Snorkel - necessary ? - and which brand?

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 08:26
ThreadID: 70212 Views:14279 Replies:11 FollowUps:13
Never had a snorkel on any of my 4WD's. Heading to Cape York soon and considering having a snorkel installed, mainly for the creek crossings. Not interested in putting 'jewellery' on my truck, so if I don't need to spend the dough I will happily use it on shiraz to share around the campfire.

1. Are snorkels really necessary, as Keith Moon reckons in his Cape York book? I always carry a spare air filter, and the LC 80's air intake is pretty high for creek crossings.

2. Are some brands better/quieter/noisier than others. Have heard they can be noisy.

Reply By: Member - Terry W (ACT) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 09:02

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 09:02
The first vehicle to Cape York was an Austin 7 with no snorkel. Countless vehicles, both 2wd and 4wd have followed with no snorkel, while others in more recent years have had snorkels. Len Beadell opened up vast areas of outback Australia in Series 1 and 2 Land Rovers without a snorkel. You do not NEED a snorkel to go to the cape. There may be advantages in having a snorkel both from a dust and water crossing perspective, but the use of care when selecting crossing points and vehicle preparation and proper servicing of air cleaners in the dusty bits will avoid the NEED for one (unless you particularly want to drive through water over the engine intake in depth).
AnswerID: 372156

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 09:41

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 09:41
A very good reply Terry and I agree with you 100%.

Now, having said that, there are a number of advantages to fitting a snorkel over and above the wading height. Let's face it, no normal 4 wheel driver would be really comfortable driving through a river where the water is up over the bonnet. I've done it a few times and (to me) it is real "heart in the mouth" kind of stuff. I suppose if you're doing it all the time, then it becomes 2nd nature.

If you DO have to cross a river/creek which ends up being slightly deeper than you thought etc, then you're also going to have to make other provisions to guard against engine issues. The one that springs to mind is disabling the viscous fan so it doesn't become a propeller and force itself into the radiator. Or, you could make sure you fit a blind right across the front of the vehicle.

I have fitted snorkels to my last 3 Patrols, mainly for the dust issue and also because the air drawn into the engine is slightly cooler (so they tell me).

My current vehicle is a Patrol with a naturally aspirated 6.5 V8 Chev diesel. It drinks a LOT of air and I've just finished a project to remove the Safari snorkel that was fitted and replaced it with a home made 4" steel snorkel with a much larger air ram on top and a much more direct path into the air box. The effect seems to have been as I desired, but I won't know for sure until I hook the camper trailer on and try the whole rig out under load.

I can't imagine owning a 4x4 that isn't fitted with a snorkel. You may consider a snorkel as "jewellery", but I certainly believe the benefits of the concept far outweighs the bling factor. It only has to save you ONCE for it to have paid for itself.

Don't forget that a river/creek that is nominally lower than the standard air intake of you 4x4, can still cause you grief. If the water depth is, say, 800mm and your intake is 1000mm, you may think you have 200mm to spare.

WRONG!!!!!! Once you enter the water and create a bow wave, that water (that was only up to your waste when you walked the crossing), could now be completely over your bonnet.

If more than about a cup-full of water passes your air filter element (they're not designed to stop the flow of water), then you WILL "hydraulic" your expensive diesel motor. THAT is when you'll be wishing you shelled-out the $500- or so to have a snorkel fitted.

(BTW: The original poster mentioned a book by "Keith Moon"....... I think he meant Ron Moon).

FollowupID: 639427

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:19

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:19
Maybe it was Keith Moon,he did drive a Rolls Royce Phantom into a swimming pool ,so maybe he was doing research for his book on snorkels :wink:
FollowupID: 639437

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:26

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:26
Ross,

don't talk about My Generation like that.

Who Are You? Who Who

We won't be Fooled Again.

Are you Happy? Jack?

FollowupID: 639440

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 15:11

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 15:11
I think I meant Ron Moon
..it was a bit early this morning for my generation,
..wasn't trying to cause a big sensation.
FollowupID: 639460

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 09:46

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 09:46
They are good insurance ( especially in a diesel )..

Small ammount in a petrol ...pull plugs and eject it and maybe OK..

