Caravanning Cape York 2009

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 16:16
ThreadID: 70007 Views:4846 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
Wondering if any other members are heading to/in the cape over the next few weeks. If so you may pass a slow moving Evernew van with Graham & Ann displayed on front and rear, give us a call on 40 if you want to have a chat. Tow tug is silver Navara D40 duel cab with canopy. Van has red Honda SL 230 on the a frame.

We've been on the road a month now, our trip is roughly going as per our Cape York 2009 Trip plan phase 1 of the 3mth trip is completed, ie going to the caravanners Thargomindah UWE and then onto Cooktown. Next 4 week phase begins Monday after our 9 days R&R here in Cooktown, we're all rested and ready to head north as per our trip plan, final maintenance completed today, removed spare wheel & jerry cans from the rear bumper to give extra clearance and reduce chance of damage on sharp/deep washaways/creeks. (after seeing van similar to ours that has just returned from the tip, like ours the van didn't have high cutaway rears and had damaged rear tyre/fuel/carriers bent up from dragging thru crossings, and this was caused on the main PDR washaways somewhere, not the Musgrave/Lakefield/Battle Camp Rd section) anyway thought it easier to change the bits around here instead of later at/if we come across sharp one or worse still after we damage same from dragging thru somewhere.

I'd picked up and fitted a new replacement rear canopy window for the tug at Cairns, (was broken b/w White Cliffs & Wanaaring) so during our rest here, I modified our stone guard to the same as it was on the old tow tug, also taped cardboard over the window. Stripped out the tub liner again to plug some holes I'd missed sealing previously to try to keep the dust out. the jobs a pain, but hopefully we have got all the holes plugged now, so should keep MOST dust out.

From all reports by guys that have come back from the tip in past few days, the roads are pretty good except around Bramwell. So come Monday we'll be heading up Battle Camp Rd thru Lakefield NP to Pandanus for the night and roughly following our trip plan from there on.

cya
Graham

Reply By: Graham & Ann - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 16:19

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 16:19
Hmmm just noticed the profile photo needs updading, old tow tug depicted is the old 1999 Pathy R50
AnswerID: 371048

Reply By: Member - T N (Qld) - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 17:12

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 17:12
Good luck on Battle Camp Rd, in our trip around Oz, it would be the worst road we traveled on.
P.S the Barra were still biting at Pandanus last week.
Safe trip.
AnswerID: 371055

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 17:35

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 17:35
Yep - The battle camp road can get real bad - you will get a rattle and a shake - It corrugates to the stage it will bounce you off the road. May pay to ring the Cook Shire to see if it has had its maintenance grade as yet. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 638355

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 19:44

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 19:44
Thanks for the input guys ...Been here in Cooktown for a week or more now, have spoken with guys who come back via Battle Camp Rd. have also been out to Isabella Falls.. so far it seems Battle Camp is as good a bitumen highway, graders have been thru recently, other parts of road upgraded and new bridge going in at Normanby river...

FollowupID: 638368

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 22:01

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 22:01
Graham & Ann
Do yourselves a favour (if you have not already) and check with National parks office in Cooktown, on the waterfront directly under Grassy Hill, and ask about the road through Lakefield.

I lost an inverter (shaken to bits internally) and got an expensive repair job to my navigation computer hard drive on that road. The corrugations were large enough to lose the Pasha Bulka in.

Another in our group had his exhaust system shaken lose on that road. Also check how the Nifold plains section is re towing the van.

If you intend skirting Lakefield Park and then onto the Development rd. then your information so far is fine.

If you intend going into the park then checking is a must do, if you want to take the van in there.

Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 638386

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 06:56

Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 06:56
Did I read that right - A BRIDGE OVER THE NORMBANDY RIVER? - Wow if that is the case - I would wonder why they would spend that type of money when you still could not do a round trip in the wet. You would need bridges over 2 places on the Laure as well. There are only a couple of people living out that way. Wow I would say again.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 638404

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 11:57

Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 11:57
Thanks for all the feedback guys.....

sorry but probably should have described the new bridge over the Noarmanby River as a 'NEW CROSSING/CAUSEWAY' lots of concrete pylons being carted on semi's to the site.

Up to date info direct from those who have just come thru towing vans/campertrailers thru Lakefield NP in past few days is roads pretty good, othing that bothered them ... generally we find that asking those that actually tow vans themselves who have just travelled in the areas we intend to go usually gives us best update info re our situation, otherwise we would never have caravanned many many places, ie Gibb river, Mitchell falls, kalumburu, Dalhousie, Mt Dare, Chambers Piilar etc...

We know conditions of dirt roads change daily, but with luck we wont have too much corrugated/bull dust roads to contend with, at least on the way up, on the way back maybe a different story.

cya
Graham
FollowupID: 638440

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 18:48

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 18:48
If you are coming through the Sunny Coast at any time we would love to have a look at your evernew van !
AnswerID: 371070

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 19:49

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 19:49
Be glad to show you our van, We do pass that way every now and again, but as our trip route shows wont be this trip, but really it's just an ordinary everyday Evernew, BUT it does have the 'sugar glider' coil/shocker suspension, make a big difference on the rough/corrugated roads..
FollowupID: 638369

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 20:35

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 20:35
Looks interesting ! Thanks for the info

will catch up on the road one day :-)

cheers doug
FollowupID: 638376

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 20:37

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 20:37
What motor does the D40 have ?

We have a 3lt TD rodeo just wondering about tow and power etc.
FollowupID: 638377

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 13:43

Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 13:43
The D40 has 4L petrol, all up our GCM is around 5200kgs depending on how much extra fuel & water we have on board. non towing overall we get around 15-16L/100km, hiway 110kph+ non towing 13-14L/100km, hiway towing 90-100kph we get 19-21L/100km, dirt roads (with reduced tyre pressures) towing 50-90kph we get 22-24L/100km. This trip so far we've done 5052km (79% or 3968km towing) and avg overall is 20.8L/100km.

Yeah the petrol likes the juice, but I do love the power!!! while it's not often we're overtaking with the van on but when we do it goes from 90kph to 110kph in a flash, (especially when compared to our old 3.3 Pathy)
cya
Graham
FollowupID: 638452

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 20:34

Saturday, Jun 20, 2009 at 20:34
G'day Graham & Ann, we will be leaving for the Cape in 2 weeks time, leaving Adelaide on the 4th of July. We'll have about 4 vehicles in convoy, i'll be in a white GQ Patrol towing a Cavalier off road camper, my dad will have a gold GU ute with tradesmans' canopy on the back towing a Spirit off road camper, my brother will be in a white GU wagon towing a Cameron off roader, plus our mate who has a white 80 series Cruiser with a roof top camper. Might see you on the road somewhere up there.

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 371080

Follow Up By: Graham & Ann - Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 11:40

Sunday, Jun 21, 2009 at 11:40
Hi brad, will keep a look out and say hi as we should be still up there somewhere when you get up there, we get back to Laura about 13 July.
to view our trip plan click this link

cya
Graham
FollowupID: 638437

Reply By: Graham & Ann - Friday, Jun 26, 2009 at 20:28

Friday, Jun 26, 2009 at 20:28
currently at Weipa Camp ground, nice spot, Woolworth supermarket has large range of goods, most reasonable price...fuel ulp $1.5109 'oil' $1.419
AnswerID: 372012