What would your perfect home base look like?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 22:54
ThreadID: 71581 Views:5029 Replies:13 FollowUps:13
Hi, I’m working on a low cost lifestyle alternative for caravanners and wanderers – my aim is to create an affordable home base to use when you want a break from being on the road, in a warm and welcoming community, and wrapped in a lifestyle second to none.

Would love feedback from anyone as to what you would / wouldn’t like to see in your home base?

Is it important to you that you keep a home somewhere to come back to?
What facilities / features / activities would you like to see in a home base?

Your own detached residence plus caravan storage yes / no

Community facilities
• Swimming pool yes / no
• Bowls club yes / no
• Rec club yes / no
• Workshop yes / no
• Other? yes / no
• Planned social activities yes / no

If we could offer you a low cost way of owning / maintaining a small property home base and freeing up more of your assets to invest / spend, would this be of interest to you?

How would you define low cost? How much money would you like to tie up in a home that you only use for part of the year?

This is a genuine research project – I’m not trying to sell anyone anything right now – I’d just love some objective feedback please, so I can refine the model and design the best possible home base for people like you.

Happy to share details of the vision with anyone who's interested.

Thanks in advance for your comments – good, bad or indifferent.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 23:24

Monday, Aug 17, 2009 at 23:24
First question and most important.

Where will it be.

In answer to yours Workshop is only requirement and room for large van.

AnswerID: 379393

Follow Up By: Right at home - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:20

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:20
Hi Graham, thanks for your feedback.

The site we are looking at is on the Fraser Coast, in Queensland. Two hours north of Brisbane, a couple of minutes off the Bruce Highway.
FollowupID: 646775

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 00:13

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 00:13
Most retirement villages offer all of these facilities.

AnswerID: 379395

Follow Up By: Right at home - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:31

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:31
Thanks for your response GB. I understand that retirement villages offer the basics, and a number offer separate caravan storage compounds.

A couple of people in our group are avid caravanners, and suggested a number of possible improvements to the typical retirement village / relocatable village model that would improve how functional they are for travellers e.g. rather than park your van in a compound, it would be great to have your van at your door, with access to water and power, so you could load / unload it easily, and possibly even use your van as an extension to your home.

Another suggestion was to have a weekly activity / event e.g. free lamb shank Tuesday oriented at the travelling community, that would create a regular sense of energy / activity around the community.

I'd love to get feedback on what does / doesn't work with the traditional retirement village model - specifically in how it works for those with a passion for the road.

We believe that we could create something quite different - if only by combining a number of subtle improvements / refinements - and offer a facility that really enhances the travelling lifestlye.

Thanks again. Appreciate your input.

FollowupID: 646776

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 00:58

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 00:58
This sounds like a manufactured homes village sometimes known as a lifestyle village.

For more info see http://www.mhiansw.com.au/index.php

For the legislation that covers them see http://www.mhiansw.com.au/content/legislation.php Thisi s for NSW, for other states similar legislation applies.

As was stated above, one of the important features is a compound for trailers (boats,caravans etc.) These are generally free when provided, saves $50 - 250 per month if you live in any other style of community..

AnswerID: 379396

Follow Up By: Right at home - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:32

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:32
Thanks NN, appreciate the links.

Responded to a couple of the other members with more specific notes on our theories, and would love your specific feedback.

Travel safe.
FollowupID: 646778

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 01:10

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 01:10
By golly you're trying it on!

I think theres a Tin man site just next store. Buggar off!

Kim
AnswerID: 379397

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:35

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:35
Geez Kim
Calm down mate, this bloke is only trying to Suck Our Brains, and later on Our Money lol lol .
FollowupID: 646779

Reply By: landed eagle - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:58

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 06:58
Some 40 years away before I'd be looking at that sort of arrangement. If I did I'd definately want a flat, double width driveway, 'drive through' van/motorhome storage,next to my 'unit'. Make it as easy as possible. Drive in,get out,walk away.
I'd want my pride and joy parked right where I could see it, and not have to cart stuff to a 'van storage area' from home.
AnswerID: 379402

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:01

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:01
There is a similar place at Beachmere north of Brisbane, it's a over 50's retirement village, they have Caravan Storage on site, when you want to go on a trip the staff get your van out and you pack it and go on your trip ect, when you return they park it in the storage site, and also while you are away on your trip they maintain your Unit, and have your unit aired and prepaired for when you return, but there is a Fee for all this, I would rather keep our home and stay out of those GODS WAITING ROOM type of things, anyway when I get to that stage inlife and can't park the van ect I'll just drive my little scooter down the road and go fishing with my esky lol lol.

AnswerID: 379408

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:36

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:36
Daza

dont forget ya life jacket just in case you buy aToyo brand scooter and the brakes fail just b4 you get to the water. :-))
FollowupID: 646783

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:38

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:38
Gods waiting rooms eh ????

No wonder we can't get the oldies to go to these sort of places !!!

Everyone thinks they are the foot in the door of a coffin !!!

