Hitch Receiver Extensions - Availability and Legality

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:24
ThreadID: 72420 Views:26233 Replies:9 FollowUps:14
Hi Folks
Have a question concerning a Hitch Extension for a Hayman Reece-type hitch receiver.
Using a D40 Navara Crew Cab, with a 7" tray, which limits the turning clearance when using the new camper trailer. Standard Turning is OK, but the reversing can jack-knife easily enough. So, had considered the options of an extended hitch, but came across an interesting item from the US, from a large Towbar accessory supplier. It's a straight extension for a towbar receiver, which your standard tongue slides into. I cut and paste the items into the file below, and stuck a pic as attached, and particularly like the step one. It apparently reduces capacity by 1/3, which is something I'm more than happy to accept, as the tow capacity is already 3000kg, and the camper only 1000kg.
Anyone heard of anything like this?
Anyone know if it's legal and, if not, where it states these are illegal on the Govt web pages?
Appreciate the info
Rocko

Web site info came from:
http://www.hitchcorner.com/trailer-hitch-accessories.htm

2" Hitch Extensions
• Hitch Extensions For 2" Receivers
• Extends Your Hitch And Still Allows You To Tow
• You Lose 1/3 Of The Carrying Capacity Of Your Hitch
• These Extend Your 2" Receiver Out By The Following Lengths:

7" Extension - Hollow Tube
• BRHE06...$49.95
14" Extension - Solid Steel Tube

• BRHE12...$80.00
18" Extension - Solid Steel Tube
• BRHE18...$94.95

Hitch Extensions with a Step
• Extends Your Hitch And Still Allows You To Tow
• Step is 17" Wide and 6" Deep
• Solid Steel Tube
• You Lose 1/3 Of The Carrying Capacity Of Your Hitch
These Extend Your 2" Receiver Out By The Following Lengths:

12" Extension
• BRST12...$99.00
18" Extension
• BRST18...$116.95

Reply By: puttputt - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:46

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:46
We get extentions here, but they reduce the weight towing capability significantly, check with any towbar specialist to get the length verses towing capability.
AnswerID: 383994

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:06

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:06
Where's "here?" ;)
Do you sell them? If so, how much? Have any info?
Scotty
FollowupID: 651942

Reply By: puttputt - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:49

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:49
Oops, sorry, I didn't read your whole post before responding, and now I see you already referred to reduced towing ability.
AnswerID: 383995

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:53

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 21:53
Personally, I'd prefer to extend the A-frame by the required amount..

YMMV

;-))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 383996

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 22:09

Sunday, Sep 20, 2009 at 22:09
How would you go about this? An extension to the towbar frame itself? Wouldn't that also affect the rated towing capacity?
Appreciate the info
Rocko
FollowupID: 651723

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 11:20

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 11:20
Rocko, any competent welder/trailer builder would be able to extend a trailer A-frame..
If done properly (trussed / braced gusseted as appropriate) this will have no adverse effect on the strength of the A-frame (may even make it stronger than it is now;-)), and will have absolutely no affect on the rated towing capacity of the HR type hitch itself...
As alluded to by Peter (below), you want to keep any download as close as possible to the rear axle, especially on a dual cab ute, as some of these have been known to bend/crack chassis:(
Also, by moving the axle back (while keeping the hitch standard), this will make the trailer more stable to tow, and definitely easier to reverse..

In short, if you want to move the trailer further back from the vehicle, extend the trailer A-frame, not the receiver/hitch ... (This is my opinion, based on 30-odd years experience towing trailers every which way across this country;-))
(YMMV)

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 651775

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 12:45

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 12:45
Hey again
How do they extend the A Frame? Just add an extension to the area where the Treg Hitch is?
If it means cutting or replacing the 2x A Frame bars, then unfortunately I can forget it. For no other reason that the cost to remove and relocate the front storage areas on the A frame, including battery compartments and gas bottles/jerrycans/storage areas, and not to mention changing everything wiring-wise, would make it unviable. If it means just extending the end of the A Frame outwards, making it like a Y shape, this is somewhat feasible. However, if you've encountered a Ranger XL Campomatic, they're seriously heavy duty, and extremely well galvanised. Definately not just a cheapo camper trailer. If it meant tacking on a basic steel bit to the front, and sacrificing the corrosion resistance, it's again probably not an option. But if it's easily done, then I see no problems.
So, how do they normally extend the A Frame?
Scotty
FollowupID: 651779

