Flamin Oil Filter!!!

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 19:58
ThreadID: 6933 Views:1783 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
G'day,

I know this is a pretty tedious post, but i have just spent ages trying to get the old oil filter off my 60 series landcruiser. I'm sure anyone who does their own oil changes will agree that these little buggers can be might annoying when they are put on too tight. The perivous owner must have screwed it on good and proper. I have tried everything from screwdrivers, metal bars and one of those oil filter remover tools, but it has just got real tight and won't budge. I am turning the way the manual says to (counter clockwise) so I dunno what to do.

Has anyone ever had a simialr problem and solved it using a special technique? Any ideas at all would be much appreciated.

Cheers!

Reply By: Member - Rick - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 20:16

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 20:16
gday cruza.
heat my friend, heat. if you havent punctured the filter, take the 4by for a good spin, getting the motor nice and warm, zip home and it should come off a lot easier.

rick.
AnswerID: 29652

Follow Up By: Cruza - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 20:33

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 20:33
Wish I could but I have punctured the filter many times, and alot of oil has come out.

Thakns anyway though!
FollowupID: 20776

Reply By: Jason (macca) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 21:11

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 21:11
Cruza

It must be on very very tight. I have used the screwdriver trick
before, usually works......

At a guess, Stilsens !!!!!
AnswerID: 29657

Follow Up By: marcus - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 21:28

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 21:28
Yep being a plumber i have gotten out of trouble with footprints(pipe wrench)which gets enough grip at the end of the filter.The filter is of course strongest when it doesn't have too many holes in it. mark
FollowupID: 20778

Reply By: Busta - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 21:46

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 21:46
Cruza

ABW make a great filter tool, its a set of jaws that go over the bottom of the filter with a 3/8th drive attachment, just connect up extensions and uni joints untill you can get a rachet onto it. I borrowed this off my mechanic mate when the normal filter tool and the screwdriver method failed me on the HJ75. I reckon the main advantage is that you can get out into an open space and put some decent pressure on it.
AnswerID: 29662

Follow Up By: Cruza - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 22:16

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 22:16
Sounds like what I need. Whats is ABW?
FollowupID: 20782

Follow Up By: Busta - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 22:33

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 22:33
A company that make specialised tools, I think you can get em from places like Coventrys and All Tools
FollowupID: 20785

Follow Up By: Luke - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 00:21

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 00:21
I've seen these type of oil filter removal tools in a few places. three jaws with the 3/8 or 1/2" ratchet drive attachment.

Saw one at Supercheap Auto last week.....

Mate who has one like this says they work extremely well...
FollowupID: 20788

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 22:41

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 22:41
Cruza,
This may sound a little long winded but if you can get hold of an old timing chain (duplex chain) then weld an old half inch drive socket onto the chain somewhere. When you've done this slip the chain over the filter, put an extension bar in the socket and then get eithe a "T" bar or a big ratchet and undo in the normal direction, sometimes even trying to tighten a minute amount might help loosen the thread off. This home made tool has never failed me yet in twenty odd years of use. thechain digs in and as you use more force the chain digs in deeper.
By the sounds of things you are getting to the point of no return, the filter may have been cross threaded, they aren't usually that tight even if they are overtightened.
Good luck could turn messy by the sounds of things. Keep the shiny side up
AnswerID: 29677

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 23:29

Saturday, Aug 30, 2003 at 23:29
Are you sure your turning it the correct way??

Are you going counter clock wise looking from Top down or from the base of the filter up??

Its different...

Try the other way, if it is correct it will come off, if not it may also help by unseizing it.

YMMV
AnswerID: 29681

Reply By: squiz - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 08:14

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 08:14
I have one of the 3 finger claws , they do work well on an
intact filter.
Sounds like a hammer and chisel will have to be used on the
base of the filter . If you can get at it that way.
AnswerID: 29690

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 12:55

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 12:55
Hammer and chisel works Cruza. Get a dint going then tap it counter clockwise looking from below.
Last ditch effort b4 removing the whole thing off the motor.
ps sometimes high oil pressure does this on the hj60. Does your gauge sit on H?
Andrewwheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 29700

Reply By: howesy - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:37

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 19:37
I go with the hammer and chisel but make sure it is a really blunt one and use it on the rolled lip on the bottom closest to the engine. They tend to get tighter as time goes on when I change mine I use one hand to sort of nip it up and they aint come loose ever and I'm not what you call young been doin it for years. The other is spark plugs they only need to be nipped as well.
AnswerID: 29729

Reply By: Member - Al Symers (SA) - Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 21:34

Sunday, Aug 31, 2003 at 21:34
Cruz,
The location of the oil filter on the 60 series was determined by Barsta-rds Incorporated. The previous posts have given you the good oil on removal methods but when you screw the new filter back on, 2/3 fill the new filter with oil and rub a smear of oil around the O ring. When doing the filter up, only tighten it up with moderate hand pressure only. Top the engine up to the right level and start the motor up and check for oil leaks arouind the filter and drain screw. Good LuckAl Symers
AnswerID: 29740

Reply By: Cruza - Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 20:40

Monday, Sep 01, 2003 at 20:40
Thanks everyone for your help!

I ended up taking the whole bracket off the engine block. If you know your 2H motor, it really is very easy on these great motors! Then we cut the filter up with a ultra thin cutting blade and it has worked out fine. I wish people wouldn't overtighten the things though, there is really no need to bust your guts on it. This one was frozen in place, probably because the filter wasn't lubed up before installation.

The only trick was getting a proper gasket when putting it back on, this IS nessacary, even though the bloke at Autopro told me gasket goo would do. Re-doing the process 3 times was not fun. Next time I'll go straight for the proper gasket.

AnswerID: 29813