80 series turbo

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 20:48
ThreadID: 7282 Views:1749 Replies:11 FollowUps:2
I'm currently looking at 80 series turbo diesels for a big trip around our top piece of real estate ( 1 or 2 years ) I've heard there were problems with the first models in the early 90,s , Good examples of the later of the series seem very hard to come by. Can anybody help with some info on this

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 21:38

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 21:38
gday smod.
have a lookat post7161 theres quite a bit there that will help youjamieson wild cat
AnswerID: 31368

Reply By: Member - Eric- Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 22:32

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 22:32
if you want a early 90 's turbo diesel , make sure the crank has been done , problems in that year , Craigs hut 2003
AnswerID: 31377

Reply By: Peter L - Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 22:42

Wednesday, Sep 17, 2003 at 22:42
Smod. the problem with the early Factory turbo diesels (HDT motor) was due to poor bigend bearing shells not the actual motor. By now most of these would have had the shells replaced, but if you do buy one up to about 94 then ensure it has been done or have it done immediately yourself ($400 ish parts & labour)
There were some rare problems with the actual crankshafts in the 1HZ (indirect non-turbo) but AFAIK not the Direct Injection factory TD
AnswerID: 31379

Follow Up By: haze - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 08:00

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 08:00
Mate had one (94turbo) which carked it twice. But I would have blamed him, not the vehicle. To start with he hated using the handbrake, always leaving it parked in first. His "drive off" procedure was right foot well into the pedal,(leave the clutch alone) turn the key and because those direct injections are pretty instant starters the "launch" was pretty dramatic. And thanks to tojo poor design of upside down self draining oil filter the poor bloody truck would have been in third by the time oil had arrived at the big ends!
He is now attempting to destroy a nissan which so far is resisting strongly!
cheers haze
FollowupID: 22319

Reply By: mrdesmo - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 08:39

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 08:39
G'Day smod
Good choice....I recently bought a 92 turbo diesel, got the big ends done as soon as I got it, (200,000kms on the clock) and they were in excellent condition. The 80 had full service history and was well looked after, but there was no mention of the big ends done in the books, so I guess maybe I just got a good one.
You're dead right, the later ones are rare as rocking horse poo and the asking price is pretty high, but then again, a good example of a 4.2TD was still hard to find, period. My advice...be patient and one will come along. Prices seem to vary state to state, with cheaper ones in Syd and Melb with more to choose from.
Just my opinion....
Some info....
http://www.safari4x4.com.au/80scool/tech/td_bearings.html
Oh what a feeling...!!
AnswerID: 31390

Reply By: geoff - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 09:44

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 09:44
G'day,

Yup, as mentioned above be patient and something will turn up, we looked for a good three months before we found a 96 1HD-FT multi valve, paid good coin, but the truck was in excelent condition and it runs like a dream. I cannot wait to do some serious cruising in it, as the 60 series we traded up from looked after us well, but there is no comparison in the comfort and power stakes.

AnswerID: 31393

Reply By: StephenF - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 10:39

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 10:39
There is a 12/96 multivalve TD auto for sale in today's Adelaide Advertiser for $39,990. Seems a bit much for a seven-year-old Cruiser though.
AnswerID: 31400

Reply By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 12:37

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 12:37
Smod,

Why don't you look around and picked a normally asperated deisel and attach an aftermarket turbo. Might be a cheaper way to go. I bought my 91 80 Series GXL in Feb 2001 and it had 190 000 km on the clock for $23 000. I have since put a DTS turbo on now - as well as heaps of other stuff, and I couldn't be happier.
AnswerID: 31409

Reply By: smod - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 17:10

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 17:10
Thank's all for the replies on the 80 series, am currently considering heading west to check out that unit in Adelaide
AnswerID: 31437

Reply By: Gordon - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 18:35

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 18:35
Smod
I bought my 80 in 1995 when I was living in Adelaide. Went to Melbourne for the weekend checked out 3 bought a 1993 model 1HDT with steps, winch bar, roof-rack and 70,000 km on the clock for $42k. I haven't touched the motor other than normal servicing and I know the big-end bearings have never been replaced. It's now done 160,000 km including Flinders Ranges, Gamon Ranges from Adelaide and since moing to Brisbane we've done Ayres Rock, Kimberley and this year the Cape. Its still as solid as the day I bought it.
AnswerID: 31452

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 21:43

Thursday, Sep 18, 2003 at 21:43
Smod,

We upgraded from an asthmatic '60 series, 300K clicks, to a '90 model, 80 series Turbo. What a difference!!! After a fuel pump o'haul($1250), it was a virtual rocket. After over 2 years, traded it on a 97 Multi valve turbo, with 87K on it, which is more refined, c'control for starters. It doesn't have the sheer grunt of 90 model, and this may have something to do with tyres, but we are keeping it long term. Had it 5 years now.

Only setback was pump o'haul, $3150, not long after we bought it. Have had no problems in over 130K clicks. Fitted big auxiliary tank, rear drawers, cargo barrier, tyre carrier and 3" exhaust. Front seats are plain, so we had adjustable lumbar supports put in by Motorcare, Brissy. Still not as good as after market seating.

Have a mysterious crack in rear tail gate which is getting bigger, and it rattles on our gravel roads. Economy is excellent, as long as you don't make it boogie too much, great touring vehicle, go anywhere. Is big enough to shift gear of uni student daughter, in one lift. Enough said.

If your patience can handle it, wait for the later model. Happy tyre kicking...

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 31462

Reply By: ben - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 02:52

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 02:52
hey mate i think i got what your looking for, black, 97 model , 80 series turbo diesel, auto, all extras, 145thousand kms,.
email me at roarts03@hotmail.com
or if anyone else is interested for that matter.
havn't advertised yet, and i know it won't last long.
AnswerID: 31483

Follow Up By: Coops (Pilbara) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 11:03

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 11:03
can you send me pics & details please Ben?
allyn@wn(dot com dot au)
Did I chat to you earlier on?
FollowupID: 22437