Taiwanese Barramundi Fillets ???

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 22:58
ThreadID: 71462 Views:12754 Replies:16 FollowUps:23
On special at Coles today.

Barramundi Fillets......Product of Taiwan.

Allways assumed this fish was native to Australia. Please tell me I'm missing something here.

Cheers......Lionel.

Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:03

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:03
Have to wonder what this country is on about. We have people out of work and yet we send all this money over seas. Guess it leaves more in our waters for me to catch on our next trip around LOL.

Josh
AnswerID: 378745

Reply By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:11

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:11
Gidday

Grown all over Asia, even in the US, in fish farms ... just like the prawns

I suspect most of the barra yiou see on hotel and restaurant menus comes from there unless they say optherwise

rocco
AnswerID: 378747

Follow Up By: Mike GU - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 03:06

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 03:06
Your suspection is wrong, at least from the restaurants ive worked in for the past 10yrs, we dont have to or feel obligated to state in the discription of menu item or the fish of the day the location in which it was caught or whether it is farmed or wild caught, as I for one and most of the Chefs i have worked under always seek wild, line caught fish and only look to farming or international produce when not available in australia or out of season (marron, yabbies, cherabin).

But if in doubt always ask!

From my experience most of the barra you see on Aussie menus is north aussie barra farmed or wild caught.

Restaurants only interested in the profits usually dont care about the growth of australian aquaculture, only about how much they can pocket getting it from the cheapest supplier and these are the ones selling thai barra.

Dont believe everything you read
FollowupID: 646315

Reply By: cycadcenter - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:14

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:14
Hi Folks,

I'm an Aussie living in San Diego and we often see Barra in the supermarkets here.....all farmed in USA, Asia or Mexico.

Seems as though about 5 years ago there were millions of fingerlings exported to these countries to set up fish farms.

One has to start to wonder what will be next on the list to sell overseas.

Bruce
AnswerID: 378749

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:26

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:26
Thanks gentlemen........missed the obvious.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 378751

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 07:08

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 07:08
lionel, they are also found in the wild in new guinea, borneo and a few other places
FollowupID: 646123

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:32

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:32
My wife had a restaurant an always served Aussie Barra

She says imported stuff used to be Nile Perch which looked identical but didnt taste as good.

Depending where it comes from the mercury levels may cause you to light up at night

AnswerID: 378754

Follow Up By: Twintrail(W.A.) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:58

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:58
Hi graham, are you still on the road ,i thought you would haven given me a ring by now. regards pedro
FollowupID: 646099

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 00:20

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 00:20
Havent got that far yet Pedro still too cold down there.

Another month maybe.
FollowupID: 646102

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 08:05

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 08:05
Barra is native to a lot of Asian waters. Nile Perch is a different fish (Lates niloticus) to Barra (Lates calcarifer) Nile Perch is a fresh water fish and an interesting article isHERE Just they are both big and also same family.

Wikkipedia says "The Barramundi (Lates calcarifer) is a species of catadromous fish in family Latidae of order Perciformes. The native species is widely distributed in the Indo-West Pacific region from the Persian Gulf, through Southeast Asia to Papua New Guinea and Northern Australia."
FollowupID: 646323

Follow Up By: wendys - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 14:26

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 14:26
Suspect Nile perch is quite often passed off as Barramundi. I have certainly worked where that is the case and have even been told by customers "that is the best barramundi I have ever tasted"!!!!
FollowupID: 646364

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:37

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:37
The species is by no means confined to Australia, being widespread (in the wild) throughout SE Asia, to China, and as far away as the Persian Gulf..
They closely resemble the Nile Perch..

Hope ya left the imported stuff right there on the shelf!!

I have a real 'bee in my bonnet' about imported foodstuffs , not only seafood, but also canned/frozen vegies, you name it:(

The cook in this household is under strict instructions to _read the bl@@dy label!_ before placing items in trolley, and the imported stuff goes right back on the shelf..

