15hp yamaha outboards...2 stroke

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 16:45
ThreadID: 71548 Views:14103 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Buying one this week ...i hope.
Depends on what they can throw in with the deal....$2750...
Anyone on the forum own one?? and if so how did it go ?
4 strokes were to dear $4500 for a honda'..
I dont know witch is better anyway 4stroke or 2 stroke...
bit like engle and Waeco eh....''
your thoughts please.....darrelll

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 16:56

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 16:56
We not long got a 2 stoke 15hp - Looking around they are much the much - we went the Mercury because we could get for $2250. 4 strokes have high maintenance, 2 strokes do not. Do not thing the 4 stroke could pay for itself in fuel savings. We do not use ours in fresh water so did not need to consider that.

Power wise 2 stroke will be faster out of the box and then much the same except 4 stroke will be doing less revs and thus less fuel.

We can do a day of fishing on one 15ltr tank though and that is a fair bit of running around.

Good boating cheers tony
AnswerID: 379202

Follow Up By: DARRELL QLD - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:06

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:06
Tony..did they give you a fuel tank and a motor cover for that price??
FollowupID: 646576

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:16

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:16
Tony.
What do you mean when you say "We do not use ours in fresh water so did not need to consider that."
I thought all outboards need flushing after use in sea water, but were OK is freash water.
Have you heard different?
FollowupID: 646577

Follow Up By: jedboy70 - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 19:45

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 19:45
think he is talking about the pollution side of things
FollowupID: 646596

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 15:46

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 15:46
Darrell - Yes 15ltr fuel tank & hose - no to cover - purchased in Cairns. The suzuki 2 stroke was not much more , about $100 from memory.

Chris - Pollution is what that is aimed at - 2 strokes return an amount of oil to the water as you would expect.

Jedboy - you hit the nail on the head :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 646709

Reply By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:48

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:48
Hi Darrell,

4 strokes do have higher maint cost and use less fuel but 2 strokes have geater excellaration.
The amount of fuel a 15hp would use in normal usage doesnt justify the extra cost of a 4 stroke.
I have a 4 stroke 5hp which i use for trolling. This area is where a 4 stroke has it over a 2 stroke, continous slow trolling (all day if your keen enough) with no chance of oiling up which a 2 stroke can do.(no so much with the bigger hp"optimax"motors )
I have reduced the oil to fuel mixture to eliminate this but that can lead to tears if you go to lean or forget that you are running it lean and go WOT

AnswerID: 379206

Reply By: age - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:48

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 17:48
Hi Darrell

Yes I own one and it is fine for 2 up on a 12 foot tinny, but don't expect it to be a powerhouse etc - The 20hp was just too heavy for my hull (insurance implications) - great Yammie reliability though

I think at $2700 you are being touched and I would hunt for below $2500 deals with the Brisbane Boat show about to start - get them to throw in the 12v rectifier kit at that money so you can charge a battery - heaps cheaper and easier at new purchase time than down the track.

A
AnswerID: 379207

Follow Up By: DARRELL QLD - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 18:03

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 18:03
age....excuse my ignorace but do those motors come with electric start..?!!?.
or is the rectier for battery charge for depth sounders ect
FollowupID: 646586

Follow Up By: Haza - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 18:16

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 18:16
The rectifier kit would be for charging a battery.
FollowupID: 646587

Follow Up By: age - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 18:50

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 18:50
Darrell

As Haza said the rectifier is for regulated 12v battery charge (think it only throws out 6A at 3000rpm or such)

Thought your dealer would throw this a "free" incentive

Great little motor - will push my 12ft Sea Jay one up at 40+km/h

BTW - your motor should come with a 25l fuel tub, hose, connectors/pick ups and tool kit

