Swap & Go Gas bottles

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 16:38
ThreadID: 72510 Views:14229 Replies:10 FollowUps:25
Not sure if it is just me or not ? Just swapped a 9kg cylinder here in home town Torquay for an 8.5kg cylinder and $35.95 later.
Is LPG really worth $4.20 odd a kg - and was only $28 last swap but I suppose that was not school holiday period(Torquay is swamped with travellers at the moment.Seems like lets play sting the tourists)

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:09

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:09
No - I am sure its the same gas as cars use - so work it out how much you get ripped off for bottle gas. Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 384482

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:22

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:22
From LPG Australia....

Are there different types of LPG?

YES. There are two different grades or blends of LPG and they are not interchangeable. One is for automotive use only (called autogas) and will contain butane and propane. The other is propane only, which is used for decanting into cylinders for caravans, barbecues, camping and household use.
For safety reasons autogas must not be used as a substitute for propane only applications like BBQs or household use.

So there !!!!!
FollowupID: 652246

Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:39

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:39
DIO

If there are two different types then how come for many years everyone could top up their camping gas bottles at the garage from the decanting station that fed straight from that big white tank.

Further when traveling through NewZealand they have decanting stations in amongst the fuel bowsers that feed off the same line. The weigh your bottle first then fill it and weigh it again and then only charge you by weight how much they put in.

Same gas. I once bought a gas hot water system for my house which was on street gas. The hot water system was jetted for bottled gas. All the plumber did was change the high pressure jets to low pressure jets. Worked fine.

On the net there is a report of a guy who designed a compressor for home to compress his house gas and then recharge his car. HIGHLY ILLEGAL AND DANGEROURS. About as bad as distilling liquor. You will regularily see reports of people blowing the top of their house off when the home still blows up.

The gas essentially comes from the same hole in the ground and some wells you can use it straight from the hole if you could get it into your pressure tank.

My brother inlaw works in the oil fields and says at some wells they fill up their diesel cars straight from the well head - must be some sort of tap off.

FollowupID: 652251

Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:46

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:46
A quick google search tells us that butane and propane are only marginally different but outweighed by how similar they are. Both are carbon and hydrogen atoms but butane has 4 carbon 10 hydrogen while propane has 3 carbon 8 hydrogen. Both are used for home heating and cooking and for use in cars interchangeably.

Me thinks that fuel companies like us to think they are different so they can charge us more.

FollowupID: 652256

Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:00

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:00
DIO - The servos I have worked for only have one main gas tank, this tank decants to the Gas Bowser and to the Gas Refill Bottle

Thus I draw the conclusion it is the same gas :-)

Not the same price though.

Always thought I should get a dummy gas tank for the car and then decant back to the gas cylynder.

However & whatever Cooking gas prices are a big rip off, in my opinion. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 652260

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:04

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:04
"So there !!!!!"

DIO,

Mate what is with the attitude.

Tony was just asking a simple question.

The comment you made prior to this was sufficient. Then you went along and added the extra bit.

I don't understand why you did this, and it was uncalled for.

FollowupID: 652264

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:09

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:09
"So There" ?????????
This bloke DIO just can't help himself....but then again.....Maybe he does LOL
FollowupID: 652281

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:23

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:23
Having worked in the industry I can say that the whole "ooer no its different and dangerous if you use the other one" is a complete crock. I don't know what the current state of play is with bulk gas rates and the % of blend, but it seems more like an energy company scam than anything.

The Kleenheat gas tanker that used to fill the bulk LPG tank at the BP station I worked at used to fill the BBQ gas decanter from the same hose, out of the same tanker.

Some LPG products are a mixture of butane and propane, yes, and is sometimes a by-product of refining crude oil, but the bulk of the LPG that is made available in Australia is from natural reservoirs and generally receives little blending for domestic use.
FollowupID: 652293

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:45

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:45
Chaps,

DIO has been on this site for ages.

He's a "hit and run" merchant. Much like a Guerilla war soldier. That is to say he lobs genades and runs for cover.

He never responds to any response of his inflammatory posts. He's a perpetual stirrer. Why he hasn't been banned is a mystery to me.

FollowupID: 652302

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 00:15

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 00:15
Actually Dio is right, Auto gas is a mixture of Propane & Butane, Propane BBQ gas burns hotter than Butane which is what's in cigarette lighters. Some Garages use Auto gas to fill gas bottle's but if you get them filled at a Gas Depot you will get Propane. Some garages have a large Auto gas tank & a smaller Propane tank. Most of our gas here in NSW comes from over seas. I use to drive for one of the largest Gas carrying company's in Aust

GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 652322

Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 00:50

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 00:50
Nice truck there Dave

FollowupID: 652325

Follow Up By: nickoff - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:09

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:09
Gas aint gas.

