: 366251