Qantas - Bronze Whalers of the Skies

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:36
ThreadID: 73120 Views:3957 Replies:9 FollowUps:19
People grizzle about Tiger and how if they turn up late they miss the boat so to speak. And how Richard Branson of Virgin is an inveterate pants man.

But Qantas are the absolute sharks. I booked a fare for my son earlier in the year, and due to unforeseen circumstances, he had to cancel the flight (with plenty of notice). The fare was credited, but could only be used by him (and not by me who booked and paid for it). Why that restriction you might wonder. Me too.

That aside, I had occasion to book him on another flight of lower value. Of course the difference in value is forfeited. And they charge an additional $80 rebooking fee!

Qantas, you really are a bunch of crooks. I guess you are no different to Telstra, the Four Banks, Woolworths, Coles and any other big corporate who needs to bleed the ordinary Australian in order to pay your CEOs multi-million dollar salaries and bonuses.

You make me sick.

I feel better now.

That reminds me - I include the private health funds in my list of crooks.

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:55

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:55
Hi Bob, you can add Quest Apartments to that list as well. We booked a room in Parramatta a couple of weeks ago for a Monday night, as Geoff had to be at a course at 7am on the Tuesday morning. They insisted I give them our cradit card number to hold the room, so I give them the cradit card details. Anyway, the course was cancelled, so I rang them at 12.30pm on the Sunday afternoon to cancel the booking and explain why, and because it was not enough notice, they still charged the $129 to our credit card.
Didn't I tell them what I thought of Quest!

Never ever agiann will I stay at Quest appartments, and never ever will I give out my credit card details again for a booking. I will chance it and turn up at a motel and hope they have a vacancy. If I had of known we would still be charged, I would have been horrible and not even rang to cancel the booking. I bet they still hired the room out for the night.

Quest Appartments make me sick too, I know how you feel, but I suppose someone has to pay these Million dollar salaries,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Karen
AnswerID: 387613

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:56

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:56
Well I guess it is all in the fine print, for those that read the condition….but crooks?

I mean, for many people these days the cab ride to the airport, with toll roads, airport taxes, ends up making the flight the least expensive bit of the trip. For me I sit back, relax (get fed, and arrive in another east coast city within one hour), with a beer in hand after 4pm and all for less than a hundred bucks, usually…..almost feel like a burglar myself sometimes!

Hear what you are saying though Bob!!
AnswerID: 387614

Follow Up By: mowing - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:13

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:13
Landy, you are right, $156 Per -Ade including movie, meal, glass of wine and drumstick icecream. Cheap as, but if I didn't abide by the fare conditions then I would wear it as that was my decision to book that fare type at the time.

FollowupID: 655129

Reply By: mowing - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:06

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:06
Bob, At the end of the day Qantas advise you of the conditions under "fare types" when you book. It is then your choice to take a no frills fare type and take the risk of something happening or alternatively take out travel insurance which would have cost you about $15. Qantas are not crooks, you made the wrong decision and unfortunately you are not happy with that decision, it is not Qantas's fault.

AnswerID: 387616

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:49

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:49
I am not disputing that is in the fine print.

The reason I call them crooks is because, amongst other things, they can set any fee they like.

I did take out the travel insurance on the fare, but when I contact Qantas they nothing about that.

At the end of the day, large corporations can do what they effing well like. Does that make them crooks? I think so. (What is the best way to rob a bank - get yourself a managerial position).

Some people just take it on the chin, others, like me become annoyed.
FollowupID: 655255

Follow Up By: mowing - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 20:52

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 20:52
Bob, If you had travel insurance you would have it on the printout when you purchased the ticket plus the additional cost involved. You have done the right thing with the travel insurance so I would chase them up as the money is better in your pocket than theirs.

FollowupID: 655367

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:12

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:12
Add to that list certain Govt Departments.

