New 'Cruiser 79 concerns

Submitted: Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:04
ThreadID: 70833 Views:10847 Replies:4 FollowUps:26
I had been toying with buying a new 79 series Land Cruiser Traytop until I saw a recent advert by Prosser Toyota here in WA saying "Last chance for the non airbag models - Beat the price rise, beat the Air Bag". Does this mean that the new 79 model comes with some unwanted gadgets & gizmos as well a price hike ? Must say I'm a bit mystified as to why a dealer would be promoting non airbag models over those with them as they are recognised as a safety item ? Anyone throw any more light on what's behind this ? Cheers, Old Mal

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:15

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:15
Mal,

having a look myself. The new model the VDJ79R (Build commenceing July 1, 09) has a different dash layout and includes airbags. Dash is a little more sedan like and a fair departure from the standard troopy/ute configuration of previous models. Didn't think the price rise was all that much actually, a grand or so. What I can't comprehend is why the cab chasis is only a grand chaper than the wagon considering how much less bodywork there is.

Cheers. Mick

AnswerID: 375382

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:26

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:26
Gday Mick,
Toyota charge what they like because theres no competition and they have had a waiting list since the the V8 was released and the 4.2 GU was dropped.

phil
FollowupID: 642629

Follow Up By: age - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:44

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:44
Hey Mick

Got a link to a website with any photos of the new dash etc - Toyota website still showing old model

A
FollowupID: 642634

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:52

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:52
Dead right Phil. Nissan shot themselves in the foot removing the 4.2.

"Age", I have only got a Toyota Dealer document that gives a drawn schematic of the new interior. Looks good compared to the old...think late 90's Sth American model Prado equivilent lol.

FollowupID: 642637

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:32

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 09:32
A friend who worked out in the station country always told me that for the best deal in australia on a toyota ute was to go to Black Toyota, i think in Roma.

There are plenty of people who dont like fang dangles like air bags, so my guess is that this is why the dealer was using it as a selling point.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 643485

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:33

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:33
Gooday Mick,
welcome home... how was the trip? Got any new blogs up yet? (haven't had the chance to look to see if you have).

Thinking of buying a new truck are you?
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 375386

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:49

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 14:49
Howdy Fred,

a most interesting couple of months. Got a couple up but will start again in earnest over the next few weeks. Made a few discoveries and covered some very remote territory. Enjoyed 60 outback sunsets so that's gotta be good.

Cheers mate.

Mick

FollowupID: 642636

Reply By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 16:10

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 16:10
Hi Mal

I have a VDJ 79 Ute for a year now - no air bags and no ABS brakes. I understand these features where omitted from the series by toyota after surveying the audience of most common consumers - like farmers, mines, and others. I have heard ABS brakes can be quite unpredictable on corrugated roads. Also airbags can be deployed in offroad situations where your car hits a washaway or is in some rough country. I have read the new utes are comming out with a new dash and airbags plus ABS brakes. Maybe more.

For myself I believe air bags where invented primarily for the american market where many do not wear seatbelts. I am comfortable wearing my seatbelt all the time and not having air bags. In my landcruiser ute I think I will still be alright even in an accident with another car. As for putting up with ABS brakes in an offroad corrugated situation - no way - I like to be in control of my braking.

Many others have expressed a need for these extras and if that is the security they like - it is their call but they should buy a more suburban toorak tractor rather than a work horse like the toyota ute. I hope they retain this current series for many years as I find this ute just awesome. I like the robust and yet simple dash and would not like a plastic fantastic dash.

Another issue with airbags is the accessories like roo bars are more complicated = expensive. If your airbags are not maintained and do not deploy in an accident insurance companies might not pay out fully. A question that has been raised before is about maintainence on airbags. Any other compressed container i.e. fire extinguisher - needs regular maintenance checks. Once you have a car with air bags how do you know they will work after 5 years. If you do have a small accident and they do deploy - they cost big $$$$ do get changed.

I am happy with my ute. Be more happy if there where not so many electronics under the bonnet. But they have made a very good motor.

AnswerID: 375396

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 16:23

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 16:23
"Any other compressed container i.e. fire extinguisher - needs regular maintenance checks"

There is no compressed container in an airbag system. It is inflated by a chemical reaction. Basically a small explosion.
FollowupID: 642648

Follow Up By: Drew Peacock (W.A) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 18:52

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 18:52
David I think you are highly misinformed regarding ABS and air bags.