Autogas = Propane/Butane mix

In most places in Australia, Auto gas is a blend of Propane and Butane. Because of the different “weights” of these gasses, they “boil” off at different temperatures. This makes no difference in an automotive situation as the gases are draw off the bottle in a liquid form, and “boiled” in a heat exchanger under the bonnet to a gaseous form to burn in the engine. In Northern Australia, far from refineries, Auto gas and Bottle gas usually are the same thing, Propane, as it is un economic to ship two different gasses by sea for the small quantities used of either one on its own.

LPG (Liquified Petroleum Gas) = Propane

In a bottled gas for home heating/cooking it is an entirely different kettle of fish. As the gas is drawn off the bottle In a gaseous form, the lighter of the two gasses (Butane) boils off first due to its lower boiling point, then the heavier gas (Propane) boils off after all the butane has gone. These two gasses need different jetting / controls as they have different calorific values, creating different heat for the amount of gas burnt.
Propane and Butane can be maintained in a liquid for by being stored under moderate pressure.
That is why home heating/cooking gas is supposed to be pure propane only.

Natural Gas = Methane

Natural gas is Methane, which is lighter again that either Butane or Propane, actually lighter that air, where as Butane and Propane are heavier than air. Methane needs different jetting and controls as its calorific value is different yet again.
Methane cannot be stored as a liquid under pressure, as the pressures required are so high, that it is uneconomic to do so. Pressure vessels become too heavy to move, and build. Methane however lends itself to storage as a liquid under refrigeration, and is stored as a cryogenic liquid at about -270 deg centigrade. This then can be stored in light weight containers, with adequate insulation, and maintains liquid form by slowing boiling off as it absorbs heat. (Blood big eskies)

It is true that all these gasses come from a hole in the ground, but are separated in large refrigerated gas chains to purify them for their intended uses. Also from this same hole in the ground are extracted Carbon DiOxide, Helium, Nitrogen, and various sulfur compound gasses. Propane and Butane also are derived from Light crude oil refraction and distillation and used to be an oil refinery waste produce many year ago.

So, Gasses anit Gasses.
FollowupID: 652356

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:24

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:24
LNG liquification temp = -161 Deg C.

No argument about the difference between Propane and Butane, but in many places these are interchanged without the consumer even realising. In WA Wesfarmers have a stranglehold on LPG, extracting this from the DomGas pipeline at their Kwinana plant. The SAME gas is then used to supply servos and to fill cylinders for domestic and commercial use.

The gas is sent all over WA in tankers and there are not different tankers for different end uses of the gas. If you could come up with a coupling to fill your gas bottle at the gas bowser of a servo, you'd save a fortune.

Russ
FollowupID: 652368

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 21:13

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 21:13
Not arguing about slight differences in the gas, but have a mate who delivers for kleen heat and he fills bowser tanks and bottle gas refill tanks from the same tanker !!!
Other places have a bowser close enough to the LPG tank and just fill it from there bowser pump.

Pesty
FollowupID: 652528

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:59

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:59
No it is just outright theft!!! the nines get 8.5 and 4.5s get 3.7!!! i think it is because they are underating old cylinders they give a quick squirt of paint and fill then use for swap n go. i always try to find somewhere to get my cylinders filled until they are 10 years old or they wont fill them anymore then do the S'n'Go thing.it is the same gas they use for cars but with an extremely high price per kg.i did the swap n go thing in Lakes Entr about 2 months ago and a 3.7 was $28! BASTARDS! they obviously knew i needed it as it ran out 1/2 way thru the cooking!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 384494

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:33

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:33
Paul....spot on mate. I learnt and I always refill now, and go without, until I can refill. "That's why ya need a good gennie" My dollars, not theirs. LOL
FollowupID: 652285

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:20

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:20
I can never understand why domestic gas is sold by the kilogram and gas for cars is sold by the litre
AnswerID: 384495

Follow Up By: Rip64 - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:29

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:29
Me again
How many litres per kilo ???
At that price I would think about 7-8
It is a rob & travellers pay (And me cooking Snags on the BBQ for tea)
FollowupID: 652249

Follow Up By: nickoff - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:04

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:04
Propane Specific Gravite = .510
FollowupID: 652354

Reply By: landseka - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:50

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:50
In Bunbury today my 9kg refill was $24odd. Cheapest in town.

In WA regional, and probably all regional areas they send one (1) gas tanker to deliver lpg for auto use at the service stations and the same stuff goes to refil the propane tanks for gas bottle refills.

The gas bottles are for sure a rip-off

Neil
AnswerID: 384504

Follow Up By: landseka - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:54

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:54
D'oh, this evenings red wine is working....I meant to say that price was at Bunbury BFC store.

