3 mobile coverage

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:57
ThreadID: 72883 Views:4956 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
does any of you guys have your phones on 3 mobile when touring around?
whats the reception like in places like fraser island or in the outback?
has anybody had any probs with 3 network

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:19

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:19
3's own network doesn't have coverage outside the majors. It relies on roaming to Telstra's network. That's OK for voice but it sucks if you want to use internet access on it as the data is charged at a very high rate.

Personally we have a prepaid Telstra Next G blue tick phone that we use when travelling, just check the 3 one when in towns for messages.
AnswerID: 386337

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:22

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:22
I'm the same.
Three roams on the GSM Network NOT the Next G Network so fairly limited once out of major towns and cities.

I use a Telstra Next G Pre Paid for the more isolated places.

FollowupID: 653911

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:30

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:30
The 3 network now roams to NextG also.

You must have a phone capable of the NextG frequencies for this to work - your existing 3 phone won't roam to NextG.
FollowupID: 653942

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 10:13

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 10:13
Hi Mike,,
I'd check out that again.
Granted, some resellers 'claim' 3 romas to nextG- but this is not correct...

FollowupID: 653948

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 10:35

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 10:35
Yeah I heard Three was negotiating with Telstra to access the Nest G Network but had not yet been successful in those negotiations as yet??

Would be interested if you could confirm your info Mike.

FollowupID: 653950

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:17

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:17
From http://www.three.com.au/cs/ContentServer?c=Page&pagename=Three%2FPage%2FThreeLayout&cid=1221530796538

"When you’re outside 3’s Broadband Zone, 3 customers with a mobile or modem capable of accessing 3G roaming Zone may roam (or start using) parts of Telstra's 850MHz 3G network"

Is it that hard to go to 3's website ?
FollowupID: 653958

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:40

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:40
"may roam" ...."parts of"....Sounds a bit iffy to me !!

FollowupID: 653962

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:30

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:30
went for a trip through the mid north of WA and the Pilbarra with my next G phone and it prob worked maybe 5% of the time so i wouldnt give "3" much hope of working much at all in the outback
AnswerID: 386340

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:32

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:32
No probs but no reception either.

I used to live on Bribie Island and I could see the Vodafone tower but my phone couldnt.

3 stopped at the Murrumba Downs turnoff

Telstra is the ONLY carrier that is worthwhile and not available everywhere either.

An extrernal aerial will definitiely help in a vehicle or a van.

AnswerID: 386348

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:57

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:57
I have a Telstra 165i with a little aerial you pull out someone I know who works for Telstra said this phone (although cheap Chinese ) works very well however I haven't been in Central Aust with it yet but it certainly beats my mates phone who is also with Telstra. Ask about it at a Telstra shop it certainly has very good range. My mate bought an external aerial for his phone attached to his vehicle & he really doesn't think it's worth the $$$. But that's his opinion.
FollowupID: 653929

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 02:00

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 02:00
I was told by a marine electronics guy that cos the transmitting power of a next G/GSM/ CDMA is only around .5 watt, it doesnt matter whats more than about 1 or 2 meters up the aerial cable
FollowupID: 653934

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:44

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 08:44
It's a shame he knows nothing about transmission and propagation of radio signals.
FollowupID: 653944

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:52

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:52
I know this may be a bit off topic, but if I held my phone as high as an aerial, will it get as good a signal as if I had it plugged into that same aerial ???
FollowupID: 653964

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:11

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:11
Probably not as I would think its the length of the aerial and whats inside that governs reception rather than how high it is.

After all a Next G aerial isnt much higher than the roof of your car.

I did however see a guy broken down near Newman, standing on the roof of his car talking on his mobile.

Probably right on the outer fringe of reception.

Those great big wanker aerials you see on utes have the same amount of gain as a smaller multiband.

I was about 45k north of Carnarvon when my phone rang Pulled it out of cradle and it nearly dropped out.

Put it back in and turned on loudspeaker and talked all the way in.

Had an RFI multiband aerial connected to the cradle with a Nokia 6120.

Now have an Iphone and cradle and same aerial.

FollowupID: 653967

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:35

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:35
feel free to explain Mike
FollowupID: 653985

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:26

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:26
"cos the transmitting power of a next G/GSM/ CDMA is only around .5 watt, it doesnt matter whats more than about 1 or 2 meters up the aerial cable"

- the gain of an aerial is constant, regardless of transmit power. If it has a gain of 3 db there will be an effective doubling of power, whether it's used with a 1 watt transmitter or a 100 watt transmitter.
FollowupID: 654663

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:52

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:52
I have a 165 with a 4Db gain antenna (about 6CM tall) in the middle of my Range Rover roof.

It greatly enhances Next G reception from maybe 1 bar to 3-4 bars.

You need a good ground plane to be able to transmit.

I previously had a 7DB gain antenna on the drain gutter and could receive well but poorer transmission, as it has only a few degrees depth of radiation, and would drop out on hills etc.

There are Next G towers in many unexpected places eg Cape Leveque at every "local" settlement but generally you have to be within 30Km of a town or mine. There are some exceptions like near the Argyll Diamond mine and at Hope valley on the GRR. Have a look at the coverage map.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 386394

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:52

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:52
And Century Mine at Lawn Hill also has Next G.

FollowupID: 654005

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:27

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:27
"You need a good ground plane to be able to transmit. "

- No, most Mobile Phone antennas are totally independant of a ground plane
FollowupID: 654664

Reply By: stevie1947 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:11

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:11
I have a "3" mobile which is NextG compatable and picks up Telstra's network
no problems. I have just returned from a trip around OZ and whenever Telstra had service I could use the "3" mobile. But u must get the NextG compatable phone, I think "3" had about 3 of the Nextg compatable phones when I got mine. No problems at all.
AnswerID: 386403

Reply By:- Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:26

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 10:26
I was recently in dingo beach whitsundays qld we had one telstra next g samsung blue tick phone and one 3 sony ericksson phone. The telstra one had limited access and the 3 one had none. After years ago getting sold a vodaphone deal with glowing promises and then finding telstra people with far superior coverage and my vodaphone with little, I have always stuck with telsta now as it is the best coverage I find.
Ros
AnswerID: 386470

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:32

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:32
See Stevie1947's post above.

3 have only recently decided to roam to NextG - only recent models are technically capable of roaming to NextG.
FollowupID: 654667

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 06:50

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 06:50
Very poor coverage at Dingo Beach....sounds like the difference between phones rather than 3 coverage issue (using NextG network).

1 Tower miles away (towards the highway), shielded by the small hill at Dingo Beach, makes for no coverage in much of the town.....locals aren't happy for obvious reasons.

FollowupID: 654680

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 20:52

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 20:52
I have 3, When we were up at CapeYork this year it was of no use once we left Cairns. I checked with 3 today and they confirmed that they do not access Telstra's Next G network only their older and not as good 3G network.

I got a prepaid Telstra Next G prepaid handset that we took and got reception in a number of places.

IMHO if you want a phone or data connection when touring Telstra Next G is the only way to go.
AnswerID: 387084