Kangaroo's and Shu- Roo's..Any one have one of these fitted.
Submitted: Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 11:25
Fred G NSW
Thread 71558 has prompted me to ask these questions of our learned members and visitors.
Who has the electronic Shu-Roo fitted and what is your opinion of it's effectiveness.
Who only has the Roo whistles fitted and what is your opinion of their effectiveness.
As I said in thread 71558, IMHO the whistles work to certain extent, but after years without incident, my luck (and was it just luck) finally ran out near
Barcaldine, where the roos were like fleas on a dog's back. Never the less, I still like to think these whistles had some effect on the hundreds of roos I have seen dart away in the opposite direction.
On this trip we did 8,500 ks and this was the only animal that wanted to head but my rig.
I will also add here that these whistles seem to work particularly
well on the goat infested highway around
Cobar, each time I have gone through there.
Cheers all from Fred.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 11:44
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 11:44
Fred,
There was a post about this a few months back where someone kindly put up a link to a University Scientific Study which I read. It basically said they don't work.
As for the whistlers, I used to do a lot of night travel in Roo infested areas and never hit one, nor even had a close call. This of course proves nothing, but for the $10, why not I said. My Old Man that they were much like tree in his front yard that kept Lions away LOL.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:01
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:01
G'day Jim. I missed that one, probably while we were away. As you say, for $10 why not. And now that I've had them for about 6 years, I'm not going to take them off LOL.
Good to see your father's got the lion problem under control mate LOL ;-))
Fred..
Reply By: harry5 - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:02
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:02
I wouldn't leave home without them, have hit two roos while using the whistle, 1. was not doing the 40 kph minimum speed for them to work and the second one it was raining,i dont think that is scientific proof but for $10 bucks or so i keep them on
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:27
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:27
Forgot about the min speed for them to "work" harry...I was only doing about 40 when the one at
Barcaldine got me..... with the 4 roadtrains going the opposite way at the time you could forgive him for not listening LOL.
Reply By: you eat the bear - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:03
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:03
May work with Roos in open country but didn't stop the Mt Dandenong wallaby jumping out of the trees in front of me some months ago.
Maybe the trees blocked the sound - maybe wallabies are just deaf to them?
As Jim says though...for $10 bucks the "insurance" is worth having.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:20
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:20
The whistlers certainly seem to stir up the goats near
Cobar !!!
Reply By: Volvo driver - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:27
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:27
company l work for stopped fitting shu-roo's to their dozens of trucks as they kept hitting roo's..most of the vehicles had two..one on each corner,
wouldn't buy one myself as a result of that
Reply By: Dasher Des - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:47
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 12:47
I have the whistles on my bus andI haven't hit one either although have had a couple of close calls with them jumping out in front of me.
There are two different types of whistles which can be seperated by price. I am led to believe that the dearer ones ($25) work better but who knows.
I am heading for
Broken Hill on Friday night through the back way via
Renmark, Belvedere and Coomba so I guess the whistles will get a real try out. There are plenty of Goats out that way too so will see what happens.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 13:09
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 13:09
G'day Des. A friend who does a lot more country
miles than me each year, told me to fit the whistles to the side of the vehicle, not in the front.
Mine are on a flat panel near the rear view mirrors, 2 each side. He swears by them, and I do too after 6 years.
Safe trip mate.
Reply By: Rut Tearer - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 13:22
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 13:22
Roo Shoo whistles and no Kangaroos since 2006. I drive up to the
Murray River a fair bet via Toolangi
State Forest, Warby Ranges and via
Bonnie Doon etc. Having said that maybe I am lucky, but so far so good, touch wood..!
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 14:33
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 14:33
The electronic ones do work but only for the manufacturer.
We had them on our work vehicles and all who drove with them said they were next to useless.
So go with the whistle ones.
After they were fitted to the work vehicles the incident of animal strike at night dropped dramatically, so we assumed that the whistles worked.
I now use the whistles myself and so far no animal strikes.
Gotta be happy with that.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 17:34
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 17:34
Pure waste of money, as a professional driver I very rarely hit one, I find the best method is don't dip the lights, don't blow the horn, but slow down a little just in case and I find they'll sit up, look and by the time they realise something is near you've gone past, also it's not the one you can see hopping across in front of you, it's the mate coming behind it , here's another little hint, always be aware of the reflectors ahead, if you see one go out and light up again means something has walked past it,
I reackon the damn Plains Turkey (Bustard) can do a lot of damage too, they'll get airborn across the road just at windscreen height, had a workmate have one come through the windscreen of the truck once, I had one hit a Donga I was carrying, just missed the roof line of my truck, this happened about 30 Klm west of
Cape Crawford,
Follow Up By: Ken65 - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 20:47
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 20:47
Geez Doug, is there no photos you have not kept over the years.
I had forgotten about that.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 21:42
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 21:42
Ken
How you going,
No... every event, every fine detail, every bloody logbook fine, and every location is firmly implanted as if it were yesterday.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 21:03
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 21:03
Yes the whistles must work as I havent hit a Roo in 28000 of tripping around the centre and the north.
They rate up there with Hiclones and fuel cell magnetic molecule aligners.
ROFLMAO.
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 22:57
Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 22:57
We have never used them. We have done 70 something thousand kms around oz and only hit 1 roo which was with the trailer not the car. Done a lot of night driving and seen lots of roos. We slow down a little but that's all. Have often wondered do they scare other animals off as
well. When travelling we want to see animals not scare them away, that's what the bullbar is for lol.
Josh
Reply By: Buggerlux - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 01:11
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 01:11
I have a electronic one fitted which was installed as a government vehicle. Ill let you know when I hit something.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:35
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:35
I found the best place to install for air flow and noise is on top of the snorkle. But you have to remember to clean the bugs out of them regulary or they stop whistleing.
I've only hit 1 roo in my cruiser since fitting a set 9 years ago but in the work ute without them last year alone I hit 11.
Maybe they do work, from what I've observed they don't usually get scared away, they just sit up and look around everywhere for where the noise is comming from and so don't run anywhere in particular and more ofter than not just stay still.
Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:08
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:08
Shu Roos may stop the roos
But there definitely a mating call for emus!! haha
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:53
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:53
So everyone ends up happy LOL :-)))))
Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:33
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:33
Getting the roos to stand still long enough to fit the whistles is tough enough, but getting them to learn to blow the bloody things at night is next to impossible.
;o)
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:59
Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 18:59
Depends where you try to fit them ROTFLMAO.
BTW that's gotta the shortest post ever on here for you LOL
Reply By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:41
Thursday, Aug 20, 2009 at 13:41
IMHO, the electronic Shu-Roos don't work - sure, the kangaroos might hear you coming but they still don't know what's coming, or have the sense to flee from the sound. The coach company I work for had a series of roo 'encounters' and subsequently fit solid bullbars to the whole fleet and fitted a Shu-Roo to one vehicle. I think I saw more roos on the road while driving the vehicle with Shu-roo than all the other vehicles combined! The company never fitted them to the other vehicles, and when they sold that vehicle, they didn't even bother removing Shu-roo for reinstallation on another vehicle. I've since heard that most people don't bother replacing Shu-Roo after it gets wiped out by a 'roo strike.
As for the whistles, they are only $10 - maybe they work, maybe they don't? But they're not very expensive. You have to mount them so there are no obstructions in front or behind (to allow air to flow freely through them) and unless you want them on the front edge of the bonnet/roof, they are difficult to mount where they will be effective but not be a feature!