Which diesel ute?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 16:49
ThreadID: 7244 Views:2885 Replies:6 FollowUps:3

Here is my shopping list:
4x4 ute, diesel (preferably turbo), tray back, would prefer extra/space cab, fuel economy important, good towing ability, will be used for lots of fishing/camping trips etc... as well as long haul trips (Vic to WA etc...)

Budget: 20-25K

So my options are:
Hilux seems pricey and underpowered (no turbo available in extra cab model), Navara 3.0td only available recently (out of my price range? What was the 3.2d like?), Triton 2.8td in current model only (2.8d - what fuel economy have people been getting? Is the new motor the sames as the old with a turbo bolted on or have they tweaked it a bit more than that?), Rodeo - what's the old 2.8td like? Courier/Bravo - the 2.5td seems like a great little motor but not so sure of their 4wd ability?

So what do people think? All comments appreciated.

Reply By: Browny - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:50

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 17:50
Hi Simon,
A mate of mine has just upgraded from his 2.8td Rodeo (extra cab)4x4 into the new 3.0 ltr td dual cab 4x4 (he needs a baby seat now) he was very happy with his 2.8 and is extremely happy with his new Rodeo, he is selling his 2.8 privately (in Melbourne) if you are interested, about $15,000 I think.

Browny
AnswerID: 31120

Reply By: ross - Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 22:42

Monday, Sep 15, 2003 at 22:42
Simon in that price range you could get yourself into a low klm diesel landcruiserHZJ75/78 tray/ute.I know it wouldnt be turbo but with a 4.2 ltr diesel it would still give adequate power on those long straights with great offroad capabilities.The other benefits would be increased capacity and room and low maintenance.Another plus is that when it comes time to sell you would have a privately owned l/cruiser for sale and any car salesman will tell you that these are scarce and command a higher price.If you did decide to get a landcruiser,get a non white as a salesman I know says he can always get more for a coloured landcruiser.
In case you didnt know Im a Landcruiser fan lol
AnswerID: 31181

Reply By: JimB - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 08:20

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 08:20
Ay Simon,

You could also pick up a good GQ or early GU ute for that $. If you're not planning to lug a heavy load on the back (rather tow it) the coil suspension would provide a more comfortable ride that the LC. Both the LC and Patrol will cope with the rough stuff a bit better than the lighter smaller utes, Errol could tell you about that.

If you keep $3000-3500 in the kicj you could always have it turboed yourself.

JimB
AnswerID: 31202

Follow Up By: SimonIT - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 08:56

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 08:56
Thanks for the info guys.

The only drama I have with either the LC or patrol utes is that there is no 'extra' cab models. Also, what sort of economy would I be expecting out of either of these?
FollowupID: 22155

Reply By: Member - Peter (1) - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 13:38

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 13:38
G'day Simon,
I have a 2.8 TD Rodeo, 93 model, and have had it from new, very happy with it. On it's own I constantly get 8-9 l/100kms on long trips and when fully kitted up as in my rig photo, towing van and carrying boat, I get about 15-16l/100kms. I must confess that when I got the van I also fitted an intercooler. I am very happy with it and intend to keep and use it for many more years yet, have to, as us poor self funded retirees can not afford new vehicles. Hope that this helps in making your selection.
Happy Travelling,
Peter.It doesn't get any better than this!!!
Peter (1)
AnswerID: 31226

Follow Up By: SimonIT - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 11:31

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 11:31
Hi Peter,

The 2.8td Rodeo seems to be getting a pretty good wrap. How have you found build quality, squeaks, rattles etc... after many years of tramping through the bush? Any particular areas of concern when looking at buying a second hand one other than the usual?

Thanks.
FollowupID: 22264

Reply By: Old Jack - Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 22:42

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2003 at 22:42
Simon,
with regard to the navara 3.2 motor they are a steep ahead of the old 2.7 diesel but a lot more thirsty. the Rodeo space cab is a beauty, having owned a petrol one I could never go back to a ute without the space cab configuration, having somewhere clean & dry to store tools & equipment and of course clothes and kit while travellling is hard t o beat. The petrol 2.6l automatic used to get 12.5-14lt with the A/C on consistently. The 2.8 turbo is very popular as 9-10lt /100klm is pretty average on the open road and was the class leader in power & torque for may years. they are solid reliable vehicals, not as flashy as others.
cant answer about the triton in diesel, other than the last model with an XL storage body on the back went like a slug, they are slow compared to many of the other's around. we had a V6 triton at work that went like a rocket on road, apart from th clutch shudder the dealer never fixed & the vibrations that required the tailshaft uni's & centre bearing replaced under warranty it wasnt to bad.

hope you find something that suits your needs

Jack
AnswerID: 31282

Follow Up By: SimonIT - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 11:29

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 11:29
Thanks Jack,

Yep I agree with the space cab sentiment. Even though you mightn't use the back for a lot of the time, it can be extremely handy when the situation arises. However, with a dual cab you loose a hell of lot of tray/ute space. So I think the space cab option is the go.
FollowupID: 22263

Reply By: Member - Peter (1) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 15:50

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 15:50
G'day Simon,
I have had the old girl serviced on a regular basis, mainly by 4x4 specialist, and have had no real squeaks or rattles, as well as no major problems except when doing the Gibb River Road loaded up as per my rig photo, the tail end started to get a bit droopy. On return to Perth, I had rear suspension beefed up, Old Man Emu heavy duty, and the chassis strengthened at rear. When checking out 2nd. hand Rodeos, always check the chassis for bends or welds. This is their one weak spot, just behind cab and over rear axle. It will carry one ton, but not for any lenght of time, ie. more than one day, without sagging in the rear. While it won't break any speed records, it will go for ever, comfortably and economically.
Happy Travelling,
Peter.It doesn't get any better than this!!!
Peter (1)
AnswerID: 31330