l/cruiser gearbox

Submitted: Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 19:35
ThreadID: 69211 Views:2483 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Hi guys
Just a quick ask about what gearbox is behind a 1991 1HZj 75 engined ute.
A mate is in the throws of getting a Chev diesel fitted to the above vehicle. As far as I know (or thought I did) these earlier models had the heavier duty box and the non turbo 1998 or there abouts and later had the lighter (Hilux??) box while the turbo ones had the heavy one. He is being told that he will have to buy the later turbo engined gearbox to handle the extra power and torque. In short is this true???
I was under the impression that his ute had the same box as the later turbo box with the possible exception of some ratios being different.

Help please and thanks in advance

Cheers Pop

Reply By: travelguy62 - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 20:56

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 20:56
You should not have to change the gearbox to do this conversion.Some of the later wagons had a light duty alloy box,s in them and dont tend to handle the toque to well and become noisy fairly quickly.Your truck should have the heavy duty box in it.I fitted chev diesels for a few years and never changed a box in a 75 series.
Cheers Guy
AnswerID: 366865

Reply By: get outmore - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 21:44

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 21:44
Phil, G knows more about it
but pretty sure the g box in the 75 series was pretty strong - it was replaced in the 79 with a light duty box which definitly can give problems if given a hard time. I think the box in the turbo version was stronger again and was also run in the petrol 4.5 75 series
AnswerID: 366876

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:07

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:07
Your mates gearbox is the H55f,these are fine behind V8 swaps.

The lighter duty box is the R151f found on the post 1998 78-79 series.

The turbo models have the H151f
AnswerID: 366882

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:08

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:08
Gday Pop,
1991 HZJ75 had the older H55F gearbox. It will say so on the firewall plate.
Wasn't as strong as the H150F (which came with 80series and TD 100/78/79series) and not as weak as the R151F (found in the 1Hz diesel 105/78/79series/Prado/Hilux).
As said above, not worth changing the gearbox.
AnswerID: 366883

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:09

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:09
Ross beat me to it by a minute!
FollowupID: 634543

Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:39

Tuesday, May 26, 2009 at 22:39
Thanks for that info guys, I guess you confirmed what I thought but I must admit I didn't know the later turbo gearbox was stronger again than the earlier non turbo. I was pretty sure someone was trying one on with him. Also I will check the tag on the firewall as suggested. To all of you thanks again

Cheers Pop
AnswerID: 366892

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 02:18

Wednesday, May 27, 2009 at 02:18
if its suss already it will be more economical to do it now while everything is out - if its still going well you will have a better chance of it lasting
FollowupID: 634564