Small ammount in a diesel.....maybe goodnight Irene !!

I have a snorkel, but will still not go thru water unless I have to....
AnswerID: 372161

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 10:09

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 10:09
Like others have said...No, you dont need one.
It depends on where and how you drive.
But
The way I see it, its a couple hundred dollar investment to protect a $10000 engine....cheap insurance I reckon?

AnswerID: 372165

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:08

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:08
Spend it on your shiraz. Jewellery lol
AnswerID: 372171

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:29

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 11:29
Hi Smudger
I have one fitted, not for the water crossing ability, but for the fact of getting cleaner air. You will be driving on lots of dirt road driving conditions. Why suck dust from under your front guard, when you can get cleaner air from windscreen height. If you live in the big smoke and will hardly ever see a dirt road again, then take extra air cleaner elements as back ups.

AnswerID: 372176

Follow Up By: trainslux - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 12:31

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 12:31
I had a mate give me a sarfari snorkel for my birthday for my lux.

Once fitted, it ran better, and gave better milage, as the factory air ducting from behind the front headlight was quite restricted in design.
Snorkel allowed free flowing air.
Result, better performance.

Also gives you the benefit of drawing cooler air, as most air intakes are inside the front wheel guards of many 4x4's which is a pretty dusty, poor design.

if you go a snorkel, get extended diff, and gearbox breathers, and also your fuel tank breather if you want to tackle water crossings.

Trains
FollowupID: 639451

Follow Up By: SPRINT-GTO - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 12:46

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 12:46
Only two popular brands Safara or Airtech .Of the two the Safari seems most popular and thats what I have on my 100 Series Turbo Diesel.
Goodluck.
FollowupID: 639453

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 12:38

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 12:38
Smudger - To do Cape York river crossing this time of year is no problems - you will not need a snorkel.
I drove the Cape without one for work purposes and just after the wet seasons had finished. You just have to know your limitations.
They are good to have for various reasons, but they are only good if fitted correctly as well. I think a few people would not realize that even factory fitted snorkels can be a poor fit- thus not worth being on the car. Most people will not find out their snorkel is fitted badly as they will never put the car through water deep enough. We had a bloke in Cooktown drown his new Toyota Landcruiser for this reason.

So no they are not really needed, but good to have. Can be a little noisy if you drive with your window down, but it is no real problem. CHEERS Tony
AnswerID: 372185

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 13:40

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 13:40
Toyota recommends fording depth no more than 800mm WITH or WITHOUT their snorkel.
Than have more gaps than a politicians promises if you have a closer look at the joints under the guard.
Shane
FollowupID: 639454

Reply By: DesF - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 17:13

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 17:13
Hi, It would be handy but not absolutely necessary ,we did a bike trip ( self contained, no back up) in 89, before any of the bridges or causeways, and a Subaru Brumby wanted to travel with us, we said Ok but thought it would not get that far, we crossed the Bloomfield and Wenlock and the water was over the bonnet , he just had a tarp tied on the front and shut in the bonnet.
The Brumby went all the way to the top no worries except the corrugations broke a lift kit bolt about Archer River . he went around the development road when we did Gunshot etc.
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 372216

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 17:22

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 17:22
Three days ago Bridge creek or Nolans Brook, what ever you like to name it ,was just over the bonnet on a Triton ute. You decide
AnswerID: 372217

Follow Up By: Smudger - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 18:41

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 18:41
That's the sort of info I need. Thanks Tezza
FollowupID: 639484

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 20:16

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 20:16
I also agree with Tezza

This was taken just a few days ago

When you say you are going to Cape York - it is possible to go via the development road which is an easier option - or you can go via the OT track which includes Nolans
Nolans is deeper than it looks and a snorkel is a must

[img]
[/img] Nolan's Crossing
FollowupID: 639494

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 16:54

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 16:54
"Nolans is deeper than it looks and a snorkel is a must"
Certainly nothing in that photo that must require a snorkel. Fitting a blind & driving with a little less speed will see you safely accross any of the creeks on the OTL during the dry seasons as proven by the hundreds that successfully do it every year.
Other than the Pascoe River on the Frenchman's track almost all other Cape crossings on the main tourist routes are relatively short so even if the water splash's on the bonnet it's not normally a problem with a blind. I'd be far more concerned with getting water in the diffs & gearbox so if anything extended breathers are a must.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 639571

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:12

Monday, Jun 29, 2009 at 21:12
Be blowed if I wasn't just looking on another forum & saw this photo of a Jeep crossing the same creek less than 2 weeks ago at the same depth demonstrating exactly what I was saying. With a better line & speed the crossing doesn't look half as intimidating.
Cheers Craig............

