Best oil for Diesel Motors?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 18:08
ThreadID: 6988 Views:26919 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
Hello all,

I was having a chat with a service tech today and ended up discussing engine oils - basically it became a discussion regarding which oil was best suited for use in diesel motors.

He was adamant that Shell RimulaX is the ant's pants of diesel oils. What does everyone think? What's going to promote the longest life from the Prado's TD under all types of conditions (leaving aside cold weather running which it doesn't see any of)?

Also - having used one type of oil for a long period in an engine - will it make any difference changing to another brand? Some folks recommend not changing - but I've never fully understodd the reasons why...

Many thanx in advance,
Prado Boy

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 18:48

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 18:48
gday prado boy.
this is just my opinion i may be right i may be wrong im sure ill hear about it.
if you any good quality oil change it every 5000ks and filter every 10000 its not going to make a difference.i have worked in a few mechanical places and each one says this is the best oil to use.so long as its clean really shouldnt matter.—~‘¬‘¥•s’B
AnswerID: 29920

Follow Up By: Prado Boy - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 19:57

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 19:57
G'day Diamond,
Thanks for the info. I concur with you and the Prado sees regular servicing as per the service book - oil changes every 5000K's and Filter changes every 10000k's as you suggest.
Most service centres have some sorta deal with a particular oil suppier (as I understand it) so it's easy to see why they pedal a particular brand.
Prado Boy
FollowupID: 20977

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 20:08

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 20:08
Prado,

Have been using Rimula X for years, and have had no problems. Would agree with you that regular servicing probably counts more than the brand of oil. We also use the 5K/10K oil/filter regime.

We use the Rimula in everything from Cat grader, loader, landcruisers down to 9HP Kubota stationery engines.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 29925

Reply By: Goran - Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 23:57

Tuesday, Sep 02, 2003 at 23:57
For the life of me i can't understand you people that change oil every 5000km but leave old filter in place. What a false economy that is. All that wonderfull new oil gets contaminated by the fine metal particles and other rubbish after 20km down the road. Let me see, you get 50.000 + car and can't afford new filter? That is the worst thing you can do to a motor,never mind the brand of oil you pour in it.
Good luck.
AnswerID: 29952

Follow Up By: spotgj - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 01:24

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 01:24
Goran your right someones got it back to front.... if you want to throw good oil away change it every 5,000 ks,... my trucks go to 20,000 ks and change the filters at 10,000ks...so a lite donky should do 10,000 easy with a filter at 5,000k
FollowupID: 21012

Reply By: joshinthecity - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 00:46

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 00:46
yep.
I've never done a change in the Patrol without doing a filter.

They're cheap as chips.

J.
AnswerID: 29954

Follow Up By: Gqer - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 11:34

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 11:34
Hi Josh,

just how many km's you got up on that so far?
FollowupID: 21045

Follow Up By: joshinthecity - Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 04:01

Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 04:01
GQ,
I'm doing the 20,000klm change on Friday.

:-)
J.
FollowupID: 21136

Reply By: geoff - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 08:00

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 08:00
G'day,

as noted above, I go the oil and filter every 5000, buy the filters in bulk, gives you factory units cheap as the after market units and it keeps the 1HD-FT humming along...... every one will give you a different story, but the above method kept my old 2H running smoothly for many a hairy K and i am expecting the same with the new one.

AnswerID: 29957

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 10:20

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 10:20

What quantity is bulk & do I assume you hit up a toyota dealer for a discount?

Darryl
T/D Prado
Brisbane
FollowupID: 21039

Reply By: geoff - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 10:48

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 10:48
Dazmit,

We bought a box of 10 oil filters, Toyo gave them to us for $32 each and the fuel filters, box of 10, $40 each, (that was a big price drop!!!, and we scedaddled pretty quick once we paid for those ones.....) so it's a bit of an up front cost, but we are now covered for the next couple of years and having no excuses to not do the oil and fuel ensures they are done like clockwork....... hey, i've nothing against the after market stuff, but I dont mind using the factory stuff if I can get it reasonably priced..... and I do so love the mighty 1HD-FT and want to look after it....

AnswerID: 29971

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 12:47

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 12:47
Thanks Geoff

Good idea, I will approach my dealer.

