Towing with a Toyota hilux work mate

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 15:43
ThreadID: 72206 Views:12561 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
Gi'day
Has anybody had any experience towing a 17ft van with one , it has a aluminium tray back flexie glass canopy ,the van will weigh around 1600kg
As i don't want to spend 800 dollars for tow bar and braking system .if it wont handle it . thanks for your time Chris

Reply By: mazcan barry - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 18:20

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 18:20
hi chris
can you clarify the type of engine and ltrs pet or diesel manual/auto /model yr
mazcan barry
AnswerID: 382887

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 20:10

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 20:10
Would also help if the ATM of the van is posted.

Length means next to nothing.

Its the towing weight that matters.

Vans of any length can vary by 500kg or more in the same size.
FollowupID: 650510

Reply By: Wisey - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 18:37

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 18:37
Work mate is the lower spec hilux so it is a smaller engine. Tray back utes have little rear weight so towing is always done with EXTRA care. Towing without elec' brakes connected to the van is likely to push/lift the rear of the hilux, making it a potentialy more dangerous setup. The samller engine and size of van will do it but, hills and winds will be a long and slow slog, and you will still need to pull it up safely.

Work mate is a work ute, not a tow rig for a van.

Andy
AnswerID: 382889

Reply By: flashcher - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 19:06

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 19:06
Hi Chris,
We have a work mate that we use in our business. We have towed a bit over a ton with it and let me tell you it sucks the petrol. I have calculated it to around 17-18 lts/100km loaded with the ton climbing up over the mountain from the South Coast to the ACT. On a local run without the mountain but similar weight it uses 14-15 lt/100km. It is a 2.7 and I think that the 2.4 Rodeo we have uses less fuel on similar trips.
Michelle
AnswerID: 382893

Reply By: warfer69 - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 19:53

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 19:53
I havnt towed anything above a 6x4 trailer.But time and time again i hear stories of people buying decent size Caravans only to penny pinch in the motor vehicle side of things (underpowered etc etc).Then they complain about the fuel being guzzled,then the lack of power and then comfort.I am in now way suggesting you are doing this but its something you need to think about and get right..

Goodluck
AnswerID: 382896

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 20:58

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 20:58
Your after a bit of info well different car but i have been driving a new BT50 around the last couple of days and thought this would be nicer to tow the van around with as it pulled the horse float realy well with electric brakes. Until I had a look in the manual this arvo. It says the vehicle is built to carry passengers and cargo in the back not towing. It also says no towing for the first 1000km as it can damage the transmission. So that thought went very quickly. Be interesting what the Hilux manual reads.
AnswerID: 382900

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 21:06

Saturday, Sep 12, 2009 at 21:06
Chris i think it would do it , But 1600kgs is a bit heavy for a ute that probably weights less. I always think with tray back utes ,what ever their legal carrying capacity is , the safer bet is to tow around the same weight, My opinion only!.

AnswerID: 382901

Reply By: 1 4 GUNNER - Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 07:29

Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 07:29
Thank you everyone for your help .
The ute is 2yrs old . with 14000ks on it .
it is a 2.7LT VARIABLE VALVE timing [manual ] single cab petrol
Toyota claims it has a towing capacity of 2200kgs
The plate on the van reads GROSS TRAILER MASS 1260kg
Aggregate trailer mass 1390
Tare 1090kg
I mentioned 1600kg to be on the safe side fully loaded
don't understand much about this weight thing .
These Hilux are very heavily sprung
Would at least take a ton in the tray .
any further help would be appreciated .
thanks guys chris.
AnswerID: 382928

Reply By: ozjohn0 - Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 11:18

Sunday, Sep 13, 2009 at 11:18
Toyota specify a max tow weight of 2250kg and a max ball weight of 225kg.
So you'll be well within their limits.
Toyota also specify that a WDH must be used. (Legal requirement).
It should do the job reasonably well, but with only a 2.7 motor you'll certainly know you've got something behind. Enjoy your travels.
ozjohn.
AnswerID: 382960