Gold detecting

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 11, 2009 at 16:09
ThreadID: 69721 Views:4208 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,

Am looking for any good gold detecting sites including forums. I'm a total novice but starting to get the bug so if you've got any links it'd be much appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Jun 11, 2009 at 16:50

Thursday, Jun 11, 2009 at 16:50
This is probably the best one I've seen so far.

http://goldandcoindetecting.invisionzone.com/forums/index.php?s=436e2ba7bd3e7cbe664278b74eab6252&act=idx

There are others but they seem to have less traffic or quite a few are US based - most are "very secretive" about locations and methods.

http://goldprospecting.invisionplus.net/

http://www.prospectorsparadise.com/index.html

Good luck with it!

Cheers
AnswerID: 369537

Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Jun 11, 2009 at 17:22

Thursday, Jun 11, 2009 at 17:22
Thanks.

Can't say I'd expect anyone to give up their spots but hope some are willing to freely pass on info. Things like general locations or fields, what to look for and what gear is better etc, etc.

I know it's an expensive pass time but was wondering how many long term travellers use it as a means to make a little money. Surely if you put the effort in at known productive fields you'll get something. I guess nothings assured but I mean a decent effort, some months of detecting.
FollowupID: 636945

Follow Up By: Flywest - Friday, Jun 12, 2009 at 16:09

Friday, Jun 12, 2009 at 16:09
I know of only one, in Oz who makes a full time living at it.

Most who make a living at any type of hobby (fishing detecting 4wding etc) seem to do so by selling stories to publications about their exploits to satisfy the vicarious need for those who work 5/7 etc and can't get away to do it themselves - i.e. "armchair experts".