Geez, if I was 55 and single....I'd be in one of the joints like a shot.....
FollowupID: 646808

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:59

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:59
G/Day Mark
Thanks for thinking about my welfare, you will need a Life Jacket if I teach you how catch fish out at the St George Gathering lol lol.
FollowupID: 646810

Reply By: bushy04 - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:49

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 08:49
This leaves plenty of room for change,
1.Drive through van parking, next to unit pref under a a carport?
2. storage shed and laundry/ small unit. (1 bedroom)
3. The ability to be able to live in you're van on site.

That is my thoughts as to personal requirements, outside that you would need some community based activities.

Regards Bushy.
AnswerID: 379413

Follow Up By: Right at home - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 09:41

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 09:41
Awesome Bushy. Thanks for your comments. Just the type of feedback / insights we're looking for.
FollowupID: 646792

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:24

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 13:24
What specifically are you looking to do that isn’t simply a slight variation on what is currently available?

There are other examples of this type of themed living concept such as aircraft communities with airstrips and taxi-ways to the front door. Golfing communities are another example; however these rarely come cheap because of the ‘special interest’ provisions and never fit into the low cost model.

Many retirement villages are already built around the ‘low cost model’ to enable people to have somewhere to live and at the same time to get back capital from existing housing they might own. And someone has cited examples around Brisbane and Bribie Island. There are many of them.

And whilst not knocking the concept, I can’t help but feel you will only be tinkering at the edges of an already proven model and anything you add to this model to make it more specific for ‘travellers’ will simply add cost. How much extra are people willing to pay to have the van next to the house given you are pushing a ‘low cost model?

For example, having a van parked next to your abode will most likely require more land use, as will the road widening required to enable access and turning space etc. If you look at the current ‘low cost model’ for retirement villages it is all about land use and the income it can produce. Once you start changing that the cost will go up, putting you at a price/cost disadvantage.

Good luck out there……
AnswerID: 379440

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:21

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:21
It could be interesting if there was a chain of these and you could move between them.
I think you would need to divide it up into areas with razor wire fencing between Nissan/Toyota and Waeco/Engel owners
AnswerID: 379468

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:35

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:35
More Importantly the Coopers and BFG Owners :-) Cheers Tony

The concept would be Ok if you like crowds - We like to be right out there alone and only occasionally will come into group accommodation (Parks).
FollowupID: 646830

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:42

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 16:42
Our perfect Base :-)

AnswerID: 379469

Reply By: Isuzumu - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:35

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:35
This subject is on the top of things to consider in a few years for our retirement. At the moment we have a four bedroom home on a 1/4 acre with an in ground pool. Not some thing to just lock up and go travelling for six months or more. Plus I believe that if your home is unattended for more than three months your insurance is null and void. An MHP has management in place that would be over come I would think.
So may be a MHP (manufactured home park) is the place to live, but for me the one thing that I would not be able to do would be to work/ service my own vehicle so I would need a garage, with hoist etc LOL. But other than that it would not be a problem for us.
AnswerID: 379476

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:07

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 22:07
"Plus I believe that if your home is unattended for more than three months your insurance is null and void."

If you live in a manufactured home park you can get an insurance policy without that 60 day clause in it.

FollowupID: 646885

Reply By: klm - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:43

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:43
you may like to have a look at the casino motor home village.

we stayed there for a couple of days as casuals in a caravan not that long ago

and were made welcome.

they have just about have all the bells and wistles.
AnswerID: 379478

Follow Up By: Right at home - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 20:49

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 20:49
Thx KLM.

We're looking closely at the Casino model - have heard that's its a winner from several sources.

FollowupID: 646874

Reply By: Flywest - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:56

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 17:56
I think one of the setbacks to these types of investments is that, there are undoubtedly hidden agendas that aren't up front.

Rarely does someone come along with an idea to provide grey nomads more opportunity to travel and enjoy their retirement years - no one is that noble.

Most investors want a quick fast buck or outrageous return on their investment.

We see the result "Schemes" designed to divest retirees of their lifetimes work and savings investment in their own home, so that the kids and rightful heirs don't get it.

These days we are too politically correct to call such people and schemes for what they really are - swindles!

They usually involve some kinda scheme to get the pensioners homes for a song - just before the swindlers wife / brother etc on the local council has all that land re zoned for multiple occupancy or whatever.

Next, the retirement village is a small "pokey" home on a handkerchief of land that the retirees never own, and the "cost" of living there (with no gardens or upkeep responsibilities) is some kinda draw down reverse mortgage where the longer the oldies live, the less equity they have in their investment in just the bricks and mortar are worth, and the more %age of it, the retirement home owns.

Sure the retirees get into a new home with low maintenance - but the cost is to disinherit their kids, and that after all was the whole "unstated" premise of the development in the first place.

So,

In answer to the question, the FIRST requirement - would be that whatever the investment/development, it be in "freehold green title to the land and improvements" that are designed to increase in capital value over time.

Forget any schemes to get people to give you their lifetimes works savings in their home, in return for you freeing up a little capital for them to travel more.