FollowupID: 652259

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:32

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:32
BCF even :-)

To compare that to bowser prices for LPG, it costs me roughly $26-$27 to fill my gas tank in my car, which is 52 useable litres (generally only fit 47-48 litres in it)

FollowupID: 652297

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:28

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:28
Bunnings in Busselton is $27.40 for 8.5 Kg bottle 'swap an go'
The gas place accross the road was $33

I run out on Wednesday and had to refill

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 652359

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:28

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:28
Probably some of the price difference comes down to paying someone to fill the smaller gas bottle (& their workers' comp insurance etc.) while you would fill the LPG to the car by yourself.
FollowupID: 652369

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:28

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:28
Probably some of the price difference comes down to paying someone to fill the smaller gas bottle (& their workers' comp insurance etc.) while you would fill the LPG to the car by yourself.
FollowupID: 652370

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:44

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:44
Oops, I guess you heard me the first time... (not sure what happened there)
FollowupID: 652371

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:31

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:31
Hi all, now I know this is not relevant to the local scene but in America motor homes use, or at least used to, have an auto gas filler on the rear or side of the vehicle for onboard gas requirements for cooking and refrigeration and heating etc. If the vehicle ran on gas there would be 2 such fillers. Both filled from the same outlet at the servo. Why not here???

Cause were stupid and put up with it.

Regards, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 384509

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:34

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:34
PS. Butane is used for cooking and so is LPG in Australia so where is the problem.

No profit unless you can hoodwink the punters I guess.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 652276

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:51

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:51
Iv never had any problems with car gas in my 9.5Kg cylinders for cooking etc. Been filling them for about 12Yrs from my vehicles LPG liquid line under the bonnet.
FollowupID: 652289

Reply By: Member - Roger T (SA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:25

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:25
rays in sa $19.98 ($20)regular fill.swap an go no way.
AnswerID: 384521

Reply By: paulnsw - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 08:20

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 08:20
used autogas in everything for 10 yrs
no difference and this post
"From LPG Australia....
Are there different types of LPG?
YES. There are two different grades or blends of LPG and they are not interchangeable. One is for automotive use only (called autogas) and will contain butane and propane. The other is propane only, which is used for decanting into cylinders for caravans, barbecues, camping and household use.
For safety reasons autogas must not be used as a substitute for propane only applications like BBQs or household use."
is pussy manure to charge high prices. gas industry is a ripoff. is all lies. does not matter a damn if any butane in propane. only time it matters if you are in freezing conditions constantly. to be a problem butane would have to be at 65% or greater and that would never happen. dont listen to the gas industry lies and stop getting ripped off

roughly 2L of LPG to 1kg so 9kg bottle worth no more than $10
why do you think so many people who use a lot of gas fill up autogas bottles and decant their own. to get 45kg bottle $100 to refill 45kg bottle $40
get a bottle with over fill limiter fitted and proper adaptor and fill your own bottles for $10
AnswerID: 384550

Reply By: Rossco 09 - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 10:01

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 10:01
Hey guess what guys, my converted bus motorhome has a car gas tank installed for the stove and oven inside (refuse to use it for a fridge). Yes, it has accreditation as part of the conversion process, and of course the best part is gets filled at the bowser for 60 odd cents/ltr.

AnswerID: 384567

Reply By: austastar - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:56

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:56
With the hassles of out dated bottles and regulations on the Tas Ferry re spares with gas in them, we are moving away from gas in the camper.
Bought a Coleman dual fuel and a Coleman North Star lantern.
Not supposed to carry petrol on the ferry, but Coleman Fuel isn't petrol strictly speaking, but it is not too much trouble to pick up the fuel from the first town camping shop we pass once we hit the mainland.

The next camper will have a Websato diesel hot plate for inside cooking, and the Coleman for out side use.

No Gas.

AnswerID: 384587

Follow Up By: Bobjl - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 19:34

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 19:34
See also
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propane_ga
FollowupID: 652504

Reply By: Freewilly1414 - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 22:49

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 22:49
Just thought I would let you all know of a conversation I have had with 2 different independant LPG tanker drivers at different times. They both said that one large fuel company ( their name consists of 2 letters only ) blends their city autogas outlets LPG with butane ( up to 40% ) which has NO power value in a car engine. They do it to get rid of the excess butane,,,,,,,,But in the country roadhouses they cant pull the same trick and they have to send one tanker only filled with pure propane to fill both the bottle gas and autogas tanks. So the moral of this story is buy your LPG autogas at an independant outlet in the city ,,,,,,,,,And dont think that if its another companies LPG tanker unloading at the " big companies " outlet its 100% LPG either as they hire in contractors from time to time to deliver their " blended " LPG also !
AnswerID: 385139