FollowupID: 639622

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 10:29

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 10:29
Used a blind

No 'other' line was available due to previous scouring of creek bed from other users (Noklans is a very soft sand base)

Of the 7 vehicles that crossed Nolans when I did, 3 stalled just at the point that they were due to exit the creek due to a high 'bank' created by previous users - perhaps the crossing would have been done differently on another day if this 'scouring' hadnt occurred

Some speed (perhaps not 'quite' as much as I used) was necessary to overcome the issues stated above

Of the 3 that stalled - 1 troopy - no issues - snatched out and all was well

1 - 7 month old, stock standard, prado - no issues, other than his dash lights all lit up for about 2 days after until the water had all dried out - continued trip without any lasting effects

1 'other' (not sure if Toyo or Nissan) - must have injested some water and was a sick puppy for a number of days - came across driver in Seisa and he had put it into garage to have motor looked at

All vehicles had snorkels - the 'other' had a snorkel but upon inspection he found that the drain hole in his airfilter wasnt closed properly and he must have sucked water in - I am mot 100% sure of the facts a she wasnt travelling with our group.

So in answer to the original question - I belive if you are going to go to the Cape via the OTT then a snorkel is required - just as recovery gear, recovery points and comprehensive vehicle insurance is.

FollowupID: 639666

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 19:29

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 19:29
Smudger
To give you an insite Bridge Ck is usally the deepest creek It ia not very wide. For example with our tag along tours many of our customers do not have snorkles.
Our method is to use a Michelle Saccs water blind on every vehicle and we join 2 snatch strap together and have the vehicle that has allready crossed waiting on the far exit draining water ,and ready to assist in an immediate recovery.
Two snatch straps just about spans the creeks width.
We have used this method countless times and never got one wet.
I suppose alls well unless you are the first vehicle in which case the water blind
will probably do the job but you will determin that after you have had a walk backwards and forwards through the creek Hope this helps

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 372236

Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 20:14

Sunday, Jun 28, 2009 at 20:14
I saw a great one go past last week on a Hilux ute.

It was made from 90mm PVC Piping with the appropriate toilet exhaust pipe fittings on the end of it !!

There was a lot of gaffer tape and bog where it entered the engine.

I would have loved to get a photo of it!
AnswerID: 372242

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 08:30

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 08:30
Hi Smudger

Never had one myself, but do have an out.

My petrol patrol is pretty immune to water except of course directly via the air intake.

I have also never really felt that the issue of dust was that real unless you are close behind another vehicle.

in my car it has a moveable plastic air intake pipe that connects to the normal air inlet behind the lights.

This plastic pipe can easily ,and without tools, be rotated 180 degrees towards the rear of the engine bay such that the water intake level is at about 1.3m and water comes over front of bonnet at about 1.2mm which is getting deep and basically I stay out of water that deep espically if moving.

The water blinds can help, however I find there is a catch with them in that they are not needed in my car when water is a meter deep and while they are useful over that a second problem comes in then , and that is that over a meter of water the car begins to get very light and water blind creates extra resistance to forward travel and can de-stabilze the car so you are better off (in my patrol) not using a blind unless you feel you have little choice.

Its different for other cars and worth sorting this point out for your set-up.

AnswerID: 372412

Follow Up By: Smudger - Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 10:05

Tuesday, Jun 30, 2009 at 10:05
Robin,
I wasn't aware when I posted the question that the 80 Series air intake is in the wheel arch, which pretty well made my mind up for me.
My other trucks have all been petrol - Patrols and Disco's - and like you I used a blind in deep water. Been through creeks up to a metre deep without issue, but as a couple of the replies have said, even a few ounces of water can ruin a diesel.
FollowupID: 639664