Darryl
FollowupID: 21063

Follow Up By: Member - Peter [SA] - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 13:46

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 13:46
Need to hit your dealer a bit harder, I can buy oil filters singly for $32.00 for 100 series diesel.
Cheers Peter
FollowupID: 21071

Follow Up By: geoff - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 14:08

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 14:08
Peter,

if you can get em for $32 singly, then go the bulk buy, you should get em even cheaper.... at the end of the day what I'm saying is go the bulk buy, save a few bucks, stick with the factory parts and you cant help but come out a winner, or even settle for not coming out ahead, but certainly not coming out behind either. And anyway, he was only a little bloke, and if I hit him to hard I reckon i'd break him....... then where would I be when I needed him....... not that I am going to mind you.......

FollowupID: 21075

Reply By: Meggs - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 16:12

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 16:12
Prado boy Shell Rimula X is a very good oil in fact it is the premium shell diesel engine oil. When Shell brings out a new oil it retains the Rimula X name but is not the same as the previous Rimula X. Shell give the old oil a new name. In your case it wouldn't make any difference but Shell don't advise the use of Rimula X in old engines.
I don't believe you can put a fixed figure on oil changes as it is related to the type of driving, type of engine and type of oil Synthetic or Petrolum base. The indirect injection engines require more frequent oil changes than the direct injection engines.
Have a look a the following site, it is one person's gathering of information on oils and also includes links to some oil companies where synthetic oil properties are explained..
http://www.chris-longhurst.com/carbibles/

As they say oils aint oils sol.

AnswerID: 30002

Reply By: StephenF - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 16:49

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 16:49
I've used only Rimula X in my 1981 Peugeot diesel car since new, and after 260k kms it uses no more oil between changes than it did when new. Oil and filter changes have been at 5000kms.

Stephen.
AnswerID: 30008

Reply By: Prado Boy - Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 22:25

Wednesday, Sep 03, 2003 at 22:25
To one and all,

Many thanx for your advice and opinions - I had no idea the topic would create so much interest! You have certainly changed my way of thinking about oil & filter changes. I will now be
buying filters in bulk
changing filters every 5000Km's (my Toyota dealer will receive a call tomorrow)
changing the oil every 10000Km's
and researching the site Meggs gave above (thanx heaps Meggs - much appreciated) to find the latest 'good oil' as they say.

Very much appreciated folks! Prado Boy
AnswerID: 30050

Follow Up By: StephenF - Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 10:11

Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 10:11
Prado Boy,

Don't you mean oil at 5000 and filters at 10000? Never heard of anyone changing filters in between oil changes!

Stephen.
FollowupID: 21145

Follow Up By: ToyMotor - Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 20:18

Thursday, Sep 04, 2003 at 20:18
I think he's got it right - modern oils last 10,000 kms ok, but aftermarket filters will fill up with soot! Genuine Toyota filters have a far greater capacity for soot than aftermarket ones (but then they'd want to, wouldn't they, at that price!)

Oil and (genuine) filter at 10,000 is my opinion, or filter at 5,000 and oil at 10,000 if using aftermarket filters.

FollowupID: 21196

Reply By: David N. - Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 10:39

Friday, Sep 05, 2003 at 10:39
Clean oil is what it's all about...
you really should consider a bypass filter- both for less running costs (longer service intervals) AND longer engine life- IMHO.
I've been using them for 30 + years and the results are brilliant.
http://www.filtertechnology.com.au/
http://www.wefilterit.com/index.htm
AnswerID: 30198

Reply By: Member - Donald_L - Monday, Sep 08, 2003 at 21:56

Monday, Sep 08, 2003 at 21:56
Prado,
This is I think is close to the most common questions asked on this Forum.
The service people will always be bias to the oil supplier (contract holder & you mentioned Shell....does change over time).
There are heaps of recommendations on the forum & past experiences.
I have had Diesels of my own for many years and as quoted by other responses --oil filters are cheap as chips.
At 5000K warm the engine, & replace both the sump oil & filter allowing time for the old oil to completely drain.
The enemy is soot in the oil which causes wear & it gets there in the same quantity regardless of mineral or synthetic base oils. Why keep some in a filter...chuck it away.
cheers mate.Get out there and use it.
Life is too short not to.
All the best...
Donald
AnswerID: 30502