Cheers Drew
FollowupID: 642677

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 19:35

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 19:35

My line of work takes me to numerous car accident scenes...usually high speed related. Messy? of course but none messier than frontal impacts where no airbag is deployed.

Even with a seat belt on at 110Kph if you impact another object coming the other way at the same speed you hit at 220kph. Neither your seat belt or air bag will likely save you at that velocity but even at lesser speeds your seat belt will hold you in place just nicely as the crushing impact on the front end forces the windscreen closer to head...which by the way is being flung forward by the force of the impact. The difference between a broken neck and your head going into the windscreen will always be the airbag.

Even if your head doesn't hit the screen, the energy forcing your head forward will cause the bridge of your nose to hit the top of the steering wheel, pushing your face backwards into your head. I've seen it a few times.

I'll take the airbag option anytime and just hope i never have to use it.

And by the way, one of the reaons I believe Yota are putting the airbags in is to try and recoup the lost sales in the mining and other sectors because of the Occ Safety issues....so I am led t believe anyway...alway I am no expert in that field.

Drive safe.
FollowupID: 642697

Reply By: Member - Rob - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 17:33

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 17:33
Hi Mal
We have been traveling just over a week now and I have spent time around the campfire with 3 79 owners and each of them are farily vocal about them. Each one of them had to replace injectors which cost $2600.00 each. One of the blokes replaced 2 so he is fairly critical. Toyota have told him to trade it in and get a series 2 but he is hesitant as they have fixed all the problems.
I am an avid toyota man but there is a lot of farmers out here who have switched to Patrols and are loving them. If you want a 4.2 wait for the release of the new 4.2 patrol late next year.

One farmer has garaged his 2 series ones and is flogging them off. When the farm gets boggy apparently they struggle because the wheels are wider at the fron than the back but I dont know for sure as that is what I was told.
Good Luck Rob
Doing it tough at Cania Gorge tonight.
AnswerID: 375409

Follow Up By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 17:57

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 17:57
Do they use a good fuel additive in every tank to help with the poor quality of our diesel fuel. My 76 has 50000k on it now with no dramas with the injectors. A little blue smoke at the moment on startup but I think this is more to do with the cold weather, I hope.
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

FollowupID: 642662

Follow Up By: Member - Rob - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 20:04

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 20:04
Yeah some have used fuel additives but to no avail. Nothing strange with the blue smoke.
Night
FollowupID: 642703

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:33
May need to look up the price, heres the part number 23670-59015
FollowupID: 642727

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:36

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:36
Really Rob , $2600 for the injectors , the other day someone was saying that Prado ones were $1000 each and I was in shock.

Better stick to the simple reliable and maintainable petrol , although I did get a cost of $149 once for an injector and I thought that was tough !
FollowupID: 642731

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:52

Monday, Jul 20, 2009 at 21:52
I have written a bit on the "series 1" V8 cab chassis" in other posts. Like David I actually own and drive one, a 2009 model bought in March. Given it is mid July if I was buying now I would have a look at the new model. I take it on trust that the statements of a production run in July are correct. I have no information on this.

As I have said before elsewhere the "series 1" vehicles I know of have been pretty trouble free. It is my view that the injector problems have been exaggerated out of all proportion. The Toyota mechanic I know has said there have been a few in with injector issues. This is traced back to the use of inferior fuel. The injectors are fairly easy to service, apparently a lot less costly than other Euro IV compliant common rail diesel engines around. He did mention a price for injector service and it did not worry me. It was a lot less than mentioned in the earlier posts. This is the price of meeting Euro IV with indifferent quality local diesel fuel.

I heard of the "farmer" reverting to his old model. I think that story has been around for 12 months or so. I would have liked to have bought one of them cheap given it a good service and have a good vehicle and saved twenty grand.
Urban myth? Rural myth? Who was the farmer, from which property and exactly when? Anything less than that sort of info and the story is not credible.
Maybe a silly observation but if he was concerned with the rear track being narrower why did he not fit spacers. No legal problem when on farm.

I researched all these stories intensively before buying and it was only after talking to the mechanic that I went ahead and ordered - off a different dealer as it turned out. Oh he mentioned another "problem" with the motor. One case of a 200 series motor breaking a ring. Shock horror the almost same engine in 200 series breaks rings!