Clothing and footwear... better not get started on that one ;-)

OK, off my soap-box now.............

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 378757

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:46

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 01:46
I agree with you Ed, as far as I am concerned their stuff can be sent there sideways and the chief cook has the same attitude. The trouble is a lot of ausie manufacturers are now set up across there.
The waters around Asia are that poluted you wouldn't know what you are going to end up with.
The rig

FollowupID: 646115

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 09:43

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 09:43
Can I borrow your Soap Box for a minute Ed if your not using it? :)
It's getting harder and harder to find locally grow produce,
For example, Do you know that most champigon mushrooms are now imported from China. Why can't we grow and package them here?
Our farmesr have strict guide lines and have to meet a certain criteria to sell their produce to us, Can we be guaranteed that the imported stuff meets the same guide lines and standards? NO, They can't.
If they were using the same farming practices as our farmers the cost would not make it viable for them to send their produce half way round the globe and slap it on our dinner table.
Your right Tony, A friend of mine just recently visited Taiwan where some of these prawns are grown. He said you wouldn't want to fall into the water that they're grown in, It's near pure sewage. Yuk.

I'm finished now,
An body else what to borrow Ed's soap box LOL :)

FollowupID: 646137

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:19

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:19
Glad some one else has a Bee in there bonett over frozen imported foods, do they adhere to the correct label rates when spraying what do they spray with!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what fertilser do they use!!! god help us. as for the Barra i have been through a barra farm and tasted the end product, nowhere near as good as wild barra, it put me off investing in the project!! as for barra farms over seas can we trust they do things properly, i think not, i have seen these as well, not many beaches left all carved out for aquaculture.

But in saying that we all have demanded cheaper products and to achieve that we have ended up with a global economy, and companies cut corners to provide a cheaper product, now who's the guinea pig!!
FollowupID: 646149

Follow Up By: The Lobster - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:37

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:37
I always thought that 'Nile Perch' was just the commercial name for farmed barra. Much like 'crystal bay' prawns are just farmed banana prawns that have been given a commercial name.

matt
FollowupID: 646151

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:48

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:48
Matt while similar to Barra Nile Perch are a seperate species that can breed in fresh water. About thirty years ago their was a big push to bring them into Queensland and stock them in dams. I think we have enough ferals here now so thank god common since prevailed.
FollowupID: 646236

Reply By: veight - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:45

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:45
There is a HUGE taste difference if you know what true fresh barra
taste like.
All this talk about Barra - maybe I should go fishing this weekend for some.
( I live in Darwin so it don't take me long to get to the good fishing spots )
AnswerID: 378759

Follow Up By: turbopete - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 09:39

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 09:39
farmed barra and prawns taste,,they have no taste compared to the wild product
FollowupID: 646136

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 13:16

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 13:16
I saw something on TV the other night about farming prawns in ponds.
They have to pour anti biotics and other muck into the ponds to keep them alive.
This is why packaged prawns have come down in price in recent years even though it is mushy krap
FollowupID: 646171

Follow Up By: jackablue - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 16:36

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 16:36
Thats right Ross m

And the other chicken farms doing the same which are built out over the ponds killing two birds with one stone theory. feed the chook to feed the prawns. Buy cheap crap eat cheap crap.
FollowupID: 646380

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:53

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:53
Im thinking thats where Siz***r gets in prawns from. I feel sick even though it was a year ago
FollowupID: 646410

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:50

Wednesday, Aug 12, 2009 at 23:50
The only barra worth eating is the wild saltwater variety. Barra grown in fresh water farms or taken from the upper reaches of a river don't tast the same. They started a barra farm on the Ord River dam in Kunnunarra WA some time ago but closed it down because, as one of the locals informed me, the fresh water fish didn't have the same taste. Nile Perch has been sold as barra for many years, and it is not, nor does it taste like genuine Barramundi
AnswerID: 378760

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 00:25

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 00:25
What about Atlantic Salmon from Tasmania? Wife bought some Barra that supposedly came from Esperance
AnswerID: 378764

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:36

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 17:36
Tasmanian farmed salmon is as bad for you as all farmed fish

Farmed fish in health value is nothing like fresh fish and is full of bad acids and things to the body. Australian farmed fish is bad enough, imported farmed fish and prawns is deadly
FollowupID: 646211

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 04:12

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 04:12
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 378771

Reply By: kevanancy - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 08:53

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 08:53
Maybe off topic but this thread reminds me of when the PM gave everyone a handout and suggested we all go out and buy a big screen tv . I am pretty sure all big screen tv's are made overseas , so essentially if we buy one the money goes overseas , couldn't work out how that would help our economy. As for the thai barra , it should be outlawed as should their prawns , we have plenty of both in australia .
AnswerID: 378780

Follow Up By: kevanancy - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 08:54

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 08:54
Sorry meant 'Australia'
FollowupID: 646130

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:24

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 11:24
Hey Lionel,
We just had fish and chips in Derby and they had "farmed barra" or 'wild barra" on the menu. About $10.00 difference. By the way we paid the extra.

AnswerID: 378792

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:45

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:45
Giday Steve, how long are you in Derby for mate.
My brother is a registered nurse at the hospital. Always looking for a reason to take the boat out for a days fishing. Its a beaut too.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 646202

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:58

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 18:58
How are you going big fella?
I wish you had told me about your brother a bit sooner. We are back home now. As a matter of fact we just went up for the weekend. Spent a week going up and another week coming back. Great spot up there.

Take Care,
FollowupID: 646401

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 12:37

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 12:37
It isn't just a difference between "farmed " and "wild". Barra from their saltwater phase tastes much better than the freshwater version. the flesh is firmer, and they are more fun to catch when in saltwater as well.
AnswerID: 378809

Reply By: bgreeni - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:48

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 15:48
I suppose all those who don't want to eat imported food or clothes would also tell those same people overseas not to buy Australian beef, or wine, or iron ore etc... Provided the price and quality is right I don't care where it's made.

We all live in a global village and protectionism is the biggest threat to all of us and our pay packets.
AnswerID: 378833

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:25

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 16:25
Hi bgreeni,
A fair enough point but I don't believe they can compare or guarantee quality. It's price that drives these products onto our shelves as well as back handed deals behind closed doors with politicians.
Other countries have trade barriers and levees, yet this country is prepared to sell off just about all. Sorry I don't believe that there will ever be a level playing field.
In my book, a free market means under cutting your competitors, which means cutting corners.
EG; I've worked in the building industry for twenty odd years, I've seen blokes under cut others on jobs and think 'How does he do that? he can't be making any money out of the job.' It has to be he is cutting out quality of materials, or he is under insured or some other means.
I support our producers and manufacturers were and when ever I can, In fact I go out of my way to. :)

FollowupID: 646200

Follow Up By: bruce - Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:58

Thursday, Aug 13, 2009 at 19:58
If this country did not have such high living standards then we would not need such high wages to support those living standards , then we could produce goods at a cheaper price because of the lower wages being paid to the workers....but we have , so we pay....cheers
FollowupID: 646243

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 16:28

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 16:28
I wouldn't be so sure about the superiority of our food inspection standards. There have been a number of concerns from overseas countries over the years about the water quality in Australian food processing. Russia has just cancelled kangaroo imports because of processing quality concerns. Remember the horsemeat substitution racket in Oz meatworks, about 20 years ago, I think. Heavy metal contamination of fish caught in bays around Australia has been an ongoing concern. Our use and control of pesticides is nothing to be overconfident about either.
FollowupID: 646379

Reply By: Buggerlux - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 00:08

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 00:08
Australia has Barramundi aquaculture and a good one which exports to the USA via Darwin I think.