Follow Up By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:12

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:12
I have just read the thread again , you all ready mention about the Y shape this is way to go , but remember for a example if Aframe thickness is 3mm make the extension 5mm , steel markets can supply top grade gal / steel

also i think this your best option if had issues like what you are having i would selecting this option , all boat trailers use Y shape and old army trailers used Y shape

only can give you plus other people thoughts , you decide what's suits you

FollowupID: 652054

Follow Up By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 12:16

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 12:16
rocko

How Much length do you need ( 0.5m , 0.7m , 1.0m )
FollowupID: 652074

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 15:51

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 15:51
Very little, actually. 30cm would do nicely. 50cm would be fantastic. Definately no more.
FollowupID: 652102

Follow Up By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 17:06

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 17:06
Here Rocko
Its a rough Draw , My CAD software won't start up for 3d drawing
but anyway its your choice to what for you go with , Also there is a saying
longer A frames or pole type gives a slow response shorter they are the faster response becomes

FollowupID: 652119

Follow Up By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 17:06

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 17:06
Here Rocko
Its a rough Draw , My CAD software won't start up for 3d drawing
but anyway its your choice to what for you go with , Also there is a saying
longer A frames or pole type gives a slow response shorter they are the faster response becomes

FollowupID: 652120

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 18:05

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 18:05
Thanks Paul
FollowupID: 652128

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 09:34

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 09:34
The further back the ball is from the rear axle, the less stable the towing will be.
This is the advantage of 5th wheelers compared with 'normal' caravans.
Extending the trailer draw bar will give a much better result, IMHO.

AnswerID: 384024

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 11:23

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 11:23
I have a 28" dual receiver extension on my truck and it allows me to tow 4.5t with a weight distribution and 3.5 without. I need it because my camper hangs over 80cm and I cannot extent the A-frame of my boat trailer because there is no room to swing for the trailer. This is an extension with a 2.5" steel tube plus a 2" solid tube and weighs 50kg on its own. Towing is no problem for me but for a lighter vehicle like the Patrols or Landcruisers change in the geometry of the rig will affect stability. Additionally I use a shockerhitch (with airbag) which reduces the impact of a jumping trailer. It all depends on the weight of your trailer.
If you wanna tow 1.5t on bitumen I don't really see a problem.
good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 384032

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:27

Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:27
I dont know how you can have "solid steel tube"!! Its either solid or its tube!!

Michael
AnswerID: 384100

Reply By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 09:04

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 09:04
Rocko,
So you are saying that your tray over hangs longer than your tow ball

there are plenty of options if this is the case ( like shorten tray , new custom made tow bar , or length your A Frame on trailer ) I would,nt trust those extension bars having two sheer pins in one bar , I reckon if you do it right first time you know its going to be safely behind you all the time up hill down hill
AnswerID: 384160

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:05

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:05
Can't shorten tray...was customised for a camper back.
Other options are possible. How do they lengthen an A frame?
Scott
FollowupID: 651941

Follow Up By: Member -Paul M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:00

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:00
i will send you a design tomorrow so you don,t have to cut in half or bye new one but it must be done by a boily ,

regards Paul
FollowupID: 651946

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:22

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:22
Brilliant. Thanks mate
Scotty
FollowupID: 651949

Reply By: Ianw - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 23:44

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 23:44
Wow !! Hitch extension and airbags !!! Bent chassis for sure !!

AnswerID: 384268

Follow Up By: Rocko Wallaby - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:52

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 06:52
Shrugs. Thanks for the helpful advice on both threads, Ian. I'll be sure to take it all on board.
Scott
FollowupID: 652022

Reply By: tonysmc - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:59

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:59
Rocko,

IMHO even with the reduced towing capacity, you are still well above the camper weight so I would go with the extension. If you are thinking of extending your draw bar with a Y configuration, go to a boat yard and have a look at tilt trailers for boats. Not that you want it to tilt, however they use a Y type system and you could easily do the same. I would have a Z beam under the drawbar to strengthen it.

Cheers Tony.
AnswerID: 384294