Where I am the blokes fall into two groups. Those who have one and those who want one. The wanters fall into two groups. Those who praise them and those who knock them - a type of jealousy perhaps. This observation was made by a respected person in the village who is not a mechanic and had observed the reaction to my vehicle from the locals. I was rather surprised as to me it was just another cruiser. There are lots and lots of the older six cylinder model and now 3 of the V8s close by and a few more out on the properties.

Supply and demand. I got mine at a good price. The dealers apparently stopped ordering from Toyota last year as the global problems struck and then were left in a position of demand picking up again and a shortage of stock occurring as there was not much coming through from Toyota because dealers had not ordered earlier. This hiccup may have passed by now as global economic things seem to be settling down.

Final thought on this done to death subject. Why do the owners of the V8 cruiser love them so much? I have yet to come across an owner of one knocking the vehicle.

FollowupID: 642739

Follow Up By: jdphoto - Tuesday, Jul 21, 2009 at 08:49

Tuesday, Jul 21, 2009 at 08:49
I second most of what Flynnie says.

I have a 2007 76 series GXL with 65000klm and no problems to date.

And it amazes me how many people ask about the vehicle (the wagon is still a very uncommon sight), and then want to tell me about all of the problems they (the vehicles) apparently have. Last time that happened I told the bloke that the ones who knock them are probably just jealous because they don't have one.

None of these comments have come from owners of of the new V8's by the way.

FollowupID: 642802

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 20:21

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 20:21
I have one...4.5V8 cab chassis.....I love it to bits ..I trust it and Toyota implicitly and am sick of all the Bullsh*t about it from people who dont own one......mine has 27k on the clock...two serious trips off road trips ..many more to come

so!!!
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 643046

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:48

Wednesday, Jul 22, 2009 at 21:48
bungarra

I can't wait till mine gets old enough to trade in, just to get a newie.

But might have to buy the missus one .. mmm that way we will never have to travel alone.. LOL

FollowupID: 643069

Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 16:35

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 16:35
Hi Rob

Just a follow up on the 3 blokes who said they paid $2600 for a new injector. How come they did not have them replaced under warranty and not pay anything. I wonder if they extended the truth a bit to you. I have heard of injectors being replaced but always under warranty and I would suspect from poor quality fuel.

FollowupID: 643173

Follow Up By: sasha2001 - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:28

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:28
In New Zealand there has been problems with new Toyota 70 series v8 diesel engines.
I can confirm that v8 uses oil I heard of a early(07year ) v8s using sump full in 500km to 1000km, there is a modification out, piston ring problems apparently and they do not "run in" and end up with glazed bores, you have to scream to get is fixed (heard from toyota mechanic in wellington)
Also big problems if you get water in the diesel(typical from a farmers tank or bad batch of fuel ordinary diesel can have 500ml in 1000litres stanard, combine this with condensation in a fuel tank and you are heading for trouble!!), fuel filter system are not up to it and engines may need entire fuel system replaced from the tank forward to the engine rail up to $40000(at present for everything including 8 injectors etc!!!), NOT A WARRANTY PROBLEM according to Toyota NZ, hi luxes (latest) are doing this also but cheaper $18000 only. Heard if 3 in canterbury and toyota tech guy admited he knew of at least NINE more!!!, people trying to get help from toyota to fit extra fuel filters in the fuel system but they are not interested!!!
Buy a racor fuel filter funnel for your diesel when you fill up!! and maybe someone will come up with a racor or simliar "extra filter/water seperator in the fuel Line as a after market feature
ALso foresty gangs have used them and 3 engines have gone around 60000km
Toyota are denying anything and would not honor warranty until pressured by the treat of publicity in car magazines etc
get some water into your rail and it "blows" the injector tips and causes rough running and loss of power, better to take precautions as above
FollowupID: 643220

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:36

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:36
Hi Sasha

Your making my petrol engine sound better and better
FollowupID: 643222

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:54

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 20:54
sasha you make a lot of noise and inuendo in your post and start with "I can confirm" and then you appear to be stating "facts" as you heard them.....pity you are not able to state "as i have personally experienced them"..your post may have some credibility then (perhaps)

I do own one and I do know a lot of others that do as well.........and accordoingly your post has no cedibility with me and I guess with a lot of others who may actually have some first hand experience.