Bought a Rodeo ute as a little project, sent the Change of Ownership papers in, two months later received an infringment notice with a $100 penalty + the $28 CoO charge.
Thought I missed the initial invoice somehow and paid the $128.
3 weeks later the iinvoice for the $28 came in the mail. Told, nicely, get stuffed !!!

Been putting in my BAS monthly on time since the GST was introduced.
One month the statement hadn't arrived, rang the ATO who said they would send another one out, it arrived, I filled it out straight away and returned it.

Got clobbered with a $200 penalty because it arrived 3 days late.

Can remember a time when people trusted Govt, major institutions and large companies to do the right thing, now, we spend half our lives trying to avoid becoming their victims.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 387617

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 21:37

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 21:37
The ATO have wound up the requirement to lodge on time or they will slug you a late lodgment penalty.
Who better to whack than the poor little business man.

No doubt as a response to Mr Swan who needs to pay the ever rising interest cost he and his mate have dumped on us all.

Probably a case of get used to it as it will no doubt get a lot worse for us unpaid small business tax collectors.

FollowupID: 655170

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:24

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:24
John It's John's Tax.. :-)
FollowupID: 655196

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:31

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:31
Once!!
Now its Kev's and Wayne's little swan song.

FollowupID: 655200

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:42

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:42
Way I look at it is that you only pay the tax if you earn the money .... helps keep me sane thinking this way :-)
FollowupID: 655204

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:50

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:50
Patrol22

methink the same..... I pay heaps of Tax.. :-))
FollowupID: 655207

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 21:36

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 21:36
My wife flies interstate quite regularly and I can tell you the airlines are all crooks. Book and pay for a ticket 6 mths in advance, turn up to the airport an hour and a half in advance to book in....sorry all the seats are taken. Don't believe me? Its happened twice in the last year once on Virgin, once on Qantas. They all over book the flights and count on no shows. 'Sorry madam you will have to wait over there with those other sour looking people who are also now on standbye' but said with a smile.

We have learned now. Print your boarding pass 24 hrs early on line and you are ok. This last long weekend, my wife was travelling with an associate on the friday to Adelaide. The wifes companion didn't do the 24 hour thing online and couldn't get on the flight. No seats left ha ha!

You are all warned now about this thievery.

AnswerID: 387643

Follow Up By: mowing - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:25

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:25
Mike, I have never heard of "Oversale- Denied Boarding" on a domestic flight only international and there are rules that they must follow prior ie calling for volunteers. Booking online should not make any difference as you can still book from home and not show up, whereas if you front up and book in over the counter they know that you are there albeit you still might go to the bar and get a drink and miss a flight with your baggage having had to be off loaded with the extra cost of same and all the other passengers having to wait. (that really annoys me and the passenger involved should be charged with the additional fuel etc).
Not saying that it does not happen (overbooking) but can't see what difference the booking on line would make.

FollowupID: 655197

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:38

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:38
No not a booking, you allocate your seat yourself from a plane diagram and print yourself a boarding pass. This ability opens 24 hrs prior to the flight and you have to put in your ticket number to access it. My wife did it on the thursday and with 23.5 hrs to go she had no other options than the seat she got. Normally that early you can pick and choose the seat. Her supposed companion for the flight was absolutely cheesed off and went home deciding not to do the trip at all as there was no guarantee that a flight would be available. As I said, the ticket booked and was paid for over six months prior. This happened to my wife twice. How can they not be overbooking if there are no seats left when you have paid for your ticket way in advance. The last time it happened to my wife, it was a flight to Coffs Harbour. I had to drive her there for the function as there were no more flights.

Its quite criminal and we have had a go at them over it. Imagine if a hotel did that?
FollowupID: 655201

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:42

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:42
sorry, and it makes a big difference as you just walk straight through with your boarding pass etc. The suckers who don't know are the unhappy ones waiting to see if the onliners actually do turn up
FollowupID: 655203

Follow Up By: mowing - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:56

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:56
Sorry Mike, wrong choice of words, I meant "Check in". The on-line check in system will place passengers in seats who have booked on a flight so that when it opens you will see that a flight might be half full or almost booked out. The on-line check in confirms your seat, ( you probably have no choice) your information on dangerous goods etc. A better system would be to start with an empty aircraft and fill it as people check in. In my experience, the on-line check in does not give you much of an option with seating especially with load factors around 85%.