Realise that not that many people in Australia are idiots.

Next,

Obviously somewhere out of the weather to store their van and boats etc, and workshops - yes.

One thing I have noticed (I have elderly parents in just such a retirement village as described with everything - library pool bowling green etc etc), and these joint use faculities largely aren't used or are way under utilized.

Why? because the small "bogan element" of retirees take them over and hog the facilities - set up little cliques where others can't feel comfortable using them and so on.

Different story when you have you own home land house workshop and sheds and pool etc - use it whenever you like - not so at the retirement village.

What do most grey nomads look for when they travel?

Sure nice scenery, etc are important but MOSTLY they form small communities in which they feel "safe" and away from the pressures of the city and society. Theres a few of these places up north in WA where the grey nomads go to get away from winter.

Cleaverville just out of Dampier / Karratha in WA rings a bell. (Balla Balla is another and 80 mile beach yet another).

Grey nomads been going there every year for decades - little defacto retirement villages for 6 months of the year to escape winter down south.
They all know each other - they all go there every year and catch up with old friends.

Eventually word spreads and there's so many of them, the local shire have to move in for health sake and set up proper toilet facilities - gravel parking areas, rubbish bins and a collection service etc etc...and send in a ranger to collect fees to pay for it all, and before you know it - the very thing they went there to escape from, (rangers, local govt and fees etc) destroys the reason they went there (to get away from all that).

So they go somewhere else remote and start again!

Or

Less desirable sorts find the place and problems erupt with excessive noise or drunken behavior, and worse theft of gear - and again the grey nomads move on, looking for their particular form of utopia.

What are they really looking for?

A sense of old fashioned community where all the neighbors knew each other and looked out for each other.

Get together s' - for a cuppa and a BBQ etc.

I used to see em all the time camped at Balla Balla, some been going there 20 years or more and staying up to 3 months at a time. Nice ol people - would always stop for a chat etc -they would keep an eye on our vehicle for us (while we were on the island).

Then either young people with noisy quads and motorbikes or loud music noise would arrive, stuff would get stolen and the oldies would be gone...

They would tootle off to somewhere else quiet (usually 80mile beach).

So - they need communal facilities that everyone is welcome at - maybe a community campers kitchen for the spit on a sheep night friday night and camp oven tuessday night etc.

Place that does that REALLY well - Nanga station in shark bay!

Yes, a nice "home base" would be great for those grey nomads who want a rest from traveling for sure, but getting it right so that it fits a fiscal model where banks will finance it means it almost has to be some kinda scam to disenfranchise pensioners of their lifetimes savings / super and pension, or the banks simply won't back it.

The banks know that the country's screwed fiscally and that the retiree / baby boomers are the only ones with any money left - they will do anything to get their mits on it just as govt is looking for ways to do same - so unless your scheme can pull that off, then the banks won't look at financing it.

Any pensioner/superannuated retiree - worth a few bucks, didn't get that way by falling for schemes such as it sounds like your proposing.

Any other sort of a benevolent variety that they would like, will send you broke!

How many old retirees bought permanent vans at van parks for retirement - so the could put their equity into superannuation for a good lifestyle into retirement, only to later find out, that the lands so valuable, that now they are being forced out, so the owners can develop the land into a beach front resort etc and at the same time the investment gurus looking after their super didn't foresee the stock market crash, and as a result have lost most of their retirement funds as well?

Most of them got screwed both ways - coming and going!

It remains a bit if a "truism" that about the ONLY thing banks and the govt have trouble screwing you out of these days, is your own bricks and mortar home.

It's about the only thing left that our old laws still protect (property / ownership).

Anything else you invest into for retirement is dodgy at best.

Good luck with it... I reckon in this fiscal climate, you'll need all the help you cam get - Grey nomads are rightfully VERY skeptical of any such scams these days.

AnswerID: 379481

Follow Up By: Right at home - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 20:47

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 20:47
That's awesome Flywest. Really appreciate the insights.

Agree totally about the questionable practices / ethics of a lot of the different options out there right now. People tend to be skeptical because they need to be.

It would be great to come up with an alternative option that offers a genuine advantages and hopefully can avoid the bulk of the pitfalls. That's part of the reason we're looking for open feedback now - so we can give serious thought to better solutions at the early planning stages.

You've been a champ.
FollowupID: 646872

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:51

Tuesday, Aug 18, 2009 at 21:51
Hey Flywest my sentiments exactly, maybe living on the Gold Coast since the 1960's I have seen the White Shoe Brigade try every con in the book to make a fast dollar, and when they go down they take a lot of people with them, I am not saying all developers are crooks, but they are in it for the dollars and they rely on other peoples hard earned money, and there is allways a escape clause for them and none for the investor, as you said Bricks and Mortar is the safest way to go, at least if you want to down size to a smaller property in your retirement at least you can't get kicked out if you own it, I know a lot of retirees that would go crazy if they didn't have a garden or a small work bench to make things or repair bits and pieces ect, and as long as they have that and the Amenities like medical and shops in their area they are happy.
FollowupID: 646881