I personaly know a couple of owners that did have some oil burning issues and they informed me it was a gasket issue that was readily fixed by Toyota...(my only bit of hearsay that I am prepared to pass on that is not from my own experience)

perhaps I am not a typical farmer as my farm tanks hold diesel not water

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 643230

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 23:00

Thursday, Jul 23, 2009 at 23:00
From what I have been able to find out the 2007 oil consumption problem on some early ones was to do with scavenger pump issues and not piston ring problems. Could be wrong but found this on Google searches, credibility unknown. Am I wrong to think it is 2009 and to think that some early problems are now corrected. My 2009 model does not use oil, does not blow turbochargers etc etc. The others I know of are mainly 2008, one might be a 2007. Must ask the owner next time I see him.

The Manual that came with my vehicle stresses the need for diesel without water. I am not a mechanic but I would hazard an opinion that if you hit any common rail system with water you will have problems. So if one fills up out of industrial or dodgy farm tanks with lots of water there will be problems. This is not a Toyota problem but more an issue of abuse of the equipment. Even my diesel ride on mower manual warns on this and as far as know it does not have a common rail engine.

There is a light on the dash of the landcruiser that warns if the fuel filter has picked up too much water and it requires IMMEDIATE attention and damage will follow if it is ignored (that is my interpretation of the manual). It is not hard to clear it. The manual explains how. Yes I did take the time to read it. The manual states the filter cannot cope with an abnormally high amount of water in the fuel. That said I do know personally of one bloke who did use pretty dodgy fuel and had some rough running that was fixed. It did not cost much either. It was not a big deal.

I prefer to fill up at truckstops and not out of drums. If filling out of drums, is it not standard practice to use a filter that will catch water and other muck? If this is not done then don't whinge about the consequences.

The common rail engines do require cleaner fuel and better filters than before. This is a bit of a disadvantage, no doubt. Offsetting this disadvantage is better power, better fuel economy and cleaner emissions.

Love my cruiser!

FollowupID: 643277

Follow Up By: sasha2001 - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 10:29

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 10:29
Sorry if i upset people, I am only trying to help, the person that knows about the fuel problem is a friend in the FWD club who has a Landcruiser and loves them, he sells fuel filters/systems to farms, trucking firms, car dealers, industrial sites all over New Zealand etc and was only reporting what he knows and has learned over time, I thought by passing this on it might help some people. as someone stated the new engines are not as "bullet proof" as the old ones, thats all. If using fuel from a dodgy tank people should be aware thats all, seems to me people take things very personally instead of in the spirit in which it is intended.
FollowupID: 643329

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:51

Friday, Jul 24, 2009 at 18:51
I doubt anyone got upset. Cruiser owners have thick skins and only one eye. So they can take it.

I noticed this thread was becoming a bit polarized between owners and non owners.

Though I would disagree that the fuel problems are a Toyota problem I think it is vital that people changing over to the newer vehicles, all brands, realize that they may have to be an awful lot more conscious about fuel quality than they ever been before.
FollowupID: 643419

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 10:42

Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 10:42
Sasha, your post is based on hearsay, and the over use of exclamation marks gives readers the impression that you are standing toe to toe, shouting in their face.

Your comments, presented as fact, do not gel with the experience of owners of these vehicles.

FollowupID: 643490

Follow Up By: Member - Christian P (WA) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 17:43

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 17:43
I own a 08 cruiser ute have had no dramas with it at all, done 45000 in her now, love it to death, any one that has visited a town with a Rio minesite will attest how many 70-76 series cruisers that run around the area, my wife works at Tom Price Light Vehicles on the mine site they have had no dramas with the 200+ odd 70-76 series vehicles that run around the area, i reckon thats saying something especially being mine vehicles, and copping a flogging.
FollowupID: 643850

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 18:26

Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 18:26
One thing is for sure, head up north where people really need a reliable 4wd and it's all cruiser country, mostly diesels and of all eras. Heaps of 70s and 76s, 100s, 200s, 80s, 60s running around. Then mabye a few hiluxes and patrols getting around. Toyota are as popular as ever and it seems that problems even with the new V8 are few and far between other than contaminated fuel. They really have the remote markets to themselves.

FollowupID: 643859