FollowupID: 655208

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:03

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:03
Any way you look at it, its not satisfactory. The first time it happened was with Virgin. My wife was told the flight was closed 40 minutes before the end of check in. She went off at them. It couldn't be closed because her seat wasn't filled and check in was still open? We vowed never to travel Virgin again only to have it happen to us and then her friend on Qantas. What hope have we got. I must say, that it has either been a long weekend or school holidays (or both) when its happened.

Its off my chest now, we know how to beat it and I have warned everyone that it does happen.

FollowupID: 655211

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:47

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:47
Mike, after being bumped from business class back to economy class on a 12 hour international flight, I was advised that had I been a 'frequent flyer' menber I wouldn't have been the first one kicked out of my seat. I think it cost about $80 to sign up FF with Qantas but if your wife is flying often it might be worthwhile for her.

In that instance I couldn't really complain:
* I'd have been in economy anyway if I had to pay for the ticket (was a business trip)
* They gave me an bulkhead/exit row with more legroom than I'd have had up the (other) 'pointy end'
* They refunded the difference in ticket price to the office (as they should!)
* They 'compensated' me some AUD 700, personally
* The bloke I ended up sitting next to was a far more entertaining character than many of the snobs you'll encounter in business class (it get's a bit much listening to business class passengers complaining about how cramped their seat is and how it doesn't recline far enough!)
FollowupID: 655277

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:54

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:54
Bob,

I'm sure you will find this Blog very entertaining:

Site Link

AnswerID: 387664

Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:43

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:43
Is this the Not Good Enough website?

I thought I had logged on to ExplorOz.

AnswerID: 387703

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:53

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:53
Part of exploring oz is done by plane.
FollowupID: 655257

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:11

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:11
Still strange how people blame the other party when they, themselves fail to honour a contract.

FollowupID: 655267

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 13:08

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 13:08
So unforeseen circumstances that lead to changed travel arrangements are dishonourable?

My reading of the fine print on the ticket indicates that the carrier can cancel or change flights any time they like. ie the ticket is not a contract
FollowupID: 655284

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 13:05

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 13:05
After reading this thread I got to thinking why is it that most airlines, not just Qantas, don’t let you change the name on your ticket……so I asked someone in the business of knowing these things why this was so……….

The response…….

Usually if you book early, you can get a better deal. But if you have the ability to change the name on the ticket someone (brokers/scalpers) will make a business out of buying all the discounted tickets when released and then sell them at a profit to last minute travellers. That price will still be less than what the airline will charge, so you’ll still buy from the ticket broker/scalper. Much like trying to get concert tickets ten minutes after sales have opened only to find it is sold-out. Then months later you can get any number of tickets you want, just at a much higher price than they were originally offered at.

Over time this would push ticket prices higher because few people would buy from the airline at the last minute, so the early booking prices would have to rise to compensate for that loss.

Hey…sounds plausible………..

AnswerID: 387724

Reply By: get outmore - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 15:47

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 15:47
Ive seen quantas at it first hand perth airport - flight to melbourne.

mates dad was on it - sudenly CANCELLED

not delayed CANCELLED

it was about 10.00pm

passengers were left in a massive Q trying to deal with just 2 staff trying to rebook them.

he was offered a Deathstar flight. When he enquired about the difference in cost between deathstar and quantas he was told he could always come back tomorrow and fly quantas
AnswerID: 387742

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 15:58

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 15:58
Maybe it was a maintenance issue?

Better suddenly cancelled....than suddenly fell out of the air?
FollowupID: 655301

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 21:11

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 21:11
Couldn't agree more Landy - better to be CANCELLED on the ground than mid-flight!
FollowupID: 655374