Welding with batteries
Submitted: Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:28
viz
Want an experts opinion - I am not a welder (my welds look like chook droppings...).
I know the technique of joining batteries in series to provide enough amps to weld - what I want to know - how many batteries (2? 3?) would do a reasonable weld with standard general purpose rods to say weld a panhard rod that's broken or similar?
How does it affect the batteries? Do you need cranking batteries or would aux (deep cycle) batteries suffice?
Hope I am not asking the size of a piece of string ;)
viz
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:43
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:43
Vis, I havent tried welding with batteries but i am a competent welder (fitter and turner by trade),, I would love to give it a go.. From what i can gather , 2 batteries is ok but 3 is better.. Most ordinary stick welders operate on about 45v AC so i guess 36 volts DC is better than 24 V dc.. As for welding panhard or silimar, if its fabricated , its gererally mild steel so ok for general purpose rods. Anything like spring steel or welding dissimilar metals or stainless, use WeldAll rods, you can buy a handyman pack with 10 and 12 guage rods for about $30, made by CIG. They will weld just about anything. Also if you reverse the polarity so the handpiece and rod is negative, you will deposit more metal to the job more easily, this also works with a mains driven DC welder.. Michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:47
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:47
I forgot to add that the general practice is to remove the batteries from the vehicle to allow good ventilation and out of sparking distance and from what i can gather the batteries are ok afterwards.. Some time back, Mick O had something on the site about this, it may have been some video on it from memory..maybe do a search through his videos. Hope this helps, Michael
Follow Up By: viz - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:47
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 20:47
Mate - this is why I am on this
forum. This advice is gold.
Thanks for that :)
viz
Reply By: taswegian - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:15
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 21:15
Hi Viz,
I come from a similair trade back ground as Michael,using 24v with 10g rods i get chook shht welds, using 36v 10g Gp rods i have welded spring hangers with great strong results using starting batteries with out any adverse affects. Deep cycle batts are not to keen to give up max amps quickley with out shortening service life.But when you have to weld you have to weld.!.
Tassie.
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:44
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:44
Hey Viz,
one of my favourite topics. How to get yourself out of the poo in the great outback (depsite having tried to avoid getting into it in the first place lol)
Have a look at this Blog entry I did in respect to a few trailer issues we had on the
Sandy Blight Junction Road last year. May help. There's also a great article on bush welding on the LC cool site (Toyota 80 series owners).
A day of bush welding
3 batteries are better with a stick as it gets you closer to that magic 40. It gets hard to regulate the ampage though as I discovered, particularly when you're using cables for added resistance. It's usually a combo of all things including, cables, rod size and length. I also did a post not long after I got
home on the very subject which got quite a few good responses.
Bush welding post
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:53
Monday, Aug 24, 2009 at 22:53
P.S. Remember that DC welding is reverse polarity and if you're going to use cables (like jumper cables) to regulate the ampage, put them between the no.2 and no. 3 batteries in relation to the handpiece. Also be aware they'll get red hot so you have to let the welding rig cool down between bursts and have the cables clear of anything that may catch fire. A burst is usually 15 seconds or more of welding activity.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 07:36
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 07:36
Hi viz,
It is very important to keep your welding rods (flux) as dry as possible. Nice dry rods makes it easier to make the initial arc strike, after that the rods dry themselves out rather quickly :-))
KK
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:11
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 09:11
Also, I carry a couple of short lengths of heavy cable with battery terminal connectors already attached. Makes it easy to series up batteries when required. Used one recently to assist a guy with a small truck (24 volt) to give him a jump start.
KK
Follow Up By: dbish - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 11:14
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 11:14
Just a hint to keep rods dry I store
mine in a PVC tube with caps each end & bag of Silica drying agent inside.
Follow Up By: viz - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:23
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:23
Thank you for that hint :)
viz
Reply By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:44
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 14:44
Hi Viz,
I ran a post a while ago (post 69010) which was in regards to using a compact welder (4kg) with a generator but this comes down to how much room you have etc. worth a read!
However one of the replies turned up this little beauty from Piranha Off road
$1150.00
Follow Up By: viz - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:21
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:21
Crikey that IS a little beauty (boy's toys etc etc :) but $1150???
There is a balance between room/expense and what is needed in the slight chance that it will be used. I have just done a trip to Bunnings and purchased a handpiece, clamp, real el-cheapo welding mask and some Satincraft 13 rods, 2.5 & 3.2. I have heaps of heavy cable (care of a find in a dumpster, would you believe) and have a couple of battery clamps lying around.
Most likely this will never be used in the context for which it was purchased; however like most emergency gear that I own it gets used by someone else who is in trouble - that's what it is all about I guess... (I would hate to count the number of snatch straps I have ruined on other people's cars fer'instance...)
viz
Follow Up By: viz - Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:24
Tuesday, Aug 25, 2009 at 20:24
Is that a MIG welder - if so what about the Argon???
I SO like that. Birthday coming up..................... ;)
viz
Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 10:13
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 10:13
Nice one David half the price! Thanks for the heads up
They also claim they weld aluminium which I find hard to believe, but that's probably because I suck at welding Aluminium...haha
Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:21
Wednesday, Aug 26, 2009 at 20:21
Check carefully on the aluminium welding - I think that is when you connect the handpiece to a full mig welder with a gas tank or some of the spool units will take gas at the same time. I am not a welder at all but can stick metal together. I have not seen aluminium welding without gas for a mig.
Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:38
Thursday, Aug 27, 2009 at 09:38
Gday David,
Aluminium can be welded without a gas flux. It can also be stick welded and oxy welded. Its not ideal, but quite possible. Im assuming this mob do a flux cored aluminium wire?