TD42 + hiclone = ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 08:21
ThreadID: 6978 Views:3194 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
Has any one fitted a hi-clone to a TD 42 ? I can't afford a turbo or unichip yet.
I can only find feed back for petrol doncs. results 50/50.

Reply By: JohnH - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 09:56

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 09:56
Shannon, I had a hiclone in my troopy, 4.2, I would not recommend you waste your money. I rang the distributors about the fact that I wasn't getting any increases in performance or economy and they suggested I put another one in. Not likely. I'm not real sure if you are talking nissan or toyota but what I did do and it was a mod which was realatively cheap. I put a straight through muffler box on in place of the rear one. They are baffled at the back and a straight through one gave a noticble increase in power. They can be a little more noisey too which might turn you off. I also changed the air filter over to a uni filter. Hope this helps, in the end I turbo charged the vehicle and I swore that I would never own a diesel ever again without it being turboed.

JohnH
AnswerID: 29862

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 16:24

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 16:24
Hiclones arent anythign like a turbo or unichip at the best BEST of times.

Ive only heard of them working on 2 cars... Some people swear blind they do wonders!! But as the other bloke says, save that coin for a turbo, or even extractors, and exhaust, I know someone sellin some Pacemaker Extractors for GQ TD42.
AnswerID: 29907

Reply By: troy - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 16:37

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 16:37
i had 2 hiclones on my 2.8 deisel hilux for a trip to melbourne (from brissy)
no noticable change in fuel economy some increase in power (might also be wanting to find it). Got to Wangaratta on the return and took them out.
Same fuel economy as on the way down and power ... its a hilux if i wanted power i'd buy a WRX lol
Best thing to do buy 1 or 2 go for a long trip and if the work keep them if the dont return them under warenty. I had no troubles doing that.
troy
AnswerID: 29910

Follow Up By: troy - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 16:51

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 16:51
sorry typo
if they work keep them ... u know what i mean
FollowupID: 20950

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 18:22

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 18:22
gday shannon.
i phoned our local hiclone guy about doing dyno test before and after hiclone fitted.
i dont have a dyno he says.
i can get one for the test i said.
never heard back from him makes me wonder.
Hopeless
Inept
Crap
Lousy
Over rated
No good
Exaggerated
—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
AnswerID: 29918

Reply By: Member - Eric- Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 20:53

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 20:53
if anyone has fitted a snorkel on the 4x4 will find that all air dicts in the guards have a similar set up to the hiclone . Once I removed this item I increased the power on Gas by 5 % (approx) This item is fitted by the manufacturer to brake up dust & not to increase power . The only real system that can cause a "hyclone" efect , are twirl top valve . The valves help in mixing air fuel vapour in the combustion chamber . They cost a packet to fit , but at least they! work .
AnswerID: 29935

Reply By: CAMEL - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 22:32

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 22:32
Sounds like comparing a peanut to a bucket of KFC if your hungry?
4 of us tried them, 3 cruisers & a mits all diesels, results varied.
mits was noticible, turbo did come in earlier & economy better by 1.5lt /100km
1 cruiser had 2 with improvement in mid-range & economy, again 1.2lt/100km
the other 2 were pretty much insignifficant & were returned
One thing thing we all agreed upon was the reduction in black smoke
As for $/ go power not really worth it, economy improvement it's 20 000km
to recover costs / unit. Overall its 50/50

It's not a turbo effect but would put it between what you have now & a turbo is a quality set of extractors (the upper end) & tuned exhaust for about $800
The tuned system doesn't have the bark as others do, & power is noticibly better.
I've had both. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 29944

Reply By: ToyMotor - Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 20:33

Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 20:33
Mate, these things are the best things since sliced bread!

Not only will you get better economy, but also:

More power
Your chooks will lay more eggs
Your wife will INSIST on daily sex
Tyres last much longer
Vehicle will be immune to radar speed guns
I could go on....

Cheers ;-)
AnswerID: 30141