caravan towing toyota hi lux towing nissan versus navara.

Submitted: Monday, Aug 31, 2009 at 20:54
ThreadID: 71939 Views:9912 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Whats The deal here? similar vehicle navara towing capacity 3.0 ton 2.5 litre turbo. hilux 3.0 litre turbo towing capacity 2.250 ton.what is an ideal caravan weight to be towing for a long trip around oz on either of these vehicles .Not having had alot of towing experience what do i need to consider? there are 2 of us travelling .any advice appreciated thanks .from lucky phil57

Reply By: png62 - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:23

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 08:23
I have always scoffed at this "factory stated" towing capacity exaggeration by Nissan. NO - I don't want to start a badge fight !!!!.

I firmly believe Toyota is stating a safe and sensible max capacity and Nissan is going for extra sales.

I would always err on the side of caution and not "max out" on the claims purely for safety reasons. Have you ever tried to stop in an emergency with a lot of weight in a trailer? I have witnessed two accidents which were simply overweight trailers pushing the tow vehicle any way they wanted to , not pleasant to witness.

You would probably be better served by thinking "How much weight can my tow vehicle STOP in a hurry?" rather than how much gear can I lug around?

Too much weight behind your tow vehicle will be - unsafe, unpleasant driving, using more fuel than necessary, slower and will probably make your holidays a nightmare not to mention the added mechanical wear and tear on the vehicle.

There are heaps of suspension aids to assist in carrying more weight or adding trailer weight but they don't actually actually increase the real weight you should be able to take. I do believe in upgrading suspensions to make towing safer but a lot of people seem to think - "beefed up suspension means I can tow anything now".

You will find a lot of caravan options around the 1200 - 1500kg range. Don't forget by the time you add your extra gear and water, etc - you will be adding quite a few 100 kilos to the "loaded and ready to head off" weight.
AnswerID: 381391

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:44

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:44
Yes I agree with what png62 has said. I can't help remembering the shonky deal Nissan pulled when they released the current shape Pathfinder. They actually covered up the towbar manufacturer's specification plate and announced that the vehicle was capable of a greater towing capacity. When the tow bars started to break off they were quick to say "we told people not to use weight distribution hitches", but still paid to have the victims instal Hayman Reese bars in substitution.

teege
FollowupID: 648864

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:58

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 10:58
Yes I agree with PNG62 also, haven driven both vehicles, I own a Hilux and my best mate a Nissan Navara , both current models etc, we have towed his 1.8 tonne boat and 2 tonne van with both vehicles and he said he prefers the Hilux, but that aside they both do a great job, I would not be towing 3 tonnes with the Navara, nor the Hilux. There's no doubting Toyota's conservative policy. At over 2 tonnes you effictively become a big truck with these vehicles, stopping in a hurry and handling emergency situations becomes a safety issue.
FollowupID: 648866

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 12:26

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 12:26
I would have to echo png62's sentiments - I've often wondered whether Nissan (and others: Mazda, etc.) are overstating the towing capacity of their vehicles while perhaps Toyota is stating what would be sustainable in the long-term.

The less weight you're dragging around the better - I'd personally prefer not to tow anything at all (I use a roof-top tent) but then again, I don't have kids and their gear to squeeze into the car as well (and there are a lot of other things that others consider essential that I can happily leave at home).
FollowupID: 648891

Reply By: Member - Alan John C (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 19:14

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 19:14
Why not check your combined gross weight that is specified by the manufacturer and then work from there as the combined gross weight of hylux extra cab is 4500kgs, you will find this in the operators manual this will tell the truth about what you can tow. I have no problem with a 6.3 mtr van when fully loaded with fuel and all 4150kgs regards Alan.

AnswerID: 381492

Reply By: Nutta - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 20:15

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 20:15
I own a gu patrol and wouldnt like to tow 3 ton in that let alone a navara.
Werent some of the navaras cracking chassis under heavy tow?
I did read it on a forum somewhere. If anyone needs proof im sure i can dig it up.
AnswerID: 381511

Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 21:36

Tuesday, Sep 01, 2009 at 21:36
Have to agree with all stated here. Toyota are being HONEST.
I have the Nissan Navara D40 2007 for 3 more days - as I have traded it for an old Toyota Landcruser.

It is true - it is not capable of towing 3 ton. It is simply not geared for it. The clutch is also not capable of doing it.

Other things you need to consider is the Navara fuel usage - is nowhere near where Nissan states it to be. If you are towing regularly with the Nissan you should consider buying shares in Caltex.

If towing with the Nissan expect to replace the front pads & rotors in 50,000km - you might also have to replace the clutch in that time also.

Do your research on both vehicles. Best to do it now and make the right choice or you will be in the same position I am in now. The Nissan Navara won the 4X4 ute of the year twice. This year it came last - IMO due to the poor record of it's under engineering and many problems popping up now.

Have a look at www.complaintscorner.com.au before you buy.

I guarantee you will both vehicles in their true colors.

Marco

AnswerID: 381530