Coles probably gets the Taiwan Barra cheap. Its disappointing Australia with some help from the government cant take our Barra farming to the next level, especially with concerns over fish stocks. They are soon to create no take zones yet wont encourage the creation of next level farming.

The Taiwan Barra fillets are probably freshwater fed on possibly something not so palatable.
AnswerID: 378921

Reply By: Flywest - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:30

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 19:30
I did once lead a campaign by Aussie fishers to try and put an end to the longlining of Marlin, and the sale of marlin steaks.

In that campaign, I liaised with both the national seafood buyers for Coles and Woolies. They both allowed us to put a paper to them of all the reasons why they should NOT be supporting that particular fishery and how detrimental it is to icon species that tourists from the USA would pay big $ to come here and catch, if they weren't all in supermarket freezers as marlin steaks.

We also pointed out the heavy metals and pesticides bio accumulation up the food chain and the dangers to pregnant women from consuming too much of that product and their public liability for deformed children etc.

To give them their due - they were more than willing to listen, and they did act and stop buying those products for their Australian stores (for a while).

The fact we threatened to bouycott their stores and blockade all their carparks driveways on a staurday morning with boats and trailers nationally, to point out all the shortcommings of the product to the press etc may have had something to do with that!

Whilst we won that round - we lost the overall battle - the wholesalers just sold the product to some other outlets was all. (i.e it didn't stop the wholesalers buying it from the longliners and hence the longliners from targetting marlin).

You have to get to all the public and get a real national consumer bouycott, if you wish to bring about real change.

You need to create a situation where, no one buys the product at all - it goes off on the shelf and the supermarket has to throw it away at a loss.

Then they have to get the wholesalers to stop buying it from the fleet.

Once pro fishers can't sell it, they will stop deliberately targetting and catching it, and go catch something else.

This could be done with imported fish.

I just recently noticed a new fish shop in our local supermarket. They only sell Aussie fish. Yes it's very expensive - but what they do is package it in 2 person portions..cryovac sealed.

OK it might be horribly expensive BUT a couple nice pieces of fresh high quality eating local fish - enough for one meal for a couple might cost say $20, for 0.5 kilos.

Most restaurant meals portions servings are 250 grams of meat or fish each - thus half a kilos all you need to feed 2 people.

Spending $20 once a week for a decent piece of fish is far better than 20 bucks worth of Basa fillets from the mekong delta - the most polluted water way on earth, at the local fish and chip shop, is far worse for your health.

It is possible to still eat local fresh caught fish of good quality.

Going out and buying a whole 20 kilo due fish however at $45 or so a kilo is cost prohibitive - but who really needs that much?

IF people were more selective and bouycotted the product we are talking about in nile perch fillets and basa fillets etc - the national supermarket wholesale fish buyers, would then go look to stock something they could sell.

People could do a lot worse than to stand at the fish counter and say aloud so other customers can hear - "I'm not having any of that basa fillet - it comes from the most polluted waterway on earth - the Mekong Delta - proabably has dead human bodies & faeces floating past when it was caught, you could catch any number of awfull diseases from eating that", would start to get the message around especially if enough do it, and do it every week when you shop.

Soon others would be heard proclaiming the same thing, and before you knew it - that fish would dissapear from the supermarket shelves & be replaced by something else.

The supermarkets won't stock what they can't sell - it is ONLY consumer demand that keeps it there on the shelves.

If you want to effect change - come up with a plan that alters consumer demand.

In my experience it is the only thing that will work.

We have the fish - its all being exported and we are eating some other nations trash fish.

Time we changed that. Changing our buying habits could achieve that if enough people do it.

AnswerID: 379013

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:19

Friday, Aug 14, 2009 at 21:19
The underlying problem is the worlds fishing stocks are shrinking ,either through over fishing or man made reasons such as pollution or climate change.

As soon as one species becomes scarce ,the fleets will switch to another or go further out to sea.
Northern fleets are now heading to the southern hemispere and soon it will be like the north
FollowupID: 646439