A
FollowupID: 646589

Reply By: jedboy70 - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 19:43

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 19:43
I have the US mercury, not the Jap Merc (Tohatsu) on a 3.5 cartopper and it is a cracker, my mate has the tohatsu 18 which is 7 kgs heavier, 1 up i will dust him for speed, he has a bit more torque so if loaded up he is a bit quicker.
paid $2200 from brissy boat show last year. I am a big yammie fan have yammie genny, always had yammie dirt bikes but when i was looking at them the merc had about 30cc on the yammie from memory and was quite a stretch dearer.
I don't think you could go wrong with the yammie, but i can strongly recommend the merc couldn't be happier with it, start with a two finger pull every time and pushes my quinnie dart sweet as.
I didn't consider the 4 stokes as I am lifting mine in and out of my ute etc when camping and they are just too heavy. My mate kicks himself every time we go away as he opted for the toahatsu which was $200 cheaper without the tiller gears or trim settings and runs a lot lumpier at low revs, and that 7 kgs makes a huge diff when you are lifting on and off the boat pretty regularly.
I am sure the yam is a good motor, I feel the same about toyotas though, great cars just to fffffing dear
AnswerID: 379221

Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:12

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:12
The Yamaha is a fantastic motor! Wouldnt consider any other brand in that size... Do you intend to use it with a car topper with the outboard stored on its side somehere when travelling?? If so - Before considering a 4-stroke it would be wise to check if it can be transported on their side due to it having oil in them...??
AnswerID: 379232

Follow Up By: DARRELL QLD - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:27

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:27
Permanant on a 12 foot v nose tinny at this stage Drew...Savage snipe..
Should all outboards be kept uprite????
FollowupID: 646604

Follow Up By: Member - Mike W (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 22:14

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 22:14
i dnt think it matter with 2 strokes but 4 strokes should be laid on one side indicated by tabs the the motor sits on, This is so the sump oil doesnt go thru the air filter etc

Cheers Mike
FollowupID: 646620

Reply By: blackmax11 - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:31

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 20:31
The 15hp US Model Merc is in my opinion the best 15hp for what you are wanting to do. Its the lightest 15hp on the market, easy starting, great performance and the ratchet trim system is a major plus under all boating conditions. I have one on my 3.7 M Quintrex which does 35Kph flat out with 2 + the small dog in the boat. I flush if used in salt water but if used continually day after day only flush when going to not use for 3 days or more.Flushing is only to stop salt going hard and building up. They are the only brand that come with a 3 year corrosion warranty.I suspect you would get one for quite a bit less than $2750, I did.
AnswerID: 379240

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 22:26

Sunday, Aug 16, 2009 at 22:26
I had a 15 Yammie on my Quintrex Dart.

You can't beat there reliability. Look what all the trout fisherman use on their Dory's in NQ. If you have the V nose like I did then you obviously aint going to be doing much river fishing and so you need an ultra rliable motor if doing offshore work.

One thing I will say is that I bought mine about 8 years ago and sold it 2 ago but a mate just bought a tinnie with the 15 yammie and they haven't changed a bit over that time. I was surprised...thought they would have had a bit of an "upgrade" over that time.

At 100:1 oil ratio (once run in) it would be hard to "oil up" at trolling speeds.

I bought mine in Townsville and got the boat, motor and trailer form 3 different shops. Shop around for the best price mate and even ring "out of town" because what might cost you $100 in freight could save you 3-4 hundred.
AnswerID: 379264

Reply By:- Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:38

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:38
I have a 2 stroke yamaha 15. I bought in last 6 months from kratsman marine burpengary qld. Great motors, great service, good price, about $2,400 but I think they have gone up. I have had a yamaha before their are the best.
They are the lightest motors the 15 with good power on the market.
I did look at the honda 4 stroke 20's but I couldn't even lift it, toooo heavy.(being a female that's very important to my handling my boat)
We like to launch our boat off the beach on the calm side of fraser etc so weight is important. You've got to get it onto the beach before water comes over the back and it only takes small waves for that to happen.
I would throughly reccomend a 15 yammy. Good luck
Ros,
AnswerID: 379314

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 16:25

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 16:25
Ros - Actually the Mercury is 1kg lighter at 35kg - Yamaha 36kg and Mercuary has 262cc compared to Yamaha 246cc.

Mercury has 3 year warranty, Yamaha has 2 years

Mercury is $2300 - Yamaha is $2600

So Mercury is better?

:-) but hey! who cares?

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 646717

Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 19:36

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 19:36
My experience with Mercury is not so positive, and a good warranty is fine, but it is still very inconvenient if the thing is in the shop all the time. Am yet to hear anything negative about the yamaha's, or honda for that matter.

FollowupID: 646751

Reply By:- Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 18:50

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 18:50
hi darrell
yeh ok whatever but i really like yamaha's
ros